We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Museum” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airborne Museum

Airborne Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.19*
and up
Private Tour: Normandy Landing Beaches, Battlefields, Museums and Cemeteries...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Airborne Museum, situated in the square of Sainte-Mere-Eglise, a few miles from D-Day landing beaches, facing the church where John Steele famously was caught, relates the heroic adventure of paratroopers of the 82nd and 101st Airborne Division. Through a spectacular museography, the Airborne Museum takes you through the D-Day alongside American paratroopers of the 82nd and 101st Airborne Division. From the invasion preparations in England through the battles for liberation, meet the Airborne troops and accompany them on their journey to Victory.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
266 reviews
114 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

The new wing shaped hanger contains a mocked up aircraft where you walk alongside the paratroopers in darkness sitting waiting to go, as you near the door a blast of air catches your face, then you peer down to the floor and see the other planes - lots of sounds.

The whole site is very informative.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gossy-abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    314
    35
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
224 reviews
96 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Great museum for non D-day enthusiasts as well”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I am not a history buff and don't enjoy war-related museums and activities. This museum was engaging enough to make me feel personally connected to individuals who took part in the D-day battles, giving me a very different perspective on the courage, selflessness and valour of the combatants (on both sides) and the extraordinary strategic insight, planning and diplomatic skills of the Allied Command.
The inside of the glider with the mock up of the drop zone is highly realistic, not recommended for those of a highly sensitive nature....

If you are on holiday with a D day enthusiast and have to negotiate the numbers of days/visits to museums/cemeteries/memorials, this is one that is worth visiting. Highly recommended

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pennydoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awesome. Do not miss!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

At the last minute based on the advice of my trip advisor friends we decided to stay overnight in Bayeaux and boy was that a great idea!

Our train from Paris was delayed due to a mechanical problem thank goodness we had the extra day. The other benefit was that we were able to see this museum. It was an awesome and respectful and informative tribute to what happened in the days before and after theD day invasion. The exhibit in the back makes you feel like you are in the plane getting ready to jump out of the plane.

Also the town is kind of cute and fun so it's worth a visit. We were there on a Saturday and there was a local flea market which was great.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rosa0463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“FABULOUS!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

Outstanding portrayal of the 101st significance in WWII history. Wonderful photographs, dioramas, weapons and memorabilia from this page in WWII history.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WRNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Very well done! Do not pass this one up as it's a must see for all ages when visiting the area. Even my children who are normally bored with museums found something to be interested in here.We particularly liked the flight simulator. It's obvious a lot of imagination, research, and hard work went into this. I cannot find anything I disliked at all. If I had to say anything...maybe the gift shop was a bit overpriced. But that's to be expected. Even the shop seemed to have a little something for everyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank nicmo9702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airborne Museum also viewed

 
Saint-Laurent-sur-Mer, Calvados
Cricqueville-en-Bessin, Calvados
 

Been to Airborne Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing