We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modest but zesty dining room, tasty Mexican food, sumptuous music.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr Villa

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mr Villa
Ranked #1,100 of 4,059 Restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Modest but zesty dining room, tasty Mexican food, sumptuous music.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

For all the drivers on Lake City Way, who notice Mr Villla's as they are zipping by and are thinking about giving this place a try, it is worth a stop. The Mexican food scene in Seattle is bizarrely upside down, with most of the best food coming out of trucks and shacks. There are too many local mini-chain empires serving bland, uninteresting food. Mr Villas is a tall step above the typical restaurants here and a different sort of Mexican food than you'll likely find at the food trucks. Their menu is a nice selection of authentic Mexican items. I recently ordered the Ahogada (chicken) and the waitress actually asked me how spicy I wanted it! Being from California, I stated "Very spicy" and what I received was unlike any other Mexican food I've been served in a restaurant here: it was truly deeply richly spicy, with a liberal helping of sauce. Heavenly! It came with ample separate bowls of guacamole and beans. A feast!
This was a Monday evening, so we were treated to some fantastic live Music while eating. As it turns out, they have music - different groups - performing Monday and Wednesday evenings, from 7 till closing. The ambiance felt different:a neat blend of old school Mexican restaurant (think old California or Arizona hole-in-the-wall), an little Northwest contemporary, with a bit of Bohemian thrown in - but maybe that was the great music. Do stop by and try this place.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agsmith50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    10
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
1 review
“Lacks flavor & friendliness.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I went for dinner and we were the only table. I tried to be friendly and talk w the server but she did not seem interested. Only time I saw her was when she took the order dropped off the food and then check.

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ECarreon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Caution: NOTHING is vegetarian.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

I recently went into this highly rated local Mexican joint with high hopes but had to leave after I was informed that nothing on the menu is meat-free. The rice contains chicken stock. All the corn products, from the homemade tortillas to the tortilla chips to the tamale coating contain lard. In the twenty first century there is no excuse for not offering lard free alternatives for those of us who do not eat meat.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleRafael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great chips and salsa, delicious mole enchiladas, and very friendly service.

My friend and I shared a lunch special, and were happily presented with the food divided on two plates. We got the mole enchiladas with cheese, the white, crumbly Mexican kind, and they were delicious. The view is of Lake City Way, and there's no outdoor seating,but who cares. I will definitely eat there again, maybe on a Monday or Wednesday evening when they have live music!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tigerlily08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Only in Seattle would I consider this...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

Only in Seattle would I consider this pretty good Mexican food.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tarsier206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mr Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing