We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quatre Etoiles is wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here for 3 days in March 2013 with my husband, 4 children, and parents-in-law. It was simply perfect. Tonnis is extremely knowledgeable and provided superb advice about what to see in the area. The house is charming, well-kept and very comfortable, and our room was elegant and spacious. The location is excellent - right by Utah Beach, Ste Mere Eglise, and really in the middle of the "D-Day" sights. Frances' cooking is first-rate - better than any restaurant you are likely to encounter. She was very considerate, preparing elaborate gourmet dishes for the adults and a side of pasta for the kids. I HIGHLY recommend Quatre Etoiles.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ilana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 309 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

My family (3 kids, mother and friend) all stayed at Quatre Etoiles. We had a fantastic experience. The house is welcoming, warm and impeccably clean. The owners, Tonnis and Francis, were available to answer questions and make suggestions. We stayed for dinner one night--it was exceptional. The breakfasts were extremely plentiful. On the last day we had difficulty arranging transport for our large group. Tonnis drove us in his own car to the Utah Museum for one last tour and then helped us arrange for a cab to the train station. Next time we go to Normandy, we will not consider any other location!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

It was getting dark already, when we finally - after a rainy day on the motorway - were nearing Sainte-Mere-Eglise. The settlement Turqueville was quite what one expected from the film "The longest Day" with narrow, winding roads and on both sides hedges. It seemed like the time stood still since 1944.Before the old church to the left, and then a hundred meters on the right, we turned into the courtyard of the beautiful country estate Les Quatres Etoiles. On the gate the host Tonnis welcomed us, and he and his wife Francis invited us for pre-dinner drinks. The dinner that followed was absolutely delicious, including Normandy cheeses and digestifs. The next day, Tonnis revealed to be a splendid touring guide, knowing all the places to be seen on this historic territory known simply as "The Beaches". Les quatre Etoiles proved to be the perfect base of operation for our trips to the historical sites. But not only that: the Quatre Etoiles turned out to be a meetingplace for people from many nationalities and during breakfasts, dinners and aperitifs we had lively discussions with a lot of interesting people. We wonder how this estate with it's beautiful gardens is in the summer months and decided that we must soon return in that period!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed in many B&Bs across Europe and Les Quatre Etoiles is by far one of the finest! We stayed for three nights and the accommodations were simply stunning as it is a wonderfully renovated old manor. Our room was beautiful while still feeling cozy, private, and had a fantastic modern bathroom. The Turqueville location was so quaint and it took only minutes to drive to St. Mere-Eglise. We were interested in WWII history so Utah Beach was also only minutes away and it was an easy drive to Omaha Beach and Pointe du Hoc. While the WWII sites are obvious Normandy destinations, Tonnis and Francis were fantastic in offering suggestions as to other must-see sights in Normandy. At their recommendation, we drove along the entire Cotentin Peninsula one day taking in all the beautiful towns and scenery....it was amazing! We loved our gracious hosts who were so incredibly helpful with their suggestions and knowledge of the region. We would love to return to the area again some day and will most certainly return to Les Quatre Etoiles!!!

Room Tip: The red room was beautiful!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMPCEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for a two night stop on our honeymoon, and it was the highlight of our trip! We had a beautiful spacious room, with a modern bathroom, and a comfortable bed. Francis and Tonnis made us feel right at home, recommended a wonderful restaurant, impeccable sights, helped us arrange for transportation, and cooked us one of our favorite dinners in France! Breakfast was a delight especially the assortment of homemade jams! They were gracious hosts with a keen attention to detail. The grounds are what you dream about when you think of the french countryside. We cannot thank them enough for making our honeymoon that much more special and cannot wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lily N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed. Francis and Tonnis are wonderful hosts. Our room was perfect! With a comfortable king size bed, a large shower (a jacuzzi tub as well) and beautiful decor, we wished we could have stayed much longer.

Francis is a gourmet cook. We ate there three evenings and three breakfasts. The food was the best we had in our month's stay in France.
Francis loves to cook and her guests are the beneficiaries!

It is obvious that Francis and Tonnis care deeply about the experiences of their guests and really extended themselves to make our stay memorable.

They were very informative about the area and we appreciated their suggestions. We also enjoyed Tonnis' cider!

I can't imagine a better experience. We will visit there again!

Room Tip: We only saw our room and It was fabulous: the Monet Room!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Warm welcome by the hosts Francis and Tony in their lovely estate. Well decorated and maintained. They have done an amazing job of redecorating this beautiful old manoir with taste and talent. Rooms are very comfortable in their traditional and warm style with modern and well fitted bathrooms. Breakfast served in the large dining room is convivial and delicious. You will feel relax and "at home" in their beautifully decorated stunning living room.
Francis and Tony combine the rare quality of being passionate by the region and very knowledgeable about it together with a truly international approach (they speak several languages). They are proposing an overall deal which is matching best international standards.
You will not find many similar places there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Mere-Eglise
2.9 mi away
Le Grand Hard
Le Grand Hard
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Marie-du-Mont
172 reviews
1.5 mi away
Logis Le Sainte Mere
Logis Le Sainte Mere
#1 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
166 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel du 6 Juin
Hotel du 6 Juin
#2 of 2 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Chateau de Flottemanville
Chateau de Flottemanville
#1 of 1 in Flottemanville
81 reviews
7.3 mi away
Chateau de Quineville
Chateau de Quineville
#1 of 1 in Quineville
69 reviews
16.5 mi away
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
L'Hostellerie du Chateau
#1 of 2 in Bricquebec
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles

Address: Turqueville, 50480 Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Sainte-Mere-Eglise
Price Range: $117 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Ste Mere Eglise and the invasionbeaches you find the 4* manor 'Les Quatre Etoiles',owned by Francis and Tonnis Muntinga.The manor dates from the 18th century. The magnificent grand salon 'chateaustyle'. The Monet and Van Gogh rooms,with luxury bathroom, the Normandie room, with luxury bathroom and a family-suite with a bathroom. Enjoy after a relaxing night in your king size bed our french/dutch breakfast. Enjoy, life is short! You are planning your trip to Normandy? Ask advice from an insider! Use the contact-form for all questions about: tour-guides, restaurants, renting a car, travel by train, hairdryer in your room?, how many nights? Francis and Tonnis live already 11 years in Normandy, they are happy to help you with your trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Manoir Les Quatre Etoiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing