We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Very accommodating place with common areas that include a TV lounge, full kitchen, computer area and a living room of sorts. This was my first time in Alaska and I stayed at the midtown location. The staff was extremely kind and hospitable. They picked us up at the airport, drove us to locations around town that we needed to visit and even made sure we were up on time to take us to the train station. Will definitely be coming back next time in Anchorage.
Thanks guys!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 428 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Thumbs up for a great stay even during construction.
Staff is very helpful, site is clean, and ambiance is calm.
Thanks folks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pink_Turtle_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Tried 3 different hostels in anchorage. This is the best one !

Location is perfect, close to everything in the middle of downtown.

Everything is clean and new, awesome kitchen and hang-out area (huge tv).

Really good staff and great price as well.

Recommended for everyone!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The Prop is an absolute diamond! Location? Right downtown within walking distance of whatever you could need. The place is as clean as any 350$ a night hotel. The only difference is that there is a great big common area where you can take a load off and small talk with people from all corners of the world. I don't know how they do it, but the Prop is free of the chronic inebriates common to all the other hostels ive stayed at in the greater anchorage area. The front desk guys, Dave, Adam, and the other guy(ummm starts with a C?, sorry bud) are stellar. Super helpful and full of all sorts of info on the city, and AK in general. They remember EVERYONE'S name! It's like a parlor trick or something. Anywho. Great place. Great deal.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onthegrind23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My sister and I have stayed in about 4 Hostels since our arrival in Anchorage. Until the Bent Prop, all had been dirty, unfriendly, over priced and often unsafe. The Prop, on the other hand, is modern, clean and in a great central location (right next to the city bus terminal). However, more importantly, the owners are genuinely excited to have just opened a hostel and are all to willing to help you out whenever they can. In short, if you want a nice safe place for a good price with really nice owners the Prop is for you. In my opinion you would be mad to go anywhere else in Anchorage!

Room Tip: Can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed in mid town location. Really nice staff!!

Not that great though... Was very dirty, kitchen was crazy hot (no air..).
wifi really slow.

But price was really great! Only 25

Will recommend it, but would not give a perfect score like everyone else..

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Ariel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Recently I stayed the Bent Prop Inn at the midtown location in Anchorage. My stay couldn't have been better. I contacted them after looking for an affordable place to stay for a few nights before heading out to work at a remote lodge in Bristol Bay. John the Inn owner a true gentleman picked me up from Anchorage airport and showed me around town. Cindy was exceptionally courteous and reserved a bed for me. The rooms and entire property were very clean and well groomed. John without question was the most helpful person I have ever had the pleasure of meeting in my many years of travel domestically and internationally. I was only there for two nights and am looking forward to stay. John even gave me a ride to Merril Field Airstrip at 5:30am to catch my flight! I great place and awesome people. Its close to everything and wether your in town for a while or just a few nights. The Bent Prop is hands down the best place top stay in Anchorage!

Room Tip: They have rooms to accommodate anyones needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chefbrianbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anchorage hotels
3.5 mi away
Dimond Center Hotel
Dimond Center Hotel
#18 of 74 in Anchorage
468 reviews
2.8 mi away
SpringHill Suites Anchorage University Lake
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Anchorage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Clarion Suites Downtown
Clarion Suites Downtown
#31 of 74 in Anchorage
460 reviews
14.9 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
1.6 mi away
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska

Address: 3104 Eide St, Anchorage, AK 99503-3933
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Anchorage
Price Range: $38 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two convenient locations in Anchorage. In the heart of downtown at 700 H Street and our midtown location at 3104 Eide. Both locations convenient to transportation, shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel Of Alaska Hotel Anchorage
Bent Prop Inn And Hostel Of Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing