We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast, good value and service.”

Volunteer Park Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Volunteer Park Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #999 of 4,080 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great breakfast, good value and service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

A bit crowded but reasonably priced and high quality service and food. Located in a residential neighborhood there is limited seating but we only had a few min wait. Coffee, breakfast and baked goods were all excellent. Overall, a good value based on cost vs service and food quality. Younger staff and very diverse patronage but service and neighboring tables only enhanced our experience. Lots of parking on relatively close side-streets.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“bohemian, tasty.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

this place is like a little european, bohemian cafe. If you like the style, you be happy. It is always very busy when we go there, usually around 11am on the weekends, for brunch. Sandwiches and soups are tasty, but you have to wait like 15 for it, although they make everything fresh, and that is great! Lovely, and we go there once every 2 months... :-)

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
181 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“wish I lived nearby!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

I found the Volunteer Park Cafe on Tripadvisor. Another gem. I wish I lived the the neighborhood so I could be a regular! The food is delicious, the atmosphere classy casual, pretty noisy. Portions are good sized. The menu is not large but there is a good variety, something for everyone. We only had dinner there, but I bet the breakfast and lunch are fabulous too!

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank allisonodenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

Volunteer Park cafe is one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle. The food is always delicious and the ambiance is tasteful and refined without being stuffy. One of the best things is that you can have a great meal no matter what your budget is. The main course entrees are Northwest style seasonal, local fine dining cuisine at reasonable prices of around $15-22. If your budget is tight they also have creative pizzas, sandwiches and small plates that are very reasonable, but made with top-notch ingredients and recipes. They have a fantastic and varied wine list and northwest beer selection. Finally, the staff are really great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KML90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get away from downtown and relax with good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2010

I loved this old-grocery-store-now-cafe. Its literally over the hill from Seattle; a nice walk from a great park (volunteer) and a greater cemetary(Lakeview). Go for a frolic in those open spaces in the morning and plan on a lazy lunch at this luscious location. The pastries were delish.

Helpful?
Thank territuniful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Volunteer Park Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Volunteer Park Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing