We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yep - It is really good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pike Place Chowder

Pike Place Chowder
Ranked #9 of 3,983 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Yep - It is really good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had read about this place on trip advsier, so we went there for lunch and the clam chowder is as good as everyone says it is!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,709
    737
    184
    25
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overstated! ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I am in Seattle with my family for Summer holiday. We came all the way here to try out Pike Place Chowder base on Trip Advisor's ranking. I mean it's a nice chowder place but a bit overstated when you claimed the best in USA! I have had better chowder at many many other places! Try for yourself and you will know what oli meant!

Helpful?
4 Thank Chuan T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing seafood the locals approve of.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Went to pike chowder over this last weekend and had a great meal. I had the seafood bisque and dungeness crab roll. They were both very very good and the protions are large. The roll had more crab in it than any place in market combined it seemed. Way better than Elliots on pier 56.
The food can seem little pricey BUT you get a lot of it and it is good.
The other thing that stood out was fact that there were a lot of locals in line for food. Usually in heavy tourist spots they avoid it at all cost. Not here...they grin and bare it to get such good food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aztocali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best clam chowder!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We found two people already in line by 10:30 a.m. The place opens at 11. It's worth the wait. The clam chowder was hot, creamy and so good! We also tried the southwest chowder - my son really liked it. The scallop chowder was good but not good as the clam chowder. There are a lot of clams in the clam chowder. I liked it better than the chowder at Ivar's, which I found too creamy. Get the chowder in the bread bowl. The soup soaks into the bread. Making me hungry just thinking about it again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank milehimom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not great, but fast”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stopped here since the line was long, we saw that as a good sign. While it was cheaper than some other places around Pike's market, it really wasn't great. We ordered a shrimp cocktail which looks huge, but it's full of celery underneath the layer of shrimp. Cocktail sauce was flavorless. The oysters were the biggest disappointment, I didn't even eat the second one. We did order the garlic fries, which were fabulous, if not a little too greasy. I wouldn't come here again unless I just stopped for the fries.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Isabelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pike Place Chowder also viewed

 

Been to Pike Place Chowder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing