We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Copper Whale Inn the night we flew into Anchorage...The hotel was easy to find and was a nice location next to downtown restaurants, etc. Breakfast was OK (nothing special)...rooms were average. Price was pretty good. Easy one-night stop.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 298 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had reserved a room at the Anchorage Lofts Hotel for 2 separate nights, when we checked in the first night we were totally disappointed by the place. We immediately went online and searched for another option for the other night and found the Copper Whale Inn. They had an available space and even accommodated our late arrival. It is such a lovely, quiet, friendly place and not too costly for the timing (we arrived during peak season for Alaska). They are close to downtown locations and have a wonderful view of the inlet. Possibly the only thing I'd want different from them is the bath facilities to be somewhat more spacious in our room (#14). Otherwise all good!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katautfest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Thanks for much for your nice comments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for the first night of our trip. The location is perfect, right next to the coastal trail and within walking distance of everything downtown. The price is comparable to hotels but with more of a B&B feel. We had a room in the main house with a small deck that adjoins other rooms overlooking the garden. The room was nice size with a private bathroom and fireplace. The provided breakfast was continental but with plenty of options. The staff were friendly and everything was clean.

The only thing I could complain about is that our mattress wasn't the best but the other couple we traveled with said the bed in their room was comfortable.

Also make sure that you get the parking voucher BEFORE parking in the garage or else you have to pay full price. This wasn't made very clear in our prior to arrival instructions.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dedepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thanks for your kind words and constructive comments. We will re-word our parking information to better inform future guests, and put the mattress in that room on the list for replacement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in mid-July and loved it. My room was lovely and clean and the staff was nice. They even packed a lunch for us the day we had to leave early on the train, which was really great. Perfect location too. I would definitely stay here again when visiting Anchorage.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandyk0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stopped here for one night with extended family between a cruise and our own on land road trip. A charming small hotel with great access to downtown Anchorage and a comfortable living room for guests with a distant view of the inlet. Easy to get to bike trail and rent bikes as well as exploring the "city". Very walkable. Only negative was the street noise of roaming young adults heard through our open windows after midnight while it was still light. Extremely helpful innkeepers! High value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherryLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. I'm glad you and your family enjoyed yourselves. Our location is so convenient to all the activities downtown Anchorage offers, but with that comes the possibility of urban noise. In this wonderfully warm summer we're having it's really nice to have the windows open to allow the sea breeze to flow through and cool things off. We do provide earplugs in all our guest rooms to help mitigate the sounds of the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'm so glad we stayed at Copper Whale Inn. We were booked into the Inn by a third party and I didn't know what to expect, but was very pleased with everything at the Inn from top to bottom. It's a modestly appointed Inn which fits well in Anchorage. The staff are SO helpful and welcoming. They will bend over backward to help guests with any kind of arrangements from booking restaurant reservations (yes... you probably need them in peak season in Anchorage) to storing luggage for free if you are off to explore other parts of Alaska and don't want to carry. The location could not be better - walk ANYWHERE - and super easy access to the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail so you can walk along the water, or rent a bike. Breakfast is a continental spread in a common room that allows you to meet other guests and share experiences. After staying here, I don't think I would consider any other place in Anchorage - if I go back, I'll be back at the Copper Whale.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalcy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2013

Thank you! I'm so happy you enjoyed yourself, and appreciate your commendations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

It was my first time staying at a bed & breakfast and it was nothing shortly than fantastic. The innkeepers were super welcoming and accommodating. Our room was very clean and comfortable. I liked the variety of teas they offered their guest. Excellent service all around; I would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMB303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,910 reviews
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
478 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
641 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 74 in Anchorage
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $109 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing