We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
240
87
35
13
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
240
87
35
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coastal trail downtown anchorage cook inlet yogurt other guests continental breakfast street noise tony knowles trail chain hotel private bath breakfast was amazing queen bed the general manager would definitely stay here again train station earplugs alaska
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 383 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2016

This is two old vacation homes which have been turned into an Inn. For the price
($278 a night) it was way over priced for value received. I was expecting quaint, I
received cramped and unkempt. My room was dirty, the
garbage had not even been emptied from previous occupant, carpet not swept.
An over all maintenance painting would certainly help relieve the tired and old atmosphere.
Some staff were absolutely delightful and helpful while others could not wait to get you GONE.....this included banging on the door by two separate employees, prior to check out
time, to ensure we were on the way out. Bottom line: dirty, old and over priced.

Room tip: choose a room facing the water with no stairs
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarakauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2016

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. Thanks for sharing your opinion with us. I will certainly look into the allegations regarding our housekeeping to determine their veracity, about which I have serious doubts. A knock at the door from the housekeeper is no reason to smear our reputation online.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2016

The Inn is an old, private home (actually it seems to be a couple of old houses) in the midst of downtown office buildings. The rooms are reasonably sized, certainly not luxurious, and the bathroom is functional though certainly not stylish. The room rate includes breakfast which is served in what seems to have been the dining room, and there are no tables, only two sofas and several TV trays. The breakfast is basic (cereal, bagels, juice, coffee). There is a quirky/funky quality to the place. The staff is friendly. The wifi is WOBBLY FRUSTRATING -- I was not able to read the newspaper or open attachments to emails even near the wifi equipment, and certainly NOT in the room. The price reflects the going rate for Anchorage high-season, and should not make you expect some sort of toney boutique hotel, as this is not that. All in all an acceptable choice, though not inspired.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank The-Finicky-Travelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2016

Thanks for your quirky review and your kind words. Apologies about the wi-fi. We had a hardware issue and it is now fixed, too late for your use, I'm sorry to say. The coffee shop around the corner has fabulously fast wi-fi where you can sit for hours staring at a device. It's funny how wi-fi has become the most important thing in our lives these days, more important even than relaxing while on vacation. God forbid we could just enjoy the view or read a book, like the good-old days when this old house, the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage, was built. I hope the rest of your Alaska adventure is wonderful, and may you have high-speed wi-fi wherever you go! Don't forget to look up from your phone once in a while.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Great service, always helpful, and sincerely interested you have a great stay. I stayed in 3 different rooms as my trip was broken up. 2 were wonderful, but the third, in the second building, not as nice and noisy. Would definitely stay there again! Very good cold breakfast buffet. Super location away from big hotels and near water.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCWNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2016

Thank you very much for your lovely and balanced review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visits, our Alaskan hospitality and our expanded continental breakfast. You point out the double-edged sword we face in our super location, the amazing convenience and the sometimes noisy surroundings. I really wish we could do something about the latter - maybe employ an overnight "shusher" to ask folks walking by to tone it down. If only!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2016

Comfortable bed, it was, balcony overlooking Cue pond – what more could you want; the only thing quite possibly would be a little more time to enjoy the copper whale We arrived late at night and the proprietor have everything waiting for us. Next morning we enjoyed a buffet breakfast that had a range of healthy alternatives rarely found in and in breakfast, including Greek yogurt and some delicious fresh fruit, along with an assortment of local breads.

Room tip: We enjoyed the Elderberry room- nice balcony
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Portlandtraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2016

Thanks for your wonderful review! I wish you could have stayed longer, too, and hope you'll have to opportunity to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

I must give the Copper Whale a 5 for the really great and kind service from Tim and also Glenn. We arrived very early and they welcomed us into the comfortable lobby for several hours. As an accommodation we were able to get into our room as soon as it was cleaned, well before stated check in. Returning to Anchorage early the day of our return flight they let us store our bags for the day. Breakfast was tasty including fresh fruit. Only downside was the Carriage room, the name of our guest room. It was Very small and on the street so very loud. I would request a different room but the service was great.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kristybot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CopperWhaleRider, General Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2016

Thank you for your kind review! I'm so happy we were able to show you our best Alaskan hospitality. We hope we can host you again!

We do have some rooms that can be a little noisy or smaller than our standard rooms and these are at a lower price point. Often, during the summer season, we are booked up well in advance. We always try to upgrade guests to quieter and/or larger rooms if we have availability.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews