We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for work and play”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Ranked #13 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for work and play”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

All the staff were very friendly; the breakfasts were yummy and accomodating of our dietary requirements; excellent location near UW; walking distance to University Village; would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BLH164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    44
    12
    5
    0
See reviews for
68
98
20
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

May 28, 2012
Seattle is always nice and therefore the sorroundings and gardens of the Chambered Nautilus B&B Inn are. Joyce helped us to bring our luggage uphill. We read a couple of reviews before going therefore we knew it was uphill (lots of steps plus one flight to our bedroom) and that it was located in the U District. The surprise was the quality of the Chambered Rose room. It did not have a closet, there was a locked armour just for display. Another surprise was to hear after using the shower that the bathroom was built where the closets were before. It made sense because, although in good shape, each of us felt claustrophobic and secluded in a very small shower. You can have an old house with antiques but not old broken furniture, I tried to keep a night light in a drawer and I was surprised to have the piece of wood loose and hanging from my hand. The stairs are very noisy, we were awaken at 4:30 am when a guest was leaving and then at about 7:30 am. About the Internet service, it did not exist in our room. It was very slow and we could not use SKYPE to contact our relatives. The parking situation is a tossed up, first come first serve in a busy university district. We almost did not find any the night of Memorial Day which was a holiday, we are wondering how it might be in a regular day when classes are in full.
About breakfast, Joyce was nice to serve me good toasts instead of their breakfast. I am used to eat a couple of toasts with jam and drink tea. But I must say that she surprised the group we were having breakfast with.
We were engaged in nice conversations, and Joyce interrupted about 3 or 4 times telling us stories when she traveled to NY, etc. It was disruptive and not polite at all.
This was our first time in a B and B and we are wondering if all hosts do the same. People who has more experience can tell us.
The room was clean, no air conditioning, we were wondering how it would be a sticky day.
Our room was nicely staged but not practical, the decorative pillows had to be used to sleep because there were two flat pillows for both of us.
I think the house is nice and Joyce is nice, paying more attention to detail and listening not only to the positive reviews will make a wonderful place to stay. For us it is now a beautiful house to visit (the main area is beautiful) but not to sleep. It needs to update for people like us who have busy lives, are in our 60's and want to have a relaxing experience.

Room Tip: I think the name of the room is Chamber Rose, it is on the first flight of stairs and in the south e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuenosAiresGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 3 nights as part of our Wedding Anniversary vacation -- we love it. The house is beautiful & the room we stayed in, the Sunrise Chamber, is quite lovely. We are huge fans of the breakfasts as well. The staff & service are exceptional, for example: In the online reservation form they ask if there are any foods that you cannot eat, we noted that my wife does not eat beef or fish -- a staff member verified this with us at check-in w/o prompting. All of the staff members knew where we were from too. They actually pay attention to those things. It may not sound like much, but we've stayed at a lot of different places & none have ever showed that kind of attention before.
Just a note, we were a little concerned about parking at the inn as it is on a street shared with apartments & such, but we never encountered problems -- there was always a space available near the inn.
We highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jtlion819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Delightful B&B in quiet street in Seattle's University District. Minutes from the university museums and stadium and University Village. Close to Laurelhurst, Sands Point, Wallingford. Good restaurants nearby and not far from downtown or Seattle Center. Hosts very pleasant. Rooms charming. Breakfast delicious. Tea, coffee, cookies, fruit available other times. Follow their directions to get there or may have a hard time finding. We were able to have friends join us for breakfast for moderate cost. Only downside is lots of steps up fr the street and news to carry luggage up. Will go back.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at The Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast while on vacation in Seattle and had a very nice time. The house is beautiful, the rooms comfortable and the breakfasts delicious. Joyce is a warm and gracious host who has lots of helpful suggestions regarding touring the area, down to sitting with us and mapping out bus routes from the University district to downtown. Our bed was large and very comfortable and we also really appreciated the small fridge and microwave available for guests-finally we can bring home leftovers! I wouldn't say this is a luxury Bed and Breakfast but it is a lovely and relaxing place to stay....and is not priced as a luxury B and B might be. Definitely worth the money...you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We got a room with a bathroom just outside in the hall (this was known to us when we booked it)...if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRLProvidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

On a recent visit to Seattle (to meet my new grandson), I stayed at the Chambered Nautilus for 6 nights. From start to finish it was a superior experience - the booking process, the attention to every detail (more about that to follow), cleanliness, welcoming atmosphere and highest quality service from Joyce (the owner) and all her staff. The details were not only "adjusting" or "accommodating" my request for vegan food, but going way above and beyond - special treats in my room and early breakfast on the day I left Seattle. The location was perfect first of all because of its proximity to my children, but even moreso because of how central it is to any attractions around the University of Washington, downtown Seattle and the surrounding areas. It is a homey place to return to after a day out. There is easy access whether you need parking (oh -- and they provide a residential parking tag so that you may park longer term) or bus service. The other guests were delightful as well - the inn just seemed to attract them and bring out the best. My son and I stayed in two rooms, both of which were impeccably clean and wonderfully comfortable. I travel to Seattle several times each year and will be staying here again for sure! A jewel and not to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AH342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I recently stayed at the Chambered Nautilus while I was visiting the University of Washington. This is a beautiful property, located in the midst of the University District and only a short drive to the downtown Seattle area. Joyce (the owner) and her staff were wonderful, during the booking process of our stay and while we were in Seattle. The property is absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are beautiful as well, with cozy, thoughtful touches like a bookshelf and a resident teddy bear. The living room constantly had a fire roaring and complimentary cookies, coffee, and tea available to the guests. However, perhaps the best part of our stay was the food! Every morning, Joyce prepares a gourmet breakfast for her guests. I still reminisce about her pumpkin yogurt pancakes and ham and cheese waffles. Yum! Overall, excellent bed & breakfast with every modern comfort. I would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
Hotel Deca
Hotel Deca
#64 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Residence Inn Seattle University District
University Motel Suites
#72 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn

Property: Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn
Address: 5005 22nd Ave NE, Seattle, WA 98105-5706
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > University District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to our romantic Seattle B&B, 10 minutes from downtown near the University of Washington, shopping, and restaurants. Rooms at our Seattle, WA bed and breakfast are appointed with private baths, luxurious linens, desks, Wi-Fi & TVs! Start every day with an unforgettable gourmet breakfast & fresh roasted coffee at our bed and breakfast in Seattle! Looking for Seattle University District hotels? Named by USA Today as one of the top 10 inns for business travelers! Check out our pet friendly suites! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Chambered Nautilus Bed and Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chambered Nautilus b&b Inn
Chambered Nautilus Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing