We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Bag”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'll start by agreeing with most of the positives I'm reading in the other reviews - the view of the inlet is amazing, the staff is super nice/friendly, it's really close to a lot of great stuff, and it definitely has a different vibe than a typical hotel. All good, right?

Well, yeah, except trying to fit 4 of us in their "biggest" room was a challenge. Perhaps we should have known better when we learned they accomodate 4 people with a sofa/futon and a rollaway. But, I expected more room to accomodate those items. Instead, we were literally bumper to bumper packed in the room.

Another issue, although I can sleep through anything, was the noisy city streets right outside. There is no way to avoid this, as the building is right on a corner, and even a few cars late at night can be disruptive.

Finally, the parking situation is a bit of a pain, although it would be a minor nit if there weren't other issues. You either pay another $14 per night or get lucky and find on on the street spot (meters stop collecting at 6:00pm). For an already expensive room (for the size), adding an additional $14 for parking (across the street) is annoying.

My family loves Alaska (been there 6 times) so it's hard for me to criticize any place we go. The Copper Whale would likely be a nice place to stay as a couple. Perhaps it was over ambitious of us to try to cram in 4. Live and learn, as they say...

Room Tip: This is for couples, not for families with teenagers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlaskaBums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Thank you for your detailed and constructive comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 297 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed for a couple of days on two different occasions and the consistent factor was the nice people we met, both working there and staying there. We also stayed in two different rooms, loved one, and accepted the other. Glen was very helpful in planning out day and activities, and was always around in the morning for breakfast and conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanthesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We enjoyed hosting you during your visit to Alaska.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We LOVED the location, walking distance to everything in downtown that we enjoy. Beautiful setting with lovely gardens all around it. Our room was clean and comfortable and just as advertised on their website. I really liked that it was secure and the staff was very nice. Something about the atmosphere of this B & B I just loved...it was just what I hoped for and then some. The breakfast was really nice & generous and better than we've had at most of the places we've stayed at. I loved the main room, it was very cozy and inviting with my favorite soft music playing. Parking is a bit of a problem probably on weekdays where as they do not have a parking lot but we got really lucky and parked across the street from our room door in the metered parking and didn't have a problem keeping that...and it's free on the weekend. It's a place I really would like to go back to someday.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaJaneNampa_Idaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Thanks so much! We'll hope to host you again. Yes, the parking is a bit of a pain in our downtown location, but you can always find a street spot within a block. Or, we have the option of the paid garage parking if you'll be walking around downtown all day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Our room for four nights at the Copper Whale Inn was far above "adequate", with a beautiful view of the water! Glenn, Nick, and each staff person with whom we had contact were extremely friendly and helpful with local information. The breakfast was a really good start to a busy Anchorage day, enjoyed in a lovely living room area. Every part of the Inn appeared very clean and very comfortable. Easy walking distance to the many downtown activities, one block from the bike trail, bike rentals right on the property. We would be thrilled to return!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you very much! Please come back sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We had a wonderful view and incredibly helpful and intelligent service. They put out a really swell breakfast buffet with fresh fruit and breads. It is a great location at the tip of downtown Anchorage, walking distance to everything we needed. Parking is the only issue, but we didn't have any problem on a sidestreet one block away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LDboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thanks so much - glad you enjoyed yourself!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent 2 nights at the Copper Whale Inn--what a delight! We were steps from the Cook Inlet and from downtown. We rented bikes right out front to cycle the Tony Knowles Coastal Trail. Breakfasts were generous with lots of fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, pastry, etc. and the rooms were kept exceptionally clean. Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

I really appreciate your kind words. I'm thrilled you enjoyed your visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We certainly hit the jackpot with this place. Although the rooms are not plush, they are very clean, comfortable and quiet. The continental breakfast is also a bonus and good place to chat with other travelers. The hosts are very friendly and more than happy to offer advice and guidance on your travel requirements. It is situated at the west end of the CBD but a very easy walk to any of the restaurants, bars, shops and sites worth seeing. Well worth the reasonable tariff.

Room Tip: We had rooms upstairs in the front part. Good view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Thanks a lot! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,900 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 74 in Anchorage
292 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#22 of 74 in Anchorage
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
1,598 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
710 reviews
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 74 in Anchorage
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $87 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing