We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hostels are for meeting people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
studio city, calif
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hostels are for meeting people”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

i had a great time in the downtown bent prop hostel. the manager and owner are full of information to help travelers enjoy alaska. this hosel is the place to stay for inexpensive lodging downtown. i will stay here, the next time that i visit alaska. i showed up the first night at about 2 in the morning from my flight from la and it was open and they were waiting for me. the last night,
my 1 am flight was cancelled and when i arrived back at 4 am in the morning, i was given a private room so that i would not disturb anyone, even though i was not expected.

Room Tip: this is a dorm setting with a few family rooms for couples and groups. cost per person: 30 for firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wayne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    95
    12
    5
    4
See reviews for
54
44
176
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff here is great. Everyone is super friendly and helpful.

Locaiton is right downtown so you can walk to the Anchorage Museum and all the touristy shops.

I would have given it 5 stars but It's not the quietest (walls are thin) and the beds are not that comfortable....they're a little worn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank this_womans_work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Overall I really enjoyed staying here! Keep in mind through this review that this is a hostel - not a motel or hotel. The staff is super friendly, really helpful, and accommodating. The private rooms were clean. They were sparse and blankets were thin, but that's to be expected. The bedclothes were still clean every room we were in. The common areas were clean, as well as the bathrooms. In fact, there was only one thing that I didn't enjoy about staying here: some of the other people staying here (they seemed to be regulars, possibly living here) were obnoxious and rude. We spent one night in a dorm room and one of the guys staying came in at 4 in the morning and started rummaging around for no apparent reason, turning the lights on and off 3 times and doing things that certainly could have waited until the day.

Again, great value for the stay, they had a spot to store our gear during the day while we were out in town. I'm extremely pleased with what I payed for and I will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2012

If you like lots of noise, drunks, and tweakers this is the place for you. After staying for a couple of nights a new guy moved into my room who seemed to be pretty messed up on meth. I wouldn't have trusted leaving my possessions in the room. So i upgraded to a private room for an extra $50. The private room looked like the door had been kicked down at some point.
I've stayed at a lot of hostels, but this was the first time i've seen one where a large percentage of the customers seemed to be living at the hostel. My new rule of thumb is to ask before making reservations at a hostel if they have a monthly rate, and if they do i will go somewhere else.

It's in a great location if you need to be in downtown anchorage, especially if you're going to an event at the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsons Bayou, Louisiana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

i had a great time at the bent prop hostel it was located in the heart of down town which inabled me to get around easy i had a great interaction with the staff as well as the other guests staying there i will use the bent prop every time i visit anchorage

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the downtown location 3 times in 2 weeks as we traveled south to Homer and north to Fairbanks. The staff was friendly and helpful. The international guests were always interesting and the location was close to shopping and the bus station.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pelican22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I had a private room in the downtown location. I'd not stayed in a hostel/hotel in decades, and I was pleasantly surprised at how warm, accommodating, well laid out, and convenient everything was. The staff went to extra lengths to help me out with my accommodations. I was able to walk quickly & safely anywhere in downtown Anchorage, which was a plus. If you're in the market for budget housing in a great location with friendly staff, this is your spot!

Room Tip: I had a semi-private room (to myself) rather than a dorm -- still a very good value. Can't beat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr8fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
The Lakefront Anchorage
#6 of 73 in Anchorage
542 reviews
Midtown
HOME2 Suites by Hilton Anchorage / Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Anchorage
Hampton Inn Anchorage
#9 of 73 in Anchorage
659 reviews
The Hotel Captain Cook
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
1,824 reviews
Hilton Anchorage
#17 of 73 in Anchorage
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska

Property: Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
Address: 3104 Eide St, Anchorage, AK 99503-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two convenient locations in Anchorage. In the heart of downtown at 700 H Street and our midtown location at 3104 Eide. Both locations convenient to transportation, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel Of Alaska Hotel Anchorage
Bent Prop Inn And Hostel Of Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing