We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven to rest in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seattle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast on Capitol Hill
Ranked #21 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A haven to rest in”
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Linda's B&B is special. I stayed many times while I was in Seattle for business and found it to be a haven to rest in after a long stressful day at the office. Linda offers a choice of three rooms, a large on suite room and two others which share a bathroom. She also includes a nice breakfast. The rooms are very affordable which make the B&B even more attractive.

The B&B is in a lovely period Capitol Hill house at the north end of the area minutes drive from the I5. A leafy, quiet street with a park nearby and a short walk to Broadway, Capitol Hill's main street and home to one of the best coffee experience's in the world, Expresso Vivace.

In the end what makes the B&B so special is Linda herself. She is engaging, intelligent, friendly and non intrusive. She is thoughtful in the way she runs her business. If you are looking for a homely place to stay, with a gracious hostess and a keenly priced room, look no further.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dmarcus001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    12
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
26
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I couldn't have asked for a better experience. The owner, Linda, is a great hostess. She made sure I had everything I needed. My room was very comfortable and soooooo clean...better than staying at a hotel. Breakfast was available till late in the morning...and delicious. And the best part of it all was the location...Capitol Hill is a very hip place with lots to do and see...and it's only a mile from downtown Seattle...easy leisurely walk. I'd definitely stay there again if I'm in Seattle.

Room Tip: Smallest room is perfect size for a single woman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanamshafii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is a comfortable bed and breakfast in the Capitol Hill area of Seattle. It is a very good value for the price. It works best if you don't have a car. There is a bus stop in the area. There is a narrow driveway which is shared with a neighbor and whenever you park you are blocking someone ( usually the owner or assistant) from leaving. You can park on the street with a permit supplied by the owner, but parking spaces can be difficult to find unless you park a few blocks away. Breakfast is self-serve and includes fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, cold cuts, cereal, and beverages. I felt safe in the neighborhood but the owner was very particular about making sure the door was locked. The neighborhood is very liberal as to lifestyle so if you uncomfortable with that you might want to stay elsewhere. There are some good restaurants close by. Ask the owner about the Thai restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SirEdward7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The Innkeeper is great and the B&B is very comfortable. I found it very handy for Downtown - either a walk of about 30 minutes or there is a regular bus service just around the corner which will take you down to Downtown in a few minutes. I was looked after very well and will certainly go back there when I next visit my son

Room Tip: Ensuite is on the front, but it is not noisy on this road. If you want quiter go for the back of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamdebenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essendon, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Linda is by far one of the nicest hosts I have encountered during my numerous stays at various B&Bs in the USA, Canada and the UK.

Even feeling unwell as she was at the time, Linda went out of her way to make me welcome, and provided all the comforts and services that she promises on her website, as well as interesting conversation.

The house is beautifully kept, warm and inviting and situated in a very quiet street, yet only minutes away from bustling Broadway with its many stores and eateries. It also has two other hosts - a beautfiul dog and a cat whose names escape me, but posssibly are named Mary-Agnes/Grace.

In terms of comfort, value for money, cleanliness and location B&B on Capitol Hill is a hands down winner!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelAJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I have stayed here several times...it is where Broadway becomes a little side street so very quiet....the B&B is the owners home and she rents 3 bedrooms, 2 with shared bath, all upstairs...all the rooms are lovely, clean, nicely decorated, comfy beds and bedding. The one with private bath is large with a sitting area...the other two quite adequate. Breakfast is yogurt, ham, cheese, breads, fruit etc ...there is a sitting area ....and the location is superb! the owner lives below and so sometimes it feels like the whole house is to yourself...sorry I dont know what the design is called...Victorian and with wonderful antiques.
I am Single, 67, female, down the street is a fab art cinema, a large comfy cafe with wifi,a spiritual bookshop...and then all the rest of broadway....also a bus to downtown. I love staying with Linda, she is friendly and helpful always!
parking requires some instructions but she takes care of that. A home away from home that I am always happy to return to.!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed with Linda for 3 nights. Originally we booked the cheaper room with the sink only (shared bath), but when we arrived Linda offered to upgrade us for free to the Rose room. This was a great treat!! The room is large, has a sitting area and a lot if windows. The bed and mattress are new and high quality. The room is very nice. There is wifi for free and a small TV ( I think 14"). Breakfast is simple and self serves between 6 and 10. There are bread, butter, jam, milk, juice, coffee tea, yogurt and some fruits and cheese.
Linda is very nice and willing to help.
Location wise it's close to bus 49 which takes you to downtown and close to Broadway st with lots od restaurants. It's about 20 mins to get to downtown but I think it's a good location, nice area and very quiet.
Overall we had a nice stay.
If you don't like pets be aware there is a cat and a big dog (friendly) . The house itself is old and a typical old charm b&b, not a modern one.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 101 in Seattle
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Belltown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Broadway / Capitol Hill
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast on Capitol Hill

Property: Bed and Breakfast on Capitol Hill
Address: 739 Broadway E, Seattle, WA 98102-4607
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast On Capitol Hill Hotel Seattle
b&b On Capitol Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing