We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than we expected!”
Review of Alaska Zoo

Alaska Zoo
Ranked #18 of 223 things to do in Anchorage
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you've missed seeing Arctic wildlife on your Alaskan adventure, you'll find it at this small zoo, where all the animals have names. You'll see moose, caribou, sheep, wolves, musk oxen, mountain goats and several different types of bears, including polar, grizzly and black bears.
Panama City, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Much better than we expected!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had been to Anchorage multiple times, but had never visited the zoo. During our most recent trip we decided to give it a try. While from the outside it seems like a really small zoo, there's actually quite a bit to see. Polar bears, black bears, brown bears, wolves, foxes, moose, and much, much more. Something worth noting though is that all the trails are gravel, not concrete. So keep that in mind you if have trouble walking or have a stroller.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    299
    153
    43
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raceland, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Zoo!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Cold weather,warm hospitality! Staff very friendly.Could use more options for hot drinks and food.The paths were muddy in some places and made walking difficult....but it is ALASKA! The baby polar bear and the gray wolves were the highlights!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinaknowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st paul
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fun side trip”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The zoo has a free shuttle from the Visitor Center in downtown Anchorage so on a whim we decided to visit the zoo. We were glad we did, cool to see the animals of Alaska up close and the kids loved all of it. Gravel paths and set in a forest made the experience very fun for the kids...we didn't spend a lot of time there, about an hour will cover everything.
The shuttle driver was wonderful, very knowledgeable about the animals of the zoo and things to do in Anchorage.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Not the greatest”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I went to the zoo hoping to see the baby polar bear, but they were sending him to the Buffalo Zoo this particular day, so I missed out. After paying $12.00 and learned this, I was very disappointed with that and the zoo. The layout of the zoo is confusing and the paths are mostly gravel so if you have mobility issues, keep this in mind. I was happy to see 3 types of bears, but didn't find the zoo or the displays attractive. Maybe later in the season it will look better. I would not return.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank debbiejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Staycationing”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

It was still decently cold, but the animals were entertaining, the staff was friendly, there wasn't too much foot traffic, and there is an awesome polar bear that i want to take home. Seeing the polar bear cub was cool too

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cortney U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing