We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Affordability”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed June 18, 2006

A vintage Alaska hotel nestled in the heart of Anchorage. Not a 4 Star hotel, but the room was well furnished with stylish and comfortable furniture. Hotel provided a standard Continental breakfast and free hot beverages in the bar in the afternoon (it had no liquor license at the time.) Because of it's location in downtown Anchorage, excellent restaurants and shopping are within easy walking distance. During Fur Rondezvous, the hotel is located within the heart of the activities.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. In remarking about the delay in dial-up internet access, a hotel clerk offered me equipment that provided faster wireless access; nop extra charge.

  • Stayed: February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBOHALL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

430 - 436 of 480 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2005

Let me start with saying that the hotel is Ok nothing great. All the comments you may read about the, " Super great breakfast" are well strange, the breakfast is nice but it is nothing that you would not get at any Hotel the likes of a Comfort inn, or Holiday inn. Bottom line you get your basic free breakfast. The staffs are however very nice and should be complimented along with the location, you can't get a better location for the downtown area. Rooms at the hotel are very very very small ( that's three very's) (about 7 feet by 10 feet total living area) My main discontent with the hotel is that lack of transportation from the airport. THEY HAVE NO SHUTTLE SERVICE. A cab will cost about 21.00-25.00 dollars. Bottom line the hotel is over priced, for not having the above, For the one day I spent in the Anchorage I would/should have stayed elsewhere. On a different note: One night/two days in Anchorage is more then enough. Get out into the great outdoors as soon as you can, for Alaska is truly an UNREAL place.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kidney20A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Las Vegas, Nevada
114
Reviewed August 24, 2005

When we arrived tired from travel, schlepping our luggage on foot, they informed us a tour group had extended their stay and there would be no rooms for my husband and me, nor for my elderly mother who was with us. I thought a reservation meant that they would hold the rooms, especially since we had paid in full in advance. They didn't refund our money, simply booked us into another hotel of a lower quality, and I'm sure the Historic Anchorage Hotel made a profit on the difference, as well as charging the tour group higher rates than what I paid through my travel agent.

The reservation document goes into detail about the cancellation penalty, but what about the penalty for a hotel that doesn't hold up its end of the bargain?

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2005

You should know there's no air conditioning, so in summer rooms can get hot. But it's very convenient, the rooms are a good size and the service people try very hard. I'd stay there again.

7  Thank D-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2005

It's a nice little place but you should know there's no air conditioning so in summer it can get quite hot. But it's very, very convenient and the rooms are a decent size. The service people try very hard (even though some didn't know the outlying area, they'd find out for you). I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank D-co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2005

A friend recommended the Historic Anchorage hotel a few years ago - it is now my favorite place to stay there. This small hotel is very charming - a welcome change from the mega-hotels nearby. It is right next door to the Hilton - near all the downtown attractions. Staff is very friendly, the little fireplace in the lobby is welcoming, and the breakfast (cereal, juice, fruit, make-your-own waffles) is great. Some rooms are a bit cramped with all the lovely furniture, while others are incredibly spacious - probably typical in a unique old hotel. One note: if you're going in the summer, ask for a room away from the streets - opening the windows can let in alot of street noise.

8  Thank 89traveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2005

The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and sunny. My only complaint is that there were many drunkards on the street late at night and they were loud. I can't blame the hotel for that though.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank hopskip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#23 of 74 in Anchorage
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#13 of 74 in Anchorage
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: $98 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing