We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service, clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Historic Anchorage Hotel
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Reviewed May 14, 2011

My husband and I travel to Alaska last June. We stayed at the Anchorage Hotel. The front desk staff was very nice and even search and printed directions for us. The room was roomy and very clean. The curtains are thick to block the 24 hour sun light. I would stay in this hotel again.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 24Nascarfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage99, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2011

Dear 24Nascarfan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! The staff takes ownership of every guest request. I'm glad you found the staff nice and the room "roomy and clean". We hope to see you again when you return to Alaska!
Warmest regards,
Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 480 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2011

We arrived in Anchorage on March 28, 2011 for a celebration of our first wedding anniversary. We spent Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday evenings in a very spacious corner room of the third floor of this gorgeous and unique hotel. The hotel is very clean and has been preserved in a wonderful way. There is nothing icky about it being historic--- only classy. The room was much larger than we expected, even then what we could see from pictures online. The sleeping area was separate from the sitting area, which also had a refrigerator and snack area and both areas had flat screen tv's. The bathroom area was nice as well. The room was cleaned each day and stocked accordingly. The bed was large and comfy!!! The internet worked great the whole time we were there.

Upon our arrival, the lobby was being painted and we wondered if that would be an interference to our stay, but we understood these things had to be done sometime, and the staff was very good to go out of their way keep the hotel smelling nice, keep things safe, and come to our room every time we needed something. The first night we were there, we needed a dining recommendation, so someone offered to come up and they did, with a map and suggestions-- very helpful and kind! Another day, our plans had changed and we realized since we were out hiking, that where we left our car, we were probably going to get in trouble. We called back to the hotel for advice and someone was willing to go above beyond and go buy us a new parking pass so we wouldn't get a parking ticket--- we thought that was exceptional customer service!!! The staff was also good to keep us up-to-date on weather and give us advice on road conditions.

Breakfast was yummy every morning and was cozy in the old bar. The location of the hotel is convenient for downtown activities and not too far from the airport. In fact, we were soooo glad we didn't stay closer to the airport, because even in the mornings, we could still hear some of the planes taking off (well I could, my sound-sleeper husband could not--- so consider that when choosing your location). We had a Mon-Thurs stay and did not have trouble with any other noises. We thought we got more than our money's worth and would definitely go back if the opportunity arises... and you should, too!

-Living Happily Ever After in Arkansas

Room Tip: 3rd floor, 1st rm off the elevator; 311 i beleive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halbrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage99, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

WOW! Thank you! This was a beautiful Monday to start off by reading your AMAZING review! We try our best to upgrade Anniversary couples to our Junior Suites. So happy you appreciated the suite and extra space! Our lobby reaaallllyy needed a new coat of paint! Glad it was finished before you left.
The staff and I take pride in making each one of our guest's stay memorable! We are not fond of parking tickets and always willing to help out! We also love our food and want our guests to experience the best dining in Anchorage.
We look forward to hosting you both in the future! Thanks again. Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We loved the atmosphere of the hotel; it's been nicely kept up and renovated while maintaining the charm of its historic looks. Service was friendly and very helpful. We were given a front corner room which was bright and sunny and looked out onto the streets from the second floor. It lovely during the day, but the road noise was a bit disturbing through the night. We didn't expect street noise to be a problem on a Sunday night in March, but the delivery trucks come by at night and idle in the street while unloading goods for the neighbouring businesses. Perhaps we just had a bad night, but next time we will ask for a room near the rear.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MidnightSunTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage99, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2011

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive hard to keep our guests completely satisfied and our hotel in the best of shape. We are glad you enjoyed the charm of the hotel and friendly staff. The delivery trucks you mentioned in the middle of the night .... It maybe the city street maintenance trucks. Anchorage has snow removal & street cleaning from October - April. Most all deliveries downtown start around 6:00am.
Again, thank you. We look forward to hosting you in the future!
Warm regards,
Terri and staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

Very nice hotel, well decorated with a friendly service. The breakfast is very good and generous. You have the opportunity to bake your own waffles and to enjoy the nice bar where the breakfast is served.
Definitely, a great choice when you are visiting Anchorage.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank claudef390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage99, General Manager at Historic Anchorage Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the breakfast bar and found the selections generous! We value our guest comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

I wanted my daughter and granddaughter to experience Rhondy Days and the Iditarod festivities. The Historic Anchorage Hotel was the perfect location for all the action. Close to the Ceremonial Start, the Fur Auctions, the Blanket toss. and much more. Shops and restaurants were right outside the door. Our room was clean and comfortable and the staff made a great effort to make sure we were enjoying our stay. I hope to return in the near future!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meguaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I took my fiancee to The Historic Anchorage hotel for a romantic weekend ( we are Anchorage Residents) and it was Fantasic.. the Ghost stories drew us in along with the History of the hotel... it was such a cozy inviting hotel nothing super super duper fancy but thats NOT what we wanted we wanted a relaxing night away from home to cut loose and relax and this was the perfect spot. will deffinatly go back

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akmonkey09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded March 9, 2011

Dear Guests,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always nice to hear the locals taking a "Stay Cation". We're happy to hear you and your fiancee found us Romantic, Cozy, and Relaxing! Congratulations on the engagement. Please be sure to let us know when the wedding day is. We would love to upgrade you to a Junior Suite with bottle of "Bubbly"
Warmest regards,
Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

We stayed at the Historic Anchorage Hotel in July this year and found the hotel to be perfectly positioned to see all of Anchorage. The breakfast room, which was the bar, is lovely with old wood and a beautiful bar and a stuffed polar bear! The breakfast was more than adequate, although served on paper plates, you can help yourself to whatever you fancy and make your own waffles fresh. We had a room on the 2nd floor at the front of the hotel. There was some noise from Rum Runners across the road but it was not exceptional and we were able to sleep. The rooms are very big and I was very impressed with the size and the number of windows which made the room very bright and the views impressive. The staff were very friendly and I woudl definately go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Something-Different!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded February 10, 2011

Dear Guests:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit in July. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed our location, the hotel, breakfast & the staff! We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you both back. P.S. The bear belongs to our sister company Grizzly's Gifts. (It is a faded stuffed Grizzly Bear) Warmest regards, Terri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
0.1 mi away
Anchorage Grand Hotel
Anchorage Grand Hotel
#24 of 74 in Anchorage
402 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Voyager Inn
The Voyager Inn
#14 of 74 in Anchorage
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Suites Historic Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
Sheraton Anchorage Hotel
#17 of 74 in Anchorage
1,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#30 of 74 in Anchorage
578 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Captain Cook
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 74 in Anchorage
1,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Anchorage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Anchorage Hotel

Address: 330 E St, Anchorage, AK 99501-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 74 Hotels in Anchorage
Price Range: $97 - $285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Historic Anchorage Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegantly restored and generously appointed, the Anchorage Hotel is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Rich in tradition and elegance... Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Anchorage. The Anchorage Visitor Information Center, Anchorage Convention Centers, 5th Avenue Shopping Mall, the Alaska Center for Performing Arts, the Alaska Railroad Depot, Anchorage Museum, and some of the finest dining and entertainment that Anchorage has to offer are all just steps away from the hotel.Aside from our convenient room amenities, Anchorage Historic Hotel offers guest services to accommodate everyone from the discerning leisure traveler to the busy corporate guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Historic Anchorage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing