We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I waited far too long to go on this tour.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Savor Seattle Food Tours

Savor Seattle Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$56.98*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Early-Access Food Tour of Pike Place Market
Ranked #1 of 71 Food & Drink in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Seattle via five different food & cultural tours! Pike Place Market, Seattle's gourmet restaurant scene, the Capitol Hill neighborhood, indulgent chocolate, and even booze! Group Events & Customized Private Tours also available. Each tour offers a large variety of tastings (15+), while visiting 6-9 different specialty food shops, artisans, and neighborhood restaurants. Tours operate daily year-round, are 2-3 hours long, and range between $39 - $69, depending on the tour. The tours focus on F.L.O.S.S. (fresh, local, organic, seasonal, and sustainable) foods and beverages. Enough food is served on each tour that most guests consider it a meal. Each guest receives discreet, individual ear pieces so that they can hear crystal clear sound from their knowledgeable and funny tour guide. Never strain to hear or fight to stand next to the guide. Hang back, snap photos, and never miss a word!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Marysville, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I waited far too long to go on this tour.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I am leaving the Pacific NW in a few weeks and decided to finally go on this tour. What a mistake to wait. I would recommend everyone take this tour within the first month after your arrival into the area. Brett, the host, was very interesting and knowledgeable not only about the tour subject, but also the area. The restaurants we visited were top-notch. If I had gone on this tour earlier, I might not be leaving. So many good places to eat...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sermonatorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,123
    202
    34
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Grove, California
2 reviews
“Seattle Booze and Bites tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The name of this tour got us interested first thing. How can we go wrong? The guide was a delightful young man and very knowledgeable about the area around Pikes Market and the different establishments we would be tasting in. The cocktails served with each bite were different and specific to the food and restaurant. The bites were not ordinary fare and so each place offered us a unique opportunity to try something new. I would recommend this tour to anyone who is interested in specality foods. It is a really fun way to see the city.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An excellent way to explore Seattle”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Do this tour your first day. Not only will you get a great sampling of what the city has to offer food wise, you will get to move around and see a lot of the city. we did the best of Seattle 3 hour tour and as foodies were super impressed. A great use of our money and time.

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Savor Seattle Capitol Hill Tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have done two similar Seattle tours by other companies and different locations in the past which were by far much better. The food sampling was really mediocre, salty soup, custard, cup cake & ice cream, bagels, ginger cocktail that truly was awful, however the macaroni & cheese was good as well as the taco. Santori, our guide was entertaining and very nice. My recommendation would be to incorporate more historical facts about Seattle and change the food sampling venues. All in all, nothing to write one about.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank susannahSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savorseattle, Owner at Savor Seattle Food Tours, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We were sorry to hear that your overall experience with the Hip On the Hill Tour was lacking. As one of our most popular tours, we have worked hard to ensure that we are providing a good historic overview of Capitol Hill as well as providing tastings showcasing the best of the establishments visited. The Hip on the Hill tour is intended to showcase the newest happenings in the Seattle culinary scene. With the current tour lineup, all of the tours have been open for 3 years or less so they are new restaurants. Your experience is not the normal one for this tour and we will be following up with our restaurant partners with this feedback to help us improve the tour as well as following up with our guides regarding historical information for the tour. We will also let Santino know that you enjoyed his tour and found him to be a positive part of the tour.

Thank you for your candid feedback as it helps us improve our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great tour, but perhaps not worth $40”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Went on the Pike Place Market tour with Brett. He was excellent and entertaining, and the tour provided a great overview of the market's highlights. We went back the next day for more of the food we sampled.

However, $40 + tax and tips seems pretty pricey when you consider that Savor Seattle probably doesn't pay the merchants much for the samples. Most of them (like the Chukar chocolate cherries, smoked salmon, Market Spice herbal tea, Beecher's cheese, grapes from Frank's Produce) are freely available if you know where to find them. I would be happy to tip more generously if the base price was reduced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nitpicker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savorseattle, Owner at Savor Seattle Food Tours, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your tour with Brett. He takes a lot of pride in his work and he puts in a lot of time to make it the most entertaining and educational tour possible. We were sorry to hear that you didn’t feel the tastings offered were up to the standard of the cost of the tour.

While it is true that some establishments in the Market offer samples to the general public, the tastings provided to our guests are much larger, more diverse, and more numerous than the free public samples. As well, our guests never have to wait in line. In some cases, our staff personally prepares the tastings before each tour, so that they are ready and waiting for you when you arrive on the tour. Many stops (Etta's Seafood Restaurant, Daily Dozen Doughnuts, and Piroshky Piroshky are just a few examples) do not offer samples to the public. We have found the $39.99 cost of the tour is lower than other companies who offer a comparable tour at $45 or more person.

We at Savor Seattle truly appreciate your response as it is your feedback that pushes us to constantly improve our tours and to provide our guests with experiences worth savoring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savor Seattle Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Savor Seattle Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing