We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you could hope for”
Review of The Loyal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Loyal Inn
Ranked #63 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you could hope for”
Reviewed January 5, 2009

My friends and I do a road trip to a different NFL venue every year. This was a great place to stay in Seattle. We like to hit up a few tourist spots in addition to the stadium itself and this hotel proved the perfect location to accomplish that. It's within easy walking distance of The Space Needle, Pike Place Market, and basically anywhere downtown. If you have no problem walking, you can even walk to the stadiums with little issue (45 minutes, maybe?), which we did. As for the hotel itself, it's been recently remodeled so it's very clean and modern. The bedding was the most comfortable I've experienced in recent memory, and the breakfast is very legit (it's beyond a continental breakfast but not quite a "real" breakfast). The price was a ridiculous bargain ($75/night) but this place was so perfect for what we were looking for, I would've been happy if I'd paid $125. The staff was very friendly, great location, outstanding pricing. It's the dream scenario for a budget traveler looking for the ideal location, but it has enough frills that even a more high maintenance individual would be more than happy.

  • Liked — Location, bedding
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kareemtownes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    323
    147
    66
    30
See reviews for
201
252
77
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2008

We stayed at the Loyal Inn because we wanted to be in downtown Seattle, since we only had two nights there. It exceeded our expectations in many respects. The rooms were large and comfortable, with many extra amenities. The breakfast was very extensive, with many fresh fruits, eggs, breads and even waffles.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, especially with suggestions of places to see during our rather limited time in the city. (Highlights were the Columbia Center, the second tallest building on the west coast, with marvelous views of the surrounding area, and also the Pike Street Market.)

We also appreciated the location, as it is within two blocks of the area of free bus transportation from early morning to late evening on all buses in the downtown area. This was a marvelous idea, and did much to cut down on traffic congestion.

I plan to return to this hotel in the spring of 2009.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank maestrolms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Wanted to stay in the downtown area; am a member of the Best Western Gold Club, and decided to add some points to my balance and stay here. We are not super picky - we just need a bed after all, since we will be out and about most of the day anyway. It was difficult to find rest and comfort at this location. Besides the horrible noise pollution going on outside, the guests in the hotel do not care about being quiet at 2am either - and the staff could care less. The room was dingy, if not out right dirty, smelled like mildew, and had stains on the carpet. Tiny bathroom, not big enough to turn around in. Bad TV reception just to add insult to injury. Walls and lines felt damp (humid area, but why would that matter indoors?) Location is much to be desired, homeless people sleeping next to the hotel, and I think I actually witness a drug deal going on outside my window.... pay a few extra $$ and stay somewhere safer, cleaner and more comfortable!

  • Liked — not a thing!
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seychgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loyalinnSeattle, Front Office Manager at The Loyal Inn, responded to this review, November 3, 2008
This location is definitely great in relation to the downtown area and the Space Needle area. Being in such a convenient location also means we are close to many events and sometimes energy of their enthusiasm can be heard as they pass the hotel but this is rare. We definitely do care about guest comfort. Once aware of noise we warn the perpetrator(s) and if need be remove them from our property. The rooms are regularly maintained and inspected and so we believe the state of the room you mentioned is anomalous. The rooms have recently been updated with new furniture and bathrooms sizes are typical to the area hotels in general if not bigger. We also take the security of the guests seriously and have security that regularly patrol the hotel and the surrounding area. Anybody who doesn't belong is removed from property. The television reception is sometimes a little fuzzy when coming from the cable companies, but often the local channels are found on a higher channel and are clearer. I hope you visit us the next time and you will see that the experiences you've had were an unfortunate rarity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

The room that I was given had not been made up after the previous guests. The front desk promptly gave me another room, which appeared to be an upgrade. Except for the room’s carpeting, the facility was clean and well-maintained throughout. The staff was friendly and helpful; the continental breakfast had ample selections and amounts. The room’s thin floor covering appeared not to have been vacuumed. The thermostat on the noisy heating/air conditioning unit didn’t work, and the heat had to be turned on & off manually, throughout the night. The hotel is located in the downtown area, and there was some street noise. OK for business travelers and seniors. About 2 miles from AMTRAK.

  • Disliked — Noisy heating/air conditioning unit
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fudgemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Enjoy your breakfast and the thought that you are saving money -- but that is about it.

We stayed just overnight and this is the duration that I recommend to everyone.

First, if you are from outside U.S., make sure you print out the sheet (ie. travelocity or expedia page) showing that you get free parking. We had a dispute with the front desk who said they do not give free parking but if we could prove it, they would be "more than happy" to accommodate. We had to use their internet (free luckily) to print out the page and show to them.

Second, bedding linens were worn out and must have been from the 70s but were clean. Checked for roaches, etc but none so I guess they earned their 2 stars. Carpet is threadbare. You get a fuzzy TV with full cable and a reasonable sized fridge (no alcohol) and microwave. We were offput by the dispensing machines in the bathroom where you pressed buttons to get shampoo and soap. How cheap is that?

Construction in the neighborhood begins at 7am sharp where we were woken by jackhammer drill early in the morning.

Breakfast was excellent in a huge breakfast room and includes yogourt, waffles (you make your own), pastries, fruit, cereal, milk, hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels. We were disgruntled by our room but the free breakfast somewhat made us feel better.

Elevator is sometimes slow. Cleaning staff don't say hello or smile, I guess don't care about guests considering this is 2 star hotel. Take the stairs if you can.

Location is central, although seems area is kind of seedy if not dead. Lots of car lots around. You can walk to downtown within 10 minutes. They leave a card on your bed warning you to be cautious about safety in this area and maybe it is warranted.

We enjoyed Phantom of the Opera while we were there. Parking is close but expensive and around $20 for events.

Get what you pay for.

  • Liked — Free Breakfast and lots of it
  • Disliked — Worn Down Rooms
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Savvytourist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

The front desk at the hotel was less than helpful. The one guy, who seemed to be the manager, was very knowledgable about the area and very helpful. However, we encountered several other desk attendants who were not interested in helping.
The breakfast was bigger and better than what I expected. However, we could hear the beeping from the waffle machine every morning as we were just two doors down from the breakfast room.
The hotel is located several blocks from the Seattle Center (Space Needle) and we really enjoyed the Experience Music Project (like a music museum) there.
All in all, we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jrhinomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2008

I am employed at a Best Western and I was dissappointed with our experience at the Loyal Inn.

1) The staff was very nice, the room was clean. But..
2) We were very disappointed at the size of our room for five people. Having requested a room with double queen beds, we got what seemed like standard size double beds. (Room # 210)
3) The parking...we were VERY shocked and disappointed to have to have paid $10.00 plus $1.65 parking tax to park our car at the motel we paid over $100.00 to stay in!!
4) The spa was very grossly dirty!! We wouldn't even get in it after seeing the slim and hair ring all around it!

We will NOT recommend staying at this motel to anyone and we will NEVER stay there again.

Debbie Dreyer

  • Liked — breakfast, close to space needle
  • Disliked — no pool, room & bed size, having to pay to park our car, dirty spa
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank greatvictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#50 of 100 in Seattle
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loyal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loyal Inn

Property: The Loyal Inn
Address: 2301 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1907 (Formerly Best Western Loyal Inn)
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Loyal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you arrive at The Loyal Inn, our exceptional customer service team and comfortable accommodations will greet you. Once inside your spacious non-smoking room, you'll find all the comforts of home, including a 32-inch flat screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Eco-Friendly rooms are also available. Additional amenities at this Seattle hotel include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast buffet each morning, relaxing spa, on-site exercise facility and a 24-hour business center. We offer guest parking for a nominal fee of only $10.00 per night plus applicable taxes. The best of the city awaits you just outside this hotel in Seattle. From exploring famed Pike Place Market to marveling at the Space Needle® while visiting Seattle Center to catching a Seattle Seahawks or Seattle Mariners game. Everything you want to do and see in Seattle is just minutes away. While in town, try to catch one of the many annual festivals, including the Bumbershoot® and Northwest Folklife Festivals and don't forget Seattle's annual Seafair celebration. The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle Cancer Alliance, Swedish Hospital, Virginia Mason, Lake Union, University of Washington and Seattle University are also nearby. Be sure to explore the variety of unique shops, restaurants and entertainment venues in downtown Seattle. Business guests will also enjoy the Loyal Inn's close proximity to local businesses, hospitals/medical companies and corporations, including PATH, Microsoft, Amazon and Boeing and the Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Seattle. Make an online reservation today and save at the Loyal Inn hotel! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Loyal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Loyal Hotel Seattle
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing