We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as East Coast” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of McGinley's Pub

McGinley's Pub
Ranked #88 of 867 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Alaska
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not as good as East Coast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had the stew, and it wasn't as good as other Irish pubs I have been to. A friend had the shepherds pie and she said the same. Okay if you are craving that sort of food as its the only place in town (that I am aware of) that serves it, but otherwise nothing over the top fantastic.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank may1787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    27
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice pub for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Pretty good for bar food, and generous sized sandwiches. I like the grinder with jalepenos and waffle fries. They have live music in the evenings.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raven6k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

The pot pie was actually quite good and all our food was very nice. Good variety of beers available. The atmosphere could be better. Service was pretty good. We were on our way to a concert at ACPA and this location worked very well for a meal beforehand.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PieOhMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great variety of Beer - We had Smithwicks -
Belinda, the Bartender was GREAT! Very nice & friendly.
Wish we had more time to spend there!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zabieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“POT PIE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I'd almost buy a plane ticket to Anchorage just to have this pot pie again! I had 3 separate 2 week business trips out in the Alaskan villages (WAY out, like no running water). Upon return to Anchorage, this pot pie hit the spot! It's perfect. Too bad Atlanta to Anchorage is so far. Please go have a pot pie for me!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGinley's Pub also viewed

 

Been to McGinley's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing