We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy little home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anchorage
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Moose Den Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #63 of 126 Anchorage B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at the Moose Den in Aug 2012. The downstairs area was where the rooms were. There were three rooms and then breakfast was served upstairs. Breakfast consisted of eggs, reindeer sausage, and some type of bread like a biscuit or pancake. She also had cereal and fruit. The woman who owns the moose den had recently separated from her husband so he was not there. She didn't talk too much so it was kind of difficult to get information on where to go and things to do. The stay was comfortable though. She does not change the sheets or go into your room which was a little surprising. We stayed with our 1 year old and the diapers had started to stack up. We just left the trash outside of the room though and she had taken it out. The bed was very comfortable and she was kind enough to let us use the washer which was a huge help. Overall, I would stay there again. Place was very clean and she didn't seem to mind us coming in late every night, around 10:30pm, which we were a little nervous about. The drive into the city was really fast which was great. I'm glad we had a location that was near things to do.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessesmom8811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 19 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2011

Everyone was very nice at this B&B. The place was clean inside. Hardwood floors in our room carry sounds easily through house. Not much to do outside of home, only a deck, but tons of mosquitoes. Family was nice, and TK (their son) was really cool. Gave us lots of good advice on things to do and see.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ricovaldez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Located close to heart of Anchorage in a quiet neighborhood.
Staff was quick to make us comfortable and welcome.
Rooms clean, spotless.
Breakfast was hot and filling.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linenskies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Staying at the Moose Den B&B is a bit like staying with family. The home has a "lived in" feel, unlike some B&Bs that feel like small hotels. The owners are very friendly and Rico sits at the dining room table, drinking his coffee, while guests have their breakfast. His wife is often in the kitchen at the computer and the two are willing to share lots of information about things to do and to share stories with you. They are very accommodating about dietary requirements if informed in advance.

Their B&B is on the soth side of town, away form the "downtown" area. If you have a car, this is not a problem and the price is lower than the downtown locations, making i a good value. We spent most of our time south of Anchorage on day trips, so the location was perfect. They are at the end of a road, surrounded by trees, so you don't feel like you're in the suburbs that you've just driven through.

The beds were very comfortable and there are blackout curtains in the room, which are helpful since it stays light outside pretty late in the summer. Memory foam mattresses were very comfortable and the room was spacious. We stayed int he deck room and although we did not use the deck during our short stay, it's large and provides lots of space for enjoying the outdoors if you want to sit out and read a book or watch for moose. One visited the property after we left for the day during our stay, but one of the other guests was lucky enough to see it.

The front door has a code entry, so the owners accommodate late arrival with advance notice. This is a very big plus for this B&B, as you do not have to disturb the owners. The only negative is that the doors to the rooms stick and you can sometimes hear other late-arriving guests. If you're a light sleeper, this can wake you up.

If you aren't looking to be in the middle of the downtown area and want to feel like you are a guest of the family rather than staying in a paid accommodation, this is a great place. If you prefer the anonymity of a hotel, this isn't the place. You will get to know the owners and the other guests over a liesurely breakfast, and may get some excellent tips on sites to see or things to do! Another great plus is that they let us check in online and print boarding passes from the computer in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMM2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed a few nights and enjoyed! this is a peaceful place ,perfect for rest after a long journey,in the nature;we had the nice surprise to see a baby moose in the garden just the very day we arrived!! Rico and shamzya are really good hosts,very helpful and kind;the rooms are cosy and the mattress really perfect!! We recommend this place really!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank licciola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

We live in New England and have been to several B&B's here so imagine our surprise when we walked into a totally new home, especially designed for the comfort of guests! The best thing was Rico's knowledge of the area - it was hard to get my husband moving in the morning because he and Rico got into long conversations about everything from the local economy to the best way to smoke a salmon. Kam is also hospitable and gracious, and cooks a nice Alaskan breakfast. (Don't come to Alaska for a gourmet dining experience - good solid healthy food is what you will find here, fresh fruit, eggs, reindeer sausage, etc.) I'm sure we'll stay here again - reading the other critiques will give you the flavor. And yes -- CLEAN!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreenMtnMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The B&B was comfortable and clean. The breakfasts were adequate. The other B&Bs we stayed in Anchorage seemed a better value. They cost less and were located near downtown or by one of the trails. This was located away from most places in Anchorage. It was quite adequate and a nice place to stay and the hosts were very cordial, but the other places we stayed offered more as far as surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123alwaystraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
The Lakefront Anchorage
#7 of 74 in Anchorage
615 reviews
Dimond Center Hotel
#16 of 74 in Anchorage
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Courtyard Anchorage Airport
#21 of 74 in Anchorage
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moose Den Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moose Den Bed & Breakfast

Address: 12170 Hilltop Dr, Anchorage, AK 99515-3239
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Anchorage
Price Range: $99 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moose Den B&B is located in Anchorage, Alaska, 13 minutes south of ANC Airport. From the B&B, the south side business center - where Alaska's largest mall, Wal-Mart, Costco, sport shops and restaurants are located - is only 6 minutes North; downtown Anchorage is 15 minutes further North. The 5-bedroom house is new, constructed in 2007. Located in a 2-acre secluded forested area where the moose give birth to their young. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing