We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Midwest comfort food and cozy atmosphere”
Review of Zayda Buddy's Pizza - CLOSED

Zayda Buddy's Pizza
Cuisines: Pizza
Restaurant details
Mercer Island, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Midwest comfort food and cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stopped in for lunch while running errands on a Friay and was disappointed to find they didn't have pizza by the slice. Zayda's does have small 8-inch pies for personal use, but I wanted a couple slices of different toppings to sample and mix things up.

The menu has lots of other great choices, though -- sandwiches, burgers, salads -- so it's easy to find something for almost any taste. Some of the choices are quite creative, but nothing that's trying too hard. I settled on a Rachel, and I'm glad I did -- absolutely delicious on good rye bread. The vegetarian melt and the appetizers all look great and there is a wide variety of beer available, including Old Style, a midwest favorite.

The owners are from Minnesota, and some of the menu choices reflect that midewest influence. It's a Vikings bar, and probably a good place for someone who wants to watch a Twins game or the Vikings football on TV.

The prices are very sensible and the decor is nice and cozy. There's a back patio which I didn't try, but it seems like the restaurant might become a bit too crowded at busy times. Service was mostly prompt, but I found the usual problem with a bartender who wasn't attentive because she was too busy chatting with her friends. Otherwise I had a great visit and would return if I was looking for food or a beer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeBlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We felt right at home!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a gem! If you like the Midwest, Midwestern sports teams, good beer, good service and good food, you will love this place! The s'mores dessert was fabulous! The menu offered a wide variety of choices including typical "hot dishes" - aka casseroles - as well as great salads, sandwiches, etc. I can't wait to go back to Zayda Buddies.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Touch of Home”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stopped in for sunday brunch. The adornments of the great north were all about making a midwest boy feel right at home. The staff was friendly and the bloody Marys were incredible. Check it out for sure if you're in the mood for something hearty and delicious

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank MattK485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Someone highly recommended this restaurant. I was pleasantly surprised. The reubens are great. Of course, all the food is wonderful--types of things you will not get in most restaurants. Kind of nostalgic food. The pizza is wonderful--some of the best pizza you will ever have--spicy, plenty of sauce and cut in squares. I don't have to go to Minneapolis to get great pizza any longer !!! :) I stop by fairly regularily even tho I don't live in Ballard. The only reason I din't give it 5 stars is because it is not a 5-star fine dining establishment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanjuanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service”
Reviewed January 23, 2010

I frequent this wonderful establishment on an almost weeky basis. I must say if you love comfort food ( we here in washington sure do) then this is the place for you. NOthing beats a cold rainy day at Zayda's eating some curds and watching football. The staff is super friendly. If you are in Ballard or just visiting Seattle you should check this place out for sure!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredandCandice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zayda Buddy's Pizza also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing