We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Historic Anchorage Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Very friendly staff, and lovely little hotel. Nice continental breakfast (amazing coffee!) and you could make your own waffles. Perfect location in the heart of downtown and walking distance to shopping, restaurants and sightseeing. Only 2 negatives--The bed was a smidge hard for my liking (although the linens were good quality) and the room got somewhat stuffy overnight, but other than that I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Will definitely stay again when I am travelling to Anchorage.

Room Tip: If you are looking to get some really good sleep, and are a light sleeper, stay on the 3rd floor, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleDeeBee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricAnchorage, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear LittleDeeBee27
We certainly appreciate your wonderful feedback and your valuable business. We will look into the bed situation and the stuffiness in the room you occupied. Our steam heat has individual thermostats on the radiators to control the heat. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and our central downtown location. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Warmest regards,
Terri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    157
    53
    24
    5
See reviews for
94
193
27
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Second stay at this wonderful, affordable hotel in downtown Anchorage. The staff is friendly and helpful in every way from reservations to check in/out. We were able to check out a little later, store luggage and a cab was arranged. Breakfast is good, rooms are spacious and beds are great. Visiting this hotel during the Halloween season is a special treat. Another plus-you can walk to all downtown locations including the coastal walking trail in minutes. I will return!

Room Tip: Street can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernLights60826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We recently enjoyed our stay in downtown Anchorage at the Historic Anchrage Hotel. Not only is it with walking distance of great restaurants and attractions but they also provide parking for a small fee (this can be a rarity in downtown Anchorage) and have wonderful, very helpful staff. Staff not only unloaded our luggage and took it to the second and third floors, gave us excellent restaurant suggestions and even arranged easily for a late check out and then went out of their way to help us reload our luggage. The three of us reserved two rooms on two different floors. Both were large and very comfortable. One was located at the front of the hotel where street noise can be a problem. A "white noise" machine was provided but not really needed in this room. An adequate breakfast is also included with the rooms. We would definitely choose to stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: On the off chance that there is noisy activity on the streets, choose a middle or back location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLtraveler049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I returned to Anchorage for two weeks vacation in late August 2012 and had no hesitation in booking the Historic Hotel. We stayed there on two previous occasions and found it to be perfect in every way ... this year was no different.

The room was very comfortable, breakfast good and the coffee was available all day! Manager Terri and all the staff were more than helpful, every query was answered and were very knowledgeable about local events and places to see. They were also helpful in making reservations for restaurants/taxi's etc The hotel is situated in the downtown area and is close to stores and tour offices,

We would recommend it to anyone who is coming to Anchorage for a short or a long stay. Well done Historic - we'll be returning! Mary B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cinders47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed. The room was large and the bed super comfortable. I was able to walk to several stores and do all my shopping. The staff and manager were very helpful and responded promptly. I needed an extra cloth hanger, I made a comment about it and after the room service lady overheard me, she quickly brought some from their storage room. I definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Spacious, centric, comfortable, pleasant hotel. An OK breakfast is included in the price. One block from the open market, and walking distance to all of the (small) Anchorage downtown. It is quite busy, so you must make reservations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ELHungaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I booked this hotel on the strength of the trip advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We stayed the previous night at the Hilton and thankfully they couldn't accomodate us for an extra night before our flight, so we transferred here. It is just around the corner from the Hilton and we took our bags round at about 9am and the lovely girl on reception checked us in and then stored our bags as the room wasn't ready. Not a problem as we were spending the day with friends exploring Anchorage.

The hotel had been done up in an old fashioned way with lovely furniture and decoration, looked just like an old english country hotel (we felt quite at home!) When we got into the room later in the day it was very clean and well appointed and reasonable spacious. We overlooked the street and had a view of the mountains in the distance, but it was noisy later on in the evening and early hours of the morning with revellers going home.

Breakfast was fine, not too much choice but great for we wanted. There was coffee, tea, two different juices, pastries, cereals and toast. You could also make your own waffles if you wanted to. Breakfast was served in what was the old bar to the hotel, so the seating was on high bar stools, which not everyone would find comfortable.

We enoyed our stay here, the staff were charming and it is in great location.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street would be quieter, but appear to have a view of a service area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimr96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Downtown
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#4 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 1,551 reviews
Downtown
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#17 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#21 of 71 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 stars 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#29 of 71 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Property: Historic Anchorage Hotel
Address: 330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 71 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing