We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copper Whale Inn
Nearby Hotels
Lakeshore Inn & Suites(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$144
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Ship Creek(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$191
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$287
$269
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchorage Grand Hotel(Anchorage)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alyeska(Girdwood)(Great Value!)
$179
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$295
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
183
74
30
8
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
183
74
30
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoastal traildowntown anchorageyogurtcook inletbike shopother guestselderberry parkgenerous breakfastsnow city caferented bikesliving roomtony knowlessome great restaurantschain hotelstea and coffeewithin walking distancestreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
250 - 255 of 302 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2008

This place has great class. It is very clean and well run. Some of the rooms are a little small and they can be a bit warm if the sun is bright from the West. The breakfast area is small but nice and the service is great. There is an Internet workstation in the lobby. Bike rental is next door. Downtown is a very chort walk. Many rooms have a water view of Turnagain Arm.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kerryogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2008

Copper Whale is an amazing place and truly a Home Away from Home, should probably be re-named the "Golden" Whale. The hospitality, the breakfast, the cleanliness-wow it was all GREAT. My wife, duaghter and myself stayed and enjoyed every bit of it. They were more then helpful very friendly. I recommed every one alike to stay here, all ages, single, married, and or with kids. It is the perfect place and location.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank joshtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2008

My first contact with the Inn set the tone for my entire stay. I called to see if a room was available and talked to Glenn, the General Manager, who is a wonderful host. He is warm and friendly ~ a great ambassador for Anchorage.

I arrived at 2AM on a Saturday morning to a crackling fireplace, soft music and a hot cup of tea - perfect.

I have been on numerous trips this past year and the bed I slept in was by far the best - super comfy.

I did not have breakfast because of my own time constrictions (and it was hard leaving that bed!) but it looked delicious, there was a plenty to choose from and it was very nicely presented.

The Inn is clean & quiet & a great buy.

If you visit Anchorage you have to stay at the Copper Whale Inn.

1  Thank MTM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

What a beautiful Bed and Breakfast! I am so impressed with the accommodations they offered. Glen was an absolute pleasure. He really does a fantastic job. I am literally at a loss for words. I can tell you that every need I could have had would have been met. We stayed in the Susitna room. The bed was so comfortable. The color décor is so warm and inviting. The brunch that Glen served on New Years Day was scrumptious. He made eggs benedict and was so fun to talk with. I was spoke with most of the guests that morning and they were so happy and truly enjoying their stay.

I can see where you were voted best bed and breakfast for the year. Congratulations, you have earned it.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AKMtRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2007

Comfortable rooms, attentive staff, private baths, centrally located, wireless, and a generous breakfast. We also had a great winter rate, making the experience nearly perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TruereviewJNU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews