We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bummer”
Review of La Taverne du Port

La Taverne du Port
Ranked #32 of 139 Restaurants in Marseillan
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $28 - $50
Cuisines: Tibetan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Restaurant vendu, changement de proprietaire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bummer”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

If the seiche a la plancha are a very tasty speciality of the house, the lack of kindness of the staff is unacceptable. Particularily because they belong to the owner family. A big deception.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mindmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    122
    36
    26
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An old favourite”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This place stays the same year after year. Good quality food and fine wine. Some places you may want adventure with your dinner, with this place I want the comfort of knowing I've returned for another summer. I always start with oysters, some years gratinee with Noilly Prat and some years just fresh with a vinaigrette. It is restaurant comfort food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantome, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great setting”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

this has a great setting by the harbour .it was packed with french families but they fitted us in . we found the staff very professional and friendly. The food was fresh and tasty. the wine list is outstanding full of little gems at very reasonable prices. the vermintino [ domaine de st hilaire] was a great match with our fish dishes. they cleverly have their wine shop by the till to tempt you!already planning to go back an absolute treat

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank suetian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Terrific seafood and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is a very busy family-run restaurant that offers great seafood in a superb setting on the quayside at Marseillan. It has a great atmosphere if you are inside and lovely views if you have a table on the quay. The food is fairly standard Southern France fare but the quality is excellent, the price very reasonable and the service very friendly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Epsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thoroughly disappointing and over-priced”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our 4th meal at one of the great choice of port-side restaurants during our current stay (we have another week here still) and this is one place we won't be going back to. We had booked a table for Sat night (as it was Marseillan's Bastille Day fireworks we thought everywhere would be busier than usual) which as the little restaurant was full we thought was a good move. The menu was slightly odd - there were things listed on the boards outside which were not on the printed menu we received - and extra mini-blackboards of the fresh fish were presented but it was not clear which of these were included in the 29euro menu - the board implied they all were, but as we placed our order, we were told we were all eating a la carte. The owner's sole purpose seem to be to constantly replace our bread basket despite the fact it was still full, to get in the way (not hard- too many tables to move anywhere!) and sit with his friends at one of the outside tables. The food when it came did not live up to expectations - having seen so many positive reviews this was doubly disappointing. Melon mille feuille with parma ham and foie gras was made with distinctly under-ripe melon, too chunky and served bizarrely with half a plate of salad doused in oil which made the whole plate greasy. My son, who loves snails,opted for sea snails - only to find they were cold which made them bland and chewy and even the aioli could not make them palatable. Daughter's goats cheese bruschetta were the best choice. Mains - bizarrely every plate came with a huge dollop of aioli - which is lovely in the right place but did not belong on any of ours. By now the entire bistro smelled strongly of garlic - you can have too much of a good thing! My grilled sole was quite small, served skin side up and very crisp with an odd rice portion and ratatouille - not the most apt accompaniments for a delicate fish. Daughter had calamari - again OK but much too big a portion and quite oily. Husband enjoyed the swordfish but again there was alot of oil around. My poor son who felt that a Margret de Canard, medium, with potatoes, would be a safe bet, was presented with what could be best be described as a cremated plate of duck which certainly exercised his jaw, and a jacket potato still wrapped in foil and filled with - yes, you've guessed it - garlic butter!
The puddings were the best part of the meal - prunes in armagnac were delicious (good thing I like rum and raisin ice cream which wasn't mentioned!), cherry & kirsch sorbet saved my son's palate, the creme brulee was crisp and it is hard to ruin an ile flottant! However at over 170euros for 4 this was way over priced and we will certainly give this one a wide berth for the rest of the holiday.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterborian101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverne du Port also viewed

Marseillan, Herault
Marseillan, Herault
 

Been to La Taverne du Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing