We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for the Space Needle”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Executive Inn
Ranked #53 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Dubuque
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great location for the Space Needle”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We made our reservations probably 9 months in advance and got what we felt was a great rate for Seattle. This hotel was in a great location for our family of 4 (including teenage sons). We enjoyed the location next to the Space Needle (probably the closest hotel to the Space Needle). We had a great view and were within walking distance for everything we needed including a short walk to Kerry Park (1.5 miles) and 2 grocery stores. If you want to go downtown to Pikes Peak or into the shopping district, the tram is within site of the hotel and within minutes of it -- a walk to downtown took us about 20-30 minutes but it was nice weather.

The front desk staff was accomodating to our requests. ALEX in particular was the most helpful, making suggestions for us to make our stay more enjoyable, so if you see him at the front counter, I am confident your stay will be enjoyable. We were booked in Room 8111 which was perfect with a great Space Needle view. The room itself was perfectly fine, plenty of room, air conditioning, and bathroom accommodations. Internet connectivity in the room was a bit spotty, so we just used the 3 computers provided downstairs.

We ate breakfast twice at the hotel which was fine as well. It is a hotel in a big city, so you will have "big city" things around the hotel -- homeless people, beggars and the party goers.

Room Tip: Room 8111 had a great Space Needle view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ELS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Lenke, Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear ELS20,

Thank you for your great review of our hotel! We pride ourselves on delivering a great product and great service!
We look forward to seeing you here on your return trip to Seattle!

David Lenke
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    423
    204
    88
    36
See reviews for
372
321
69
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I have to be completely honest about things here. First of all, the location is desirable because it's walking distance (only about a block and a half) from the "Seattle Center" with its attractions like the Space Needle, Children's Museum, Pacific Science Center, EMP museum, and Chihuly Glass Museum. However, the neighborhood needs some clean-up. There is a grey building located kitty-corner from the hotel. This building is completely closed up and has white spray-painted graffiti covering the entire building. There are a few homeless people living in the doorways of that building, so it doesn't make the area around the hotel feel very safe. As we walked to the Seattle Center one Saturday afternoon, there were also women a block away from the hotel advertising to drivers to visit the "Hottie Car Wash." These women were wearing skimpy bikinis, fishnet stockings, and extremely high heeled shoes. I'm sorry to say that they looked more like prostitutes, and we had our 5 and 8-year-old children in tow with us, and the kids started asking all kinds of questions as we tried to usher them as far from these women as possible.
As I said in my title, I have higher expectations for a hotel that has "Plus Executive" in its name. We stayed at a "Best Western PLUS" and a regular "Best Western" in Yakima, WA and Astoria, OR on this same trip, and both of those hotels were in far better condition and far better managed than this one was. In addition to this, we paid at least twice the amount for a room here in Seattle than at the one in Yakima--although to be somewhat expected, given the location. The computers in this hotel were super slow and internet connections were poor. The breakfast, which wasn't even included in the price of the hotel--unlike the other 2 Best Westerns I stayed in, was mediocre. (You can go down the block to McDonald's for less money and same quality of food).
The sleep quality was fine. But we had a broken window in our room that no one seemed to notice before I brought it to their attention. There was a 3-inch crack in the glass and the lock was missing from the window. There were no screens on the window, so I would have been afraid of one of my kids throwing things out of the window onto the street below. We did, however, have a fabulous view of the Space Needle.
There is no swimming pool at this hotel, which may be part of the reason why some of the other hotels may be priced a bit higher. But again, if you're going to pay for a "Full Service" hotel, you might expect it to have a swimming pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Space Needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Lenke, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Cull_Family,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the Northwest during your family trip. I am sorry to hear that you had some problems during your stay. I would like to address that we don’t put screens in our windows but rather all windows have locks on them that don’t allow the window to open more than 6 inches. Yes, the building next to us is vacant and has some issues, but we have been informed by the city that the building is going to be removed by its owners in the near future. I hope that you would give us another chance next time you are in the Seattle area.

David Lenke,
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I got really lucky finding this hotel at the price I did. It's a very nice hotel in a great location. The staff is friendly and helpful. The rooms are modern and clean. I wouldn't recommend paying for the breakfast at the hotel. Save the money for a better place. The best thing about the hotel is that it's across the street from the Space Needle and the monorail that takes you to Pike's Place.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Space Needle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lch86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Lenke, Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear LCH86,
Thank you for giving us such great feedback. I am thrilled to hear that you were able find our transportation in the Downtown area to be friendly and efficient.
The staff and I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Seattle!

David Lenke
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here two nights. The rooms are good, air conditioning good, bathroom all good, location good right next to Space Needle and Seattle Center unless you would prefer to be closer to the Pike Place Market because its a long walk from this hotel.

Anyway the reason we would never stay here again is because of the front desk service which was terrible. We asked them to call us a taxi and they said it would be ready in 10 minutes so we go down in 10 minutes only to find that nobody called the taxi, so we need to make another call and wait. This happened again when we called the previous night to ensure a taxi would be there at 6am for an early train ride we booked. When the time came we were told there was no record of the taxi request so no taxi was waiting for us. We had checked with them three times to ensure this booking was made but still it was not.

There was one guy working on the front desk who was pretty good, the rest were not very friendly and gave bad service. Also, if you want to spend most time in the city and Pikes Place, try a closer hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucas2NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Lenke, Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Lucas2NZ,


Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am glad to hear that you liked the hotel and enjoyed the fresh up to date rooms. I am sorry that you had a bad experience with the front desk staff. We are in a constant state of training and improving our guest service at the hotel, I will make sure that if a request or promise is made then it is delivered upon.
I hope that you will choose to stay with on your next stay, please contact me directly if I can be of any assistance.

David Lenke
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed one night to find that the room was below expectation. 2 queen size beds - beds were okay but bedsheets were thin and old and of rather cheap quality. The blanket was a thin one which feels very rough (not the soft plushy kind). Room could use some updating in terms of carpet, light switches, etc.. Safe did not work. Bathroom looks very 80s and outdated. Fan inside bathroom does not work and hence after a shower, the bathroom feels very moist and stuffy. Sink sits outside of bathroom. No bath mat in the bathroom. No toiletries such as lotion, shower caps, etc.. Worst of all, the air-conditioning system is very weak. It fails to cool the room even though it's already turned to its highest. Overall, rather disappointing room. Positives: location of hotel is only two blocks away from the Space Needle and Monorail. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lildragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Lenke, Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear lildragon,


Thank you for your valuable feedback that you have provided to us at the hotel. I will take and share these comments with our housekeeping department about the missing items. While some toiletry items are not in the room they can always be requested at the front desk and we are always more than happy to deliver them to your room for you.
I am glad to hear that you thought the staff was friendly and provided you with great service. I hope that you choose our hotel next time you are in Seattle. Please contact me directly and I can help you set that up.

David Lenke
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowser, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

They could not have been more accommodating to us. They gave us a view of the space needle and it is within a very short walk to the needle and everything around it which is extensive. We hardly had to touch the car while were there. You do have to pay 7.95 for breakfast but if you have children they eat free. It was still worth it even with the breakfast cost.

Room Tip: There is no pool here which was the one downside if you have a family that wants it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenekimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Lenke, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Lorenkimura,

Thank you for the kind review of the hotel. One perk to our buffet breakfast is that kids under the age of 11 do eat free with a paying adult. The staff and I look forward to seeing you during your next trip to Seattle.

David Lenke,
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Check in was 4pm. We arrived at 1pm after travelling for 18 hours and arrangements were made so we could get straight in our room. My sons loved the view of the Space Needle from our window. Staff were very helpful giving directions and maps. The buffet breakfast was excellent and had lactose free items! Interesting customers included Avatar characters and clowns! The room was clean and tidy. Would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank linda p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David_Lenke, Assistant General Manager at Best Western Executive Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear linda p,

Thank you for taking the time write such a great review of the hotel. Even though check-in starts at 4pm we do try our best to accommodate early check-ins whenever possible. I am glad that you enjoyed the spectrum of people that were staying with us during you stay. With all the different events that go on there is never a boring day in Seattle! The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back during your next trip to Seattle.

David Lenke,
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Union
Hyatt Place Seattle/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Executive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Executive Inn

Property: Best Western Executive Inn
Address: 200 Taylor Avenue N, Seattle, WA 98109-5016
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Family Hotel in Seattle
#51 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Executive Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose this comfortable, yet affordable Seattle hotel and delight in abundant amenities, a convenient location near corporate offices and Seattle's popular attractions. Guests can get their regular workout while staying at this Seattle hotel, as we offer a 24-hour exercise facility on the premises. Additionally, this Seattle hotel offers a business center, complimentary Seattle Times newspapers delivered to each room daily and 24-hour security. Looking for event space or meeting rooms in Seattle? Our property offers meeting space for up to 250 attendees. We offer guest parking for only $15.00 per night plus applicable taxes. We look forward to welcoming you to the Best Western PLUS Executive Inn. The spacious, modern rooms at this Downtown Seattle hotel offer cable television on a 32-inch flat screen television, microwave, refrigerator, work desk, free wireless Internet, triple sheeted bedding and more. Half of the rooms offer unobstructed views of the Space Needle. Guests can enjoy delicious and convenient meals at Brella's Sports Lounge. Our wonderful hot breakfast buffet is available daily for only $7.95 per adult plus applicable taxes while kids 8 years and under eat free in Brella's Restaurant. Check with front desk for hours. Visit the Seattle Center, Space Needle and Pacific Science Center & EMP (Experience Music Project)- just a couple blocks from this Downtown Seattle hotel. Situated in the heart of the city, other popular area attractions - including Safeco Field, Century Link Field, Seattle Waterfront, Westlake Center, Pioneer Square and Pike Place Public Market - can easily be visited during your stay. Those traveling for work are within minutes of the some of the world's largest corporate headquarters. For anyone visiting Seattle for medical reasons, this Seattle hotel is within minutes of some of the world's most renowned medical facilities. For a memorable time in Seattle, reserve a stay at the Best Western Executive Inn today! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Executive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Executive Hotel Seattle
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing