We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not the fanciest, but a decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed April 19, 2004

They definitely tried hard, but the stay just wasn't quite there...The place is not all that bad, but it could use a bit of an update, and a little better cleaning in the bathroom. Its a pretty old hotel, set up like hotels were configured during mining days, but its been renovated within the last decade or so. The rooms are large, but the breakfast is lame.Wireless does not work, but that's not surprising. Next time, I'll try the Inlet Towers.

8  Thank kickball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Historic Anchorage Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 472 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Clermont, Florida
112
Reviewed April 14, 2004

My wife and I recently stayed at the Anchorage Hotel for our Honeymoon, and our stay was definately first rate. The location itself could sell the hotel, right in the middle of everything downtown. The attentive staff, beautifully furnished rooms, and free morning breakfast were all exceptional. Don't be fooled by this historic boutique hotel either, they offer state of the art business services too. High speed wireless internet, digital television with pay movies, copies, faxes, etc. Would highly recommend, I know that we will stay here again our next visit to Anchorage

12  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2004

The Anchorage Hotel may be the city's oldest hotel, but with the upgrades, renovations, and services they now offer, they are truly the finest hotel in Anchorage. I travel all over the country on business, and the high speed wireless internet, video on demand television, and complimentary breakfast buffet with Belgian Waffles are excellent offerings that you will rarely find all in one hotel. The rooms have classy cherry wood and patterned furnishings, and the suite that I stayed in had a nice large living area and desk area. The bathrooms were the only things a bit out of date, however they were actually in the process of remodeling the bathrooms during my stay there. The staff was exceptional, always available (even the General Manager) to assist with everything including directions, dinner and concert reservations, secretarial and business services, etc. Their location is great too, and trust me, you will unfortunately get street noise anywere you stay in downtown Anchorage. I would highly recommend to anyone who wants something different (and better!) than all of those chain hotels.

12  Thank WATravelPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Juneau, Alaska
111
Reviewed January 27, 2004

I stayed at the Anchorage Hotel for 5 nights and I would not repeat the experience. First, the plus: it was in a very convenient location and I could easily walk to all the places I needed (and wanted) to go. Next, the negatives: The room was very tiny, it barely fit the bed and entertainment cabinet and there was no floor space to speak of. There was no air conditioning, just an old floor-standing fan which was very loud when I turned it on. Finally, and probably the worst part, my room was next to the street and even though I was there midweek there were very loud drunk people who would talk under my window at all hours of the night, every night. If going to Anchorage, I would strongly recommend the Dimond Center Hotel if you have rented a car.

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2003

My wife and I stayed here for part of our 25th Anniversary trip to Alaska. The hotel was near everything we wanted to see. It's close to the Saturday Market, all the gift shops, the mall, The Alaskan Railroad station and it was within walking distance to the coastal trail and the information center and walking tour. I will definately stay here again.
The staff was great!

11  Thank Milford_PaMooseman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: vælg værelse mod gaden
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#10 of 74 in Anchorage
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hilton Anchorage
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#28 of 74 in Anchorage
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
0.3 mi away
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
Anchorage Marriott Downtown
#11 of 74 in Anchorage
704 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 74 in Anchorage
1,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: $127 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing