We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A chance to mingle with a beautiful view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pensione Nichols B&B
Ranked #9 of 27 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at Pensione Nichols before we journeyed to Anchorage. We found the address close to just about everything we wanted to do in the area. You must take the time to visit with the hotel proprietor Lindsey, sample her excellent breakfasts and coffee, spend some quiet time in the spacious living room overlooking the Sound, and of course the the wonderful rooms with antique touches. What we actually enjoyed most was the opportunity to meet other guests from around the world. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 overlook a very busy and noisy First Avenue. Also, if you have heavy bags, or have tro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 274 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Pensione Nichols is just a block or so from the Pike Street Market, the wharf, etc. So, you get the location benefits of the Inn at the Market at a fraction of the price. Make no mistake, the guest experience at Pensione is different from Inn at the Market. The bathrooms are shared (but we always found one empty), and you have to drag your luggage up two long flights of stairs. And, as another reviewer noted, street noise from 1st Avenue can make it into your room if you are on that side of the building. But the common room has a view close to that of the terrace at the Inn at the Market, and the included breakfast is quite nice. Plus, everything is clean and fresh, and the building's spaces are very tastefully decorated with cool stuff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaySparrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My husband and I love to make staying at Pensione Nichols part of our Seattle experience. I love the warm welcome each time we stay. I love the entrance right on 1st street. I love the classy breakfast room with piano and an amazing view of the sound. From there we can walk ANYWHERE we want to go and can get great recommendations if we are looking for a place to start.

Room Tip: Pick a suite, they are well worth the few bucks extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband, 20 y/o son and myself just stayed at Pensione Nichols for 3 nights. I decided on this B and B to give us variety on our 1 month holiday from Australia to Canada and Seattle at the end of our trip. I had read the reviews on Tripadvisor before booking 3 months ago.

We had Room 8. This faces the main road (1st Avenue). It is noisy...but such great 'people watching'. The constant traffic noise is so constant that it becomes like background noise. If you are a light sleeper then request a room at the back.

The location is the deal breaker here. So close to Pike Place Market and that is a major 'plus'.

Nancy was looking after the Pensione for the owner during our stay. She was very helpful with offering to call taxis for us for our very early departure the night before we left and offering us the use of the telephone when my suitcase was damaged during our transfer from Vancouver.

The Pensione was quite 'quirky' but I wanted something quite different following a cruise to the Inside Passage. Well, it was very different. As other reviewers have stated, there is no hanging space for clothes and minimal storage. Also as we come from Australia, we are used to tea/coffee making facilities being available in hotels, motels and B and Bs. This is not available at the Pensione.

If mobility or carrying luggage up two flights of stairs is an issue then do not stay here. Reception is on the second floor. The lounge room has great views over Puget Sound and as it was Spring, the longer daylight hours meant we could enjoy the views for longer.

Water pressure in showers leaves a lot to be desired. Complementary toiletries consist of tiny bars of soap (we brought our own so this was not an issue). There is no space in bedrooms to hang wet towels and guests are encouraged to recycle towels to conserve the environment so we found our towels were still wet the next day so needed to request clean ones.

Breakfast was Continental. Nancy served fresh fruit from the Pike Place Market and a variety of breads with juice, tea or coffee each morning. This was more than adequate for us. The Market is only a couple of minutes away with a huge range of dining options if you require more. There are only 3 tables in the lounge/dining area and so spacing out breakfast when the Pensione is full is necessary.

Overall, the this was a good option for us. We spent lots of time at the Market and were out on day trips during our 2 full days. I would recommend the Pensione Nichols if you would enjoy a 'quirky' change from hotels and normal B and Bs. Personally I wouldn't stay again as I like Tea/Coffee making facilities to make myself a 'cuppa' and I would prefer not to have the constant traffic noise. You can't beat the location though and we found the Pensione to be very clean.

Room Tip: If you prefer rooms a little quieter than overlooking the main road then request one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spunkybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Spent a lovely couple of nights here. We had a front-facing room, right in the heart of the city. The room had real character, as did the bathrooms, and the breakfast room was just beautiful. The sweet little dog made it feel like home from home!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reblu302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I persuaded my wife to take a chance with this B&B. The website write-ups were so inviting.
It was awful! Quaint it might be but everything about it is well past its sell-by date. The bedrooms were small, with no-where to put clothes or wet towels. The bathroom facilities were old and 'musty'. Only two (of the three on 2nd floor) had showers and one had no functioning cold water tap in the hand basin. Breakfast was very basic. - Water melon & toast!
Worst of all was the noise in bedroom 8 overlooking 1st Avenue. Avoid it like the plague! I think we finally got to sleep about 3 am, only to be woken again at 6am... the continuous noise from traffic & pedestrians was horrendous. It brings new meaning to 'Sleepless in Seattle'.
We moved out after one night and paid a penalty charge.

Room Tip: I don't think htere are any, but avoid those overlooking 1st Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David_Keable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

They want you out early, the smell of someone dumping a bottle of lysol around the bathroom at 8:30am on Saturday and Sunday was like being gassed by ammonia. The closet was dusty, and had some exposed air ducting with dirt like someone had forgotten to replace the wall. No provision for hanging our damp towels, so we had to lay them on the filthy chair, cleaner furnishings are available at the Goodwill. The bedspread was threadbare (yes the threads on the design were raveling and frayed all across the entire item, like a homeless person had found it in a dumpster and was using it under the freeway before the hotel proprietor obtained it). While some pieces of furniture were relics of a wonderful age of beautiful era, they were chipped and scratched and the drawers were losing their sliding function. A few old kitschy things remain in the building, but are now mixed with the cheapest crap items one can purchase at second hand shops. No water in the room, and we couldn't get the provided empty decanter under the faucet in the bathroom. In fact no amenities at all except paper towels and some small soap samples in the bathroom. That is okay if we were paying $60, but $135?

The breakfast was continental, and similar to Days Inn or Hotel 6, so don't expect what hotels that charge $135 and 145 would provide. In fact, Days Inn provided more variety.

The only thing possibly interesting about this place is the view from the 3rd floor dining area. But unless you get there early, you will wait up to an hour for a cup of coffee and some toast. They only provide 3 tables, so they obviously don't expect to serve everyone, and maybe its a plan to send people out somewhere else.

As said somewhere else here, the proprietor is not on site on the weekend, and 2 young people (the "chef" who wears a backwards ball cap and dirty jeans) and the server who is a very nice young lady (she told us this is her second job, she is a clerk at a local clothing store weekdays), they are expected to deal with the check outs, but don't know much about anything including the parking arrangement.

We were told that a special arrangement was available at nearby parking garage, to go in and out but pay only the day rate. However, that arrangement is "by talking to an attendant". At the garage, the sign states that an attendant is on duty from 3:30-6pm only. At 3:45, no attendant had shown up, so we had to pay the full price. In two days, we spent $48 on parking, and thankfully that was to the Nichols $12 parking coupon, the only benefit provided by the hotel. We parked, left for our event on Friday night, parked again overnight, left on Saturday to explore, parked again overnight: 4 x the $12! When we asked the server, and she called the proprietor, who said she couldn't help us.

We will never stay in this filthy overpriced wreck. The only soft spot in my heart, is because the owner/proprietor, Nancy, seems to be a sweet really old woman, who has seen her hotel drift from fun european styled pension in to rundown flophouse quality. But that won't get me back here. BEWARE of disappointment.

Room Tip: Only the 3rd floor suite (not single rooms) is acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gerrald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
0.1 mi away
Inn at the Market
Inn at the Market
#1 of 103 in Seattle
2,718 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mayflower Park Hotel
Mayflower Park Hotel
#16 of 103 in Seattle
2,280 reviews
0.0 mi away
Thompson Seattle
Thompson Seattle
#22 of 103 in Seattle
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Seattle
0.4 mi away
Grand Hyatt Seattle
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Nichols B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Nichols B&B

Address: 1923 1st Ave, Seattle, WA 98101-2446
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Pike Place Market
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range: $145 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pensione Nichols B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pensione Nichols is Seattle's only downtown Bed and Breakfast located in the world famous Pike Place Market. European feel with Seattle style and a breathtaking view of Puget Sound and the Pike Place Market, Pensione Nichols is steps away from all the major attractions guests come to Seattle to see and experience. Family owned and operated since 1989 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Pensione Nichols B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Nichols Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing