We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly”
Review of Hotel du 6 Juin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du 6 Juin
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed for one night in the family room, heading home from two weeks family camping in southern France. Had always wanted to visit this famous little town and only booked this hotel after seeing such good trip advisor reviews. The hotel is situated less than a two minute walk from the town square, airborne museum and church. The owner was a genuinely nice bloke and made us feel welcome after a very long drive north. The hotel is two stars and is not upmarket or luxury. However, it is clean and well run. The bed was amazing after 15 days in a tent! Breakfast was plentiful, good quality and set us up for the day. The hotel was very quiet and at dawn with the window open the only sound was the bells on the church clock and a cockerel about half a mile away. We would happily stop here again.

Room Tip: Room six is the family room with bunk beds. Top bunk for over 6 year olds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sennon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 69 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I and another couple became stranded without a room upon arrival in Sainte Mere Eglise, and upon recommendation from the local tourist agency, we were sent to this hotel. Sebastian and his wife were wonderful to us. The rooms were clean, neat, and roomy. The food was great. If we ever go back to Normandy, we will stay here again. The town itself is also lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAHRains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

St. Mete Eglise would be of no interest to you if it would not be chosen as the first location to be invaded in D-day.The place had not changed much since and indeed, it is a tiny village with an interesting museum and some hotels. of this limited choice we took the Hotel du 6 Juin. The rooms are Spartan, with old furniture, probably dating to the mid 60's. If you do not mind that, the hotel is fine. Clean.

Room Tip: A very limited choice of restaurants in the village! Eat early or fast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

At about 59 for the room and 8 each for breakfast, this had to be one of the best value hotels in France. There was 6 English speaking channels on the TV, I have never seen so many. The room was a little boxy but clean and adequate. The proprietors are lovely people and very helpful. They will do an evening meal and serve drinks (bottles). It is fantastic as a stopover. Ste Mere Eglise was quiet overall when we visited in June. There is the interesting airborne museum, and major WW2 history attached to this town but we had seen these attractions on a previous visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fantastic little hotel to base camp from if you are touring Normandy. The owner/manager Sébastien was outstanding. He was extremely helpful with recommendations and one of the friendliest hotel operators I've ever met. The rooms are clean, comfortable beds, and hot shower for a very affordable price. No it's not the Hilton, but would definitly stay there again!
The hotel sits in the center of Sainte-Mere-Eglise just behind the church (which has a John Steele mannequin hanging from it!). You can walk (under 5 mins) to the Airborne museum, church, and restaurants from the hotel. Highly recommend making reservations at the John Steele restaurant. One key item to be aware of, the town rolls up the carpets around 2200.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YouAreHere_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here on my way home from Spain. Really good place to start a trip around the D-Day museums. Hotel Staff were friendly and spoke better English than me ! manged to use my 5 words of French, without being laughed at !!

Didn't get to the Parachute museum, only because of time limitations on my trip due to the opening time started at 10:00 am, and I had other sites to see, didn't get to go into the town's church, but hope to do this on a return visit this year, and get some of the other missed sites included this time.

All the Best to Seb and his Staff

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 529GeorgeR529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel was excellent. Great host. Clean room. Easy walking distance to everything in the community of Ste Mere Eglise. I enjoyed getting advice from Monsieur Sebastien and walking around the community. Everyone was so nice to me. Excellent food.

Room Tip: I was traveling alone and the host made me feel at home as soon as I got there. The entire hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Mere-Eglise
0.4 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
168 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
84 reviews
14.9 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Bricquebec
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel L'Eden
Hotel L'Eden
#1 of 1 in Brix
15 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel le Vauban
Hotel le Vauban
#1 of 2 in Carentan
116 reviews
4.5 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du 6 Juin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du 6 Juin

Address: 11 rue des Clarons, 50480 Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Price Range: $79 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel du 6 Juin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing