We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not into Thai food”
Review of Thai Kitchen

Thai Kitchen
Ranked #188 of 880 Restaurants in Anchorage
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“not into Thai food”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I am not really into Thai food but... I love ethe food here AND really like the Garlic chicken, my friend likes the peanut chicken and gets it without the peppers

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank LadyDragonQD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    11
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Like a home cooked meal, fast and friendly”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great Thai restaurant. The decor is eclectic, dated and even downright ugly. The kitchen is RIGHT there, you can see what is going on behind the scenes. The prices are reasonable but most importantly, the food is hot, fresh, delicious and QUICK. We have seen slow service there when they are just opening, but during "rush hour" everything seems to go faster. The last time we were there we ordered green chicken curry and chicken pat thai. We also got the crunchy tofu appetizer with the amazing peanut sauce they make, it has just a little kick to it. You can customize there order and many locals have been going there for years!!! It is in a little strip mall, so it doesn't look like much. Another cute thing, the water comes in little metal cups with a jug that is so cool looking, really hard to explain.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bbchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
49th State
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“I do like curry.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stopped one day to try at lunch time. They offer many dishes, and I had a little sampling of several curry sauces with chicken over rice. They were all delicious. I love their fresh rolls too.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MPS3AMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mariainak
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food, horrible everything else.”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

If you order water, don't expect it to be refilled. Be happy with your little cup and don't drink it up while waiting (and waiting and waiting) for your food to arrive.
Understanding that your service will be horrific will prepare you better for it. Don't let that get in your way of coming, the food is really good and prices reasonable.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mariainak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not Worth the Time”
Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Arrived at opening time on Sunday, only one other table of customers came in with us. Took our order and we sat and watched as the restaurant filled with locals who proceeded to place orders and get served well before us. 8 tables of 4-5 patrons each were served with food as we sat. We tried to talk to someone, anyone. After 50 minutes of this nonsense we asked for our food to go. 20 min later we walked out with $44 worth of cold, congealed, underspiced food from this wildly overrated place. While they thought they were just dissing some out of town visitors, we were with my aunt who plays bingo next door with a large group 3x a week. Trust me, people will hear about how we were treated. In the meantime, go elsewhere for good food and friendly service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank budandlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing