We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved it!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Very clean and awesome service. Mr.Forbes was really nice, made sure I was taken care of. Not only picked me up from the airport, but later gave me a ride to to the store. Great first experience in a hostel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    95
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
44
176
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed two days at the downtown Bent Prop Hostel in Anchorage. The people at the front desk are very nice and helpful. The price was good for Anchorage. The location was great. We were able to make our own meals. There was a free blueberry pancake breakfast on Sunday morning. We got dropped off at the airport by Dave for 10$. We had access to free Wifi. All this was great! On the other hand, we found the hostel not to be so clean... Sticky floors, tables, dirty carpets and sofas... The shared bathroom were clean, but the shower was not done often enough (lots of hair on the floor)...The room was ok, but nothing great. No place to hang towels or clothes. Minimal comfort, including the bed. Also, the hostel is more like a motel (we had to go outside to get to our room or to access the shared living spaces). Overall, great if you are on a very tight budget, but we would try a different place next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

As others have written, this is a hostel, which means you potentially get to share the space with a complete stranger. We had a great experience with our roommate on our first night and we didn't get a mate the second night. The facility appears to be an apartment complex that has been transformed into a hostel. Each of the rooms we visited had a living/kitchen space with furniture, appliances, dishes and space to do everything we could do in any suite. The bedroom in each had two bunk beds (slept 4) and four lock boxes for gear. Bring a pad lock if you want to lock your stuff up. The bathroom was adequate. Overall, this place is nothing fancy but it is EVERYTHING we NEEDED our first and last night in Anchorage. We backpacked the interior the rest of the time we were there.
Location: The hostel is surrounded by apartment houses so if you're used to high-income housing you may be turned off by the area. We didn't have any problems and the facility has pretty strict rules on drugs, alcohol and visitors (nice to see). The hostel is only a couple of blocks from a Wal-Mart and only a couple blocks more from Fred Meyer's (like Wal-Mart) and a pile of restaurants.
Now, having said all that, the manager, John, is amazing. If you need something or need to know how to get somewhere or need to know something - John is your man. He made our coming to and going from Anchorage very easy!
We plan to come back up next summer and we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rgable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The location was good (walking to downtown anchorage, short ride to airport)..but the accommodations weren't my style. There did not seem to be enough bathrooms/showers for the number of guests, and it was really loud (street noise not internal). Everyone did seem very nice, and i really liked the manager. He was very helpful and kind. I might be getting too old for hostels. I've stayed in many over the years, but they are usually smaller and hold less people, so feel almost like b&bs..this one, every bed was taken so it just had a different feel that felt more like camp bunks and a bit crowded. Super cheap though, so if you just want low price and safety this is good for that. Never felt unsafe at any point.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Perfect location in downtown Anchorage close to Convention center transport to Denali, and everything else in Anchorage. Clean accommodations being updated and comfortable--couldn't ask for more for a two to three night stay. Will go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jem915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, CA
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2013

As I thanked John for going totally above and beyond for the umpteenth time he shrugged it off with the response that, after all, they are "in the hospitality business." I've encountered many very welcoming people during my stays in Anchorage but all the people at the Bent Prop Inn Midtown were over the top welcoming. They went out of their way to offer assistance at every turn and to deliver that assistance throughout our stay. Thank you Bent Prop!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanLSanRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great downtown location. John, the manager is a great guy. We needed wheelchair accessible rooms and he made it happen. The rooms were nice, clean and safe. Everything that you need when you're away from home. Room, bathroom, laundry, free internet access, a nice gathering area. I know where I'll be staying next time I visit Anchorage!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joaninha2k2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
541 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#7 of 73 in Anchorage
658 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,824 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#18 of 73 in Anchorage
1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska

Property: Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
Address: 3104 Eide St, Anchorage, AK 99503-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two convenient locations in Anchorage. In the heart of downtown at 700 H Street and our midtown location at 3104 Eide. Both locations convenient to transportation, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel Of Alaska Hotel Anchorage
Bent Prop Inn And Hostel Of Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing