We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overrated” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macrina Bakery

Macrina Bakery
Ranked #7 of 119 Bakeries in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Belltown
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Went here for breakfast - absolutely OK and with a nice atmosphere, but nothing extra. Wouldn't return.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie_C777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    99
    24
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Mishap in service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

First of all, we liked the pastries we actually ate, however, we asked for two more items than we actually received. Unfortunately, we didn't find this out until we were on the train leaving Seattle.

:(

From the time we placed our order, to the time the goods were placed in the bag, the girl forgot everything we ordered.

Be present and listen, please.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sacredphi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great bakery and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

The cinnamon rolls were exceptional, although we could not buy just one. We had to buy 6! I also tried the blueberry scone and it was delicious. Staff was very friendly and they gave samples of their cinnamon rolls!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MOHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I don't understand the hype, but it was OK!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Having read reviews of this bakery and staying across the street, we decided to skip the hotel breakfast to try something at the Macrina Bakery instead.

The interior is really cosy and nice; it has that homey feel that a bakery should have. Coffee was good too, but the breakfast was really not that special. I have travelled a decent amount and comparing to many places (especially France or other very breakfasty places), this was not something to get too excited about. I had a bialy (?) which was totally fine, but as I said, nothing extraordinary. If I lived outside of belltown, I would not get out of my way to visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hildans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Breakfast, lunch or snack you can't miss this is fantastic. It's a bit small in Belltown so sometimes a wait but worth it.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank leesbluenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macrina Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Macrina Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing