We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't think of staying anywhere else.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
Certificate of Excellence
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't think of staying anywhere else.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is a warm and charming 18th century house reflecting the personality of the owners, Tonnis and Francis. They make you feel right at home and it is a lovely home. Our room was spacious with a large bathroom, all meticulously clean. The included European breakfast included perhaps the best bread and croissants I have ever eaten thanks to Tonnis who leaves each morning at 6:30 am to go to the bakery in Ste. Mere Eglise. A must not miss is dinner at Les Quatre Etoiles. Our two meals were outstanding. Francis is a magician who prepares the best, freshest, tastiest meals in an elegant setting.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagodadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    21
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
87
154
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Tonnis and Francis were exceptional hosts, let us know the "must see's" in Normandy and made sure we were perfectly comfortable and at home in their lovely manoir. Our room was spacious and comfortable and the property and grounds were beautiful. We ate out the first night in St. Mere Eglise, which was very good, but after sampling breakfast the next morning and meeting the other guests decided to have Francis cook for us all that evening. Perfect choice! Dinner was excellent, and after an emotional day of visiting war memorials, being able to share our experiences with Francis and Tonnis and our fellow travelers was just what we needed. Definitely recommend Les Quatre Etoiles to visitors to Normandy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here in July for 2 nights to visit the Normandy area. The property itself was quite special, spotlessly clean and breakfast was a highlight. Our host's recommendations of places to visit were perfect. We visited the 360 cinema at Arromanches, the moving American Cemetery and Utah Beach Museum in a day. Dinner in St Mere Eglise was also a great recommendation, though we were less taken with the local creperie having experienced far better that week. All in all, we would fully recommend Tonnis and Francis's hospitality and beautiful home.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LazyDriver2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here in early September and were truly impressed with their hospitality and their attention to every detail. We arrived after a long flight and train/car trip and it was like the perfect oasis - Tonnis and Francis made sure we were comfortable in the absolutely delightful property. Breakfast was wonderful and the location right outside of St. Mere Eglise is perfect - a wonderful little historic town that offers so much. We could only stay 2 nights with them, but wish we could have lingered a bit longer - it was a wonderful start to a great trip! Thanks to them for doing everything just right.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlevine7436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting the D Day beaches and museums. The manoir is a beautful building and the rooms are better than some 5* hotels. I would recommend this to anyone who wants a peaceful and restfull location when touring the area. If you have the opportunity take the dinner on arrival option, it was delicious and again as good as some 5* hotels

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Our family, including two sons ages 12 and 14, stayed at Le Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles for two nights on July 1st and 2nd. From the beginning to the end, it was a perfect stay. The village is peaceful and property impeccable. Our hosts were delightful, welcoming, warm while at the same time ensuring our privacy. Tonnis had wonderful local advice for us while Francis ensured all of our needs were met. We enjoyed an elegant multi-course dinner the first evening, prepared and served by Francis in the beautiful dining room. Indeed, the entire house is magnificent. Our rooms were beautiful and the newly finished bathroom with luxurious amenities.

Staying at Le Manoir ensured that our trip to Normandy was exactly as we pictured. The location is perfect for seeing all of the beaches, monuments and museums. Returning in the evening to the gardens and well-appointed living room, a nice respite following several busy days.

We definitely plan on returning. This was the highlight of our trip and our sons continue to remember this as the best stop of our 3 week trip in France.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September and were blown away by the property, the owners' hospitality, and the comfort of our stay.

As you pull into the gated property you can just tell how much attention to detail and personal time the owners (Tonnis and Francis) have put into making their property one of the best.

The house is immaculate and full of interesting history, art, and treats. Our rooms were extremely nice and charming. Everything was essentially perfect.

Tonnis made breakfast for our group two mornings in a row; soft boiled eggs, fresh bread, oatmeal, fruit, and much more.

In the evening we played cards on the property and enjoyed feeling like we were staying at our own home.

We can't recommend this B&B enough. We highly recommend you stay here while visiting Sainte-Mere-Eglise.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank waldorfVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Mere-Eglise
1.5 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
2.9 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
8.8 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Le Manoir de Juganville
Le Manoir de Juganville
#3 of 10 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
20.2 mi away
Le Manoir de la Fieffe
Le Manoir de la Fieffe
#1 of 1 in La Glacerie
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
1.7 mi away
Chambres D'Hotes De L'Eglise
Chambres D'Hotes De L'Eglise
#4 of 10 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles

Property: Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
Address: Turqueville, 50480 Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Ste Mere Eglise and the invasionbeaches you find the 4* manor 'Les Quatre Etoiles',owned by Francis and Tonnis Muntinga.The manor dates from the 18th century. The magnificent grand salon 'chateaustyle'. The Monet and Van Gogh rooms,with luxury bathroom, the Normandie room, with luxury bathroom and a family-suite with a bathroom. Enjoy after a relaxing night in your king size bed our french/dutch breakfast. Enjoy, life is short! You are planning your trip to Normandy? Ask advice from an insider! Use the contact-form for all questions about: tour-guides, restaurants, renting a car, travel by train, hairdryer in your room?, how many nights? Francis and Tonnis live already 11 years in Normandy, they are happy to help you with your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing