We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only the name is boring”

Anchorage Alaska Public Lands Information Center
Ranked #28 of 215 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Learn about Alaska's wildlife and wilderness through a scavenger hunt for children.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Only the name is boring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

You do need to go thru a screening to enter but it's worth it. Entrance is free. It has public restrooms. The staff are very helpful in answering questions about what to do and about Alaska. There are free movies about various topics showing all day that are worth watching.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    48
    12
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SGV, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“It's a federal building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Be sure to have your ID ready and prepared for weapon screening, becuase you are entering a Federal building. Interesting short films about Alaska, so be sure to get the time schedule.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoSeeKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Free movies about Alaska history and nature”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was a great way to spend a rainy afternoon in Anchorage. We saw 5 of movies about Alaska nature and history (including the earthquake). Introductions by the Ranger were very useful.We liked the little museum and shop. There was also a free more in-depth talk about natural history.
You have to work hard to find this place (if you Google "earthquake movie," you will not get to this site), and it does require ID and metal detector walk through, but we thought it very informative, and not a tourist trap. And, it was all free!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Information”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

There was good information to be had here if you stop and ask. The exhibits are dated as someone else noted but the rangers were quite knowledgable and willing to share that knowledge if you take the time to ask. The films we saw were informative and we saw a presentation from the Anchorage Zoo with a young porcupine that was interesting and fun. Yes, you have to go through a metal detector and ID check but it wasn't a big hassle.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sharron353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lots of Information on Natural Alaska”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

You need a photo ID and go through a metal detector to get into this Federal building, but it's worth it. The hall abounds with information about Alaskan wildlife, geography, national and state parks, and more. There is a small replica of a fish wheel, mounted muskox and bears, and short videos on dozens of topics, such as building the pipeline and the life of a polar bear. Every half hour they run movies, such as Gold Fever about the Klondike Gold Rush, a child-narrated movie about animals, and more. It's all free and the park rangers are very helpful and answer questions. We almost missed this place. We stopped at rhe Visitor Information Center across the street, and thought that was the only place with information. They don't have public toilets, but a sign said that this place did, so we went over. I'm glad we didn't miss it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank poodytat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anchorage Alaska Public Lands Information Center also viewed

 

Been to Anchorage Alaska Public Lands Information Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing