We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McGinley's Pub

McGinley's Pub
Ranked #88 of 867 Restaurants in Anchorage
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Flower Mound, Texas
Level Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Great variety of Beer - We had Smithwicks -
Belinda, the Bartender was GREAT! Very nice & friendly.
Wish we had more time to spend there!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zabieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    27
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“POT PIE!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I'd almost buy a plane ticket to Anchorage just to have this pot pie again! I had 3 separate 2 week business trips out in the Alaskan villages (WAY out, like no running water). Upon return to Anchorage, this pot pie hit the spot! It's perfect. Too bad Atlanta to Anchorage is so far. Please go have a pot pie for me!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaAtlantaGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad, not excellent. Decent.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Service: good (not out of this world though). Food: Average or Good depending what you get.

We came in late evening, so they had to card us to get it. At this time, this is not where you want to go for a nice dinner with moderate level noise. It was very loud, not only the crown but the live music as well. At least the live musician was good (not excellent but good). I felt like I had to yell to talk to my husband sitting right next to me. However, it was a later time I do admit. I personally don't mind this on most occasions. However, there was no point in putting on the Olympics if there was live music.

Food was overall good, not excellent. My husband had the Shepherd's Pie. It was very soupy. So not good. I had the Corn beef with cabbage and potato pancakes. Loved my dish!

Alcohol: Guinness, great. Apple Martinia, great! At least they got the drinks solid! Many alchohol choices too. Kudos on that.

The place had more round "high bar" tables then regular tables.

Maybe our first impression was not great, but this wasn't any special. Overall, ok place. Alcohol was probably the best feature.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sophia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
138 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Classic Irish Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Loved this place. Great atmosphere. I recommend the Alaska. Red Ale. We had the wings and chicken noodle soup. (I know, not Irish). Probably the best chicken noodle soup I've ever had.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sesa38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice place for a drink and dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great beer selection and service. Had serveral items off the menu and all were good. Would go back. There was live music for the first hour we were there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank FJB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGinley's Pub also viewed

 

Been to McGinley's Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing