We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Animals in Old-Fashioned Zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Alaska Zoo

Alaska Zoo
Ranked #16 of 215 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you've missed seeing Arctic wildlife on your Alaskan adventure, you'll find it at this small zoo, where all the animals have names. You'll see moose, caribou, sheep, wolves, musk oxen, mountain goats and several different types of bears, including polar, grizzly and black bears.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
145 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Animals in Old-Fashioned Zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

There are native Alaskan animals here. Many of the animals are rescues and could not survive in the wild. I applaud the Anchorage Zoo for their efforts. Much of the zoo is old-fashioned, which I find depressing. I prefer newer style animal enclosures.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wehogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    280
    147
    41
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
265 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Good selection of Alaskan animals.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Alaskan Brown bears, black bears, seals and otters.

The camel and goats were a bit out of place however.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Al K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good value zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We went here as a"just in case we don't see any animals" and the zoo is a great place to see pretty much every creature that lives up here.Of course some of the creatures were asleep or hiding which can't be helped.The zoo makes an effort to reproduce some of the natural habitat of some of the animals which is great.There is a petting zoo for litle kids(and big ones)Entry fee is very reasonable.Friendly staff and a great gift shop with some great bargains.
Recommended.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had to kill some time so thought we would go to the zoo, it was very cold be still plenty to see and enjoy, lots of small children from local school which added to the excitement. The bears put on a performance for us which had everyone laughing. It's always fun to go to another country and see what animals are from the area. We had an exellent day, we elected to taxi both ways and it cost as much as the enterance fee 15USD each way but I think you can probably get a bus. Free shuttle bus runs from late May over the summer we were a week too early. Good little zoo with a great gift shop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
185 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

It's not a very big zoo, but we enjoyed it very much! We went with our 3 month old daughter and I definitely would suggest carrying an infant with a baby carrier (like ergo baby) rather than a stroller. The paths are mostly gravel and we got the stroller stuck several times. Other than that, the animals were great and the setting is beautiful. The zoo staff keep the areas very clean and the planting beds pristine with gorgeous flowers (we went in late June). The bears were the best! Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Esayed84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing