We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice retreat in downtown Anchorage”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #10 of 127 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Nice retreat in downtown Anchorage”
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Recently stayed 3 nights at the Copper Whale. Was in town for business meetings, and my first experience here. Will surely return. I stayed in the Susitna room on the main floor. Didn't have any issues with noise from other guests. The room itself was very nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable.

Glen's hospitality upon arrival (late in the evening) and throughout my stay was very pleasurable.

Great location just off downtown and walkable to everything in downtown Anchorage.

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ear plugs are provided in your room, as there is some traffic on street out front of the Inn. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJH-SFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Thanks for your nice words. We'll hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    74
    30
    8
    6
See reviews for
47
127
29
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munhall, PA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We chose this inn based on other customer reviews and it was even better than our expectations. Our room was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. I loved the “little amenities” such as free coffee at all hours, daily newspapers, magazines and a journal in the lounge, calling cards to call a taxi, etc. Whatever you needed was right at your fingertips. The free breakfast was wonderful -- fresh fruit with not just “apples and bananas”, but also fresh raspberries, blueberries and strawberries, fresh bread, muffins, etc. cereals, yogurt and beverages. The lounge is cozy and conducive to enjoyable conversations with other guests. The inn is within walking distance from the center of town (about 5 blocks). Only negative I can think of is that there is no parking garage, which did not effect us, since we did not have a vehicle, but may for other guests. Would definitely stay here again and HIGHLY recommend to others!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobLindaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks so much, I'm glad you enjoyed your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Great spot downtown. We usually stay here when we come to Anchorage from our home on the Kenai Peninsula, and we especially like it when Glen is arranging our booking or welcoming us. Super friendly and helpful. Main building has breakfast buffet with fruit, cereal, yogurt, lots of goodies. Small fridge for guests to share. Nice sitting area with a fireplace and big windows - we travelled with some friends last time and it was a nice place to plan our day over breakfast on comfy couches. Rooms are small but nicely outfitted. Location is within walking distance to everything downtown. The only downside is an Anchorage downtown issue - no parking on premises, but there's a pay lot kitty-corner.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alaskamojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Thanks for your compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Copper Whale Inn in Anchorage when we found we had four days between the end of a tour and catching the train to Fairbanks, which only runs on Saturdays. We chose the Copper Whale Inn from the internet as none of the hotels offerred by travel agents seemed to be what we wanted. Close to night clubs etc just didnt appeal. We were a bit nervous about this, but need not have worried. The Copper Whale was reasonably priced, comfortable, convenient, and more importantly, felt like a home away from home. Friendly, helpful staff and an excellent complimentary breakfast made our stay in Anchorage a very pleasant break. We were warned that it can be noisy, being in the CBD, but despite being on the ground floor were not disturbed by traffic noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highlands ranch, co
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Copper Whale Inn in June of this year. It is pretty centrally located in downtown Anchorage, an easy 4 or 5 block walk to the main area of downtown. We were shocked to find that there was no parking available when we arrived. You either had to keep feeding the meter or park in a garage several blocks away. The room was small, although nicely appointed. The breakfast and breakfast area were nice. I didn't personal LOVE this hotel but there was nothing really wrong with it either. No room to complain, just not as big of a fan as others. Probably would look for something else next time. I just didn't think it was worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thanks for your thoughts, and your high marks for our location and service. All parking info & pricing are on our website to see before reserving a room. Our parking vouchers are half what the garage charges you directly. The garage is only one-half block from the Inn, not several blocks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was in Anchorage for a quick trip in September. What a great place to stay!!! Very centrally located, close to restaurants and shopping. Took a day tour which left from the Westmark hotel a few blocks away. Nice view of inlet from my room. Breakfast room was very cozy. Such friendly staff. The next time I visit I will stay there again!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I had a FANTASTIC experience! The Inn was very cute, comfortable and well decorated. My room upstairs had a wonderful view and was very clean. I found the bed to be extremely comfortable. Noise was never a problem. The staff was kind and helpful. I got in at 1am and they did a great job of leaving instructions. Breakfast was displayed well and there was a variety of items to chose from. The location of the Inn allowed for easy access to plenty of attractions.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ewarr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thanks for your kudos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,780 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#12 of 73 in Anchorage
264 reviews
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#20 of 73 in Anchorage
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Anchorage
#13 of 73 in Anchorage
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Property: Copper Whale Inn
Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 127 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing