We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“waited 30yrs to get here and worth it”

Sainte-Mere-Eglise Church
Book In Advance
More Info
$426.89*
and up
Private Tour: D-Day Beaches from Bayeux
Certificate of Excellence
gaddass
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“waited 30yrs to get here and worth it”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Since seeing red buttons hanging from the church in the fil The Longest Day Ive wanted to visit.
Finally made it and loved the place.
Just a small town/village but the first one liberated in WW2,theres a very good museum and a few small restaurants as well as the memorial to US parachutists and the church with a dummy dressed in WW2 combats hanging from it as Mr Steele did in real life in the war.
Loads of sign boards all over town showing then and now, maybe Im over enthusiastic having waited so long and we were only there a few hours but.....made my year.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gaddass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    206
    52
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Marian”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nice to see a beautifully designed church instead of the modern space station types they build today.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow- great tribute”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We loved this stop on our tour- to see the church with Steele's likeness dangling was awesome. The church inside is just as beautiful as outside!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank kmmrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
339 reviews
192 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“A Must-See in St Mere Eglise”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

When I toured St Mere Eglise, I stopped at the church best known from the movie "The Longest Day". John Steele's parachute caught on the church steeple and he was trapped dangling from the side of the building. Today, the church still has a replica of Private Steele hanging from the steeple and the damage from the war is still visible on the stone walls. You can still enter the church for free, (though they sell small items on the honor system). The church is quite beautiful and it is a good place to reflect on the massive amount of death that took place in that general area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank iowaaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“moving visit”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I truly enjoyed this visit. A moving moment to see the beautiful stained glass window honoring our troops. There were memorials of the June 6th 1944 event. History buffs will enjoy this

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelingal555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sainte-Mere-Eglise Church also viewed

Sainte-Mere-Eglise, Manche
Cricqueville-en-Bessin, Calvados
 
Sainte-Marie-du-Mont, Manche
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
 

Been to Sainte-Mere-Eglise Church? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing