We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in the City”
Review of Copper Whale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Copper Whale Inn
Ranked #9 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2011

A friend and I stayed at the Copper Whale Inn in Anchorage when we found we had four days between the end of a tour and catching the train to Fairbanks, which only runs on Saturdays. We chose the Copper Whale Inn from the internet as none of the hotels offerred by travel agents seemed to be what we wanted. Close to night clubs etc just didnt appeal. We were a bit nervous about this, but need not have worried. The Copper Whale was reasonably priced, comfortable, convenient, and more importantly, felt like a home away from home. Friendly, helpful staff and an excellent complimentary breakfast made our stay in Anchorage a very pleasant break. We were warned that it can be noisy, being in the CBD, but despite being on the ground floor were not disturbed by traffic noise.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2011

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (296)
There are newer reviews for Copper Whale Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 296 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Copper Whale Inn in June of this year. It is pretty centrally located in downtown Anchorage, an easy 4 or 5 block walk to the main area of downtown. We were shocked to find that there was no parking available when we arrived. You either had to keep feeding the meter or park in a garage several blocks away. The room was small, although nicely appointed. The breakfast and breakfast area were nice. I didn't personal LOVE this hotel but there was nothing really wrong with it either. No room to complain, just not as big of a fan as others. Probably would look for something else next time. I just didn't think it was worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jennat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Thanks for your thoughts, and your high marks for our location and service. All parking info & pricing are on our website to see before reserving a room. Our parking vouchers are half what the garage charges you directly. The garage is only one-half block from the Inn, not several blocks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

I was in Anchorage for a quick trip in September. What a great place to stay!!! Very centrally located, close to restaurants and shopping. Took a day tour which left from the Westmark hotel a few blocks away. Nice view of inlet from my room. Breakfast room was very cozy. Such friendly staff. The next time I visit I will stay there again!!! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mango_eater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2011

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I had a FANTASTIC experience! The Inn was very cute, comfortable and well decorated. My room upstairs had a wonderful view and was very clean. I found the bed to be extremely comfortable. Noise was never a problem. The staff was kind and helpful. I got in at 1am and they did a great job of leaving instructions. Breakfast was displayed well and there was a variety of items to chose from. The location of the Inn allowed for easy access to plenty of attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewarr333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopperWhaleRider, Manager at Copper Whale Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Thanks for your kudos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

We spent 2 nights @ the Copper Whale. The location is great. Rooms are small but the views, staff and location make up the difference. Very clean and a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turtlepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We loved our stay at the Copper Whale. First - the staff was so friendly and pleasant that we felt at home from the minute we came through the door. The room was small and plain, but had everything we needed and a lovely view. To us the bed was perfect - I didn't expect to sleep so well with a 4-hour time change and daylight lasting until 10 PM! We could sometimes here noise from people passing on the street - but it wasn't a lot. The grounds were so pretty - we really loved the plantings and little waterfalls. And the location was great - easy to walk anywhere we wanted to go in Anchorage. If we come back, we will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were in the Redoubt room - very nice view of Cook Inlet and beyond.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in total at the beginning, middle and end of our holiday of a life time trip to Alaska. "We" consisted of 2 English women celebrating their 50th birthdays with a big trip and 2 x teenage girls along for the ride. We were made very welcome at all times and it was lovely returning here from our travels. The rooms and en suites are well and prettily furnished with comfortable beds. They do vary in size and noise levels from the road but the provision of ear plugs was a thoughtful touch - we were, after all in the heart of the city. We were in walking distance of tourist areas, shops, restaurants and a peaceful waterside walk. The continental breakfast was plentiful and delicious (all sorts of bread, cereals, condiments, coffee on tap at all hours, fresh fruit, fresh fruit salad, juice etc etc). You do have to sit and eat this on your laps in a small lounge area which we did find disconcerting at first.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salverlaterly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,875 reviews
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
287 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Historic Anchorage Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
472 reviews
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
703 reviews
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copper Whale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copper Whale Inn

Address: 440 L St, Anchorage, AK 99501-1925
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $109 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Copper Whale Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy scenic ocean and mountain views from downtown Anchorage at the Copper Whale Inn! Our two adjacent houses offer comfortable, modern accommodations and our historic main house is the first architecturally designed home in Anchorage. Easy walking distance to business and arts, activities, restaurants, galleries, the Anchorage Museum and the Coastal Trail. Bike rental on-premise (summer). Concierge services, free wi-fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Copper Whale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copper Whale Hotel Anchorage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing