We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for the Price, but Look Elsewhere”
Review of The Loyal Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Loyal Inn
Ranked #61 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed October 29, 2007

The hotel was OK, a little run down with average cleanliness, but we chose it for price as Seattle is quite expensive. We didn't get the room/bed that we reserved, and the staff was unhelpful. Best Westerns used to always have nice hotels, but this one doesn't fit that mold. We'll choose a different hotel, probably more expensive, the next time we visit Seattle.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank lesbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 808 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2007

Don't be fooled by the other reviews.
They must be written by the ownership!
This hotel is gross. Every fabric surface of the interior was stained. The beds were totally uncomfortable. At first I thought they had me sleeping directly on the box spring mattress! Kids rented a room across the hall and were smoking marijuana outside my door. The smoke came into my room! Seriously. I complained, but they didn't kick the kids out for several hours. There were bums climbing in the garbage cans outside the hotel. I selected the hotel because it was reasonably priced and close to the downtown and space needle. Guess what. It ain't that close! You're still about 12 blocks from the main downtown attractions and about 6 blocks from the space needle. I took a cab downtown. If your looking to save money I would suggest that you stay at hotel further away from the downtown area or pony up the extra bucks a night and stay at someplace decent. Seriously! This is not a joke. I live in East Oakland California so I know what bad conditions are, and this place reminded me of a cheap rent by the hour motel!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank miguelluna019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2007

I stayed here for two nights (July 17-18th 2007). This was my first trip to Seattle so I didn't have a feel for the city. I chose this hotel because it was reasonably priced($314 total with taxes) and on the edge of downtown. The area has an industrial feel and is contruction going on the backside of the hotel. It;s across from Denny Park buy I never investiagted the park. There is a Whole Foods Market about 3 blocks away that is open til 10pm and a 24 hour restaurant called the Hurrican Cafe (with a full bar)that is open 24 hours. Not having a car these came in handy. There are bus stops within a block to downtown (about 3 blocks if you want to use the free ride zone) I walked back from the Space Needle once (about a 30 minutes at a leisurely pace) If you are a walker you can walk to Pike's Place and the wharf ( did it once and I'm not a big walker) It was under a hour.

The hotel itself is 4 stories with interior corridors. Check in was qucik and while my interactions with the staff were minimal, they were pleasant. They also exchanged my hotel room card for a new one quickly when on the 2nd day it stopped working.

My room on the thrid floor (307) was at the end of the hall next to the stairway (with a door propped open most of the time). As a lone female, I was somewhat concerned but it turned out not to be a problem and was actually a nice alternative to waiting for the elevator . (One negative, it was next to what appeared to be a storage area and the houskeeping staff tended to congrate outside my door but I got used to it) I balanced it by the fact that I could go right down the stairs to the whirlpool on the first floor without going thru the lobby . There is also a sauna and small exercise room all open 24 hours and only acceible by your room key. The night I used the whirlpool, I had it to myself which was wonderful and towels are provided.

The room itself ia nothing special .There was one king-size bed which was comfortable, There was also a desk with two upholstered chairs on each side . The tv was in a cabinet in the corner with dresser drawers underneath. I'm not a major traveler but there were two things in the bathroom area I hadn''t seen before. Instaed of the normal array of tolietries, there were two dispensers. One over the bathroom sink held soap and lotion. The one in the shower held shower gel, shanpoo and lotion. Water pressure was good in shower. Other amenties included coffemaker, hair dryer, ironing board and iron.
Unfortunatley there was no microwave or refrigator and I must admit this is the first hotel I have stayed in over 20 years that didn't have a least one or the other.
There was wireless internet access in the room which my laptop logged onto with a problem and I never lost the connection.
The free breakfast was very nice and included "make your own" belgium waffles. It also has the normal assortment of cold cereal,juices, pasteries, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and a toaster to use for bread or bagels. The long lady overseeing the room keep everything well stocked and was helpful if you had any questions.

Checkout was quick and they even offered to call me a cab but I had already taken care of it..

Overall I had no complaints other than my prefernce for a frig or microwave The room was clean and the window even opened if you like fresh air. It's not luxiourios and given its off the path location, a perfectly acceptable hotel

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sangria03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2007

My wife and I chose this Best Western after quite a bit of research. We were looking for something near or in downtown with free parking and air conditioning since she's pregnant and it was hot. The location was very good (close to the Space Needle and Seattle offers free bus rides in downtown area), the free wireless was nice, and the continental breakfast is pretty impressive. The room is spacious enough, the bed was fairly comfortable with good pillows, and the shower had hot water and good pressure. The only complaints I might have had would be the front desk; aside from John C. they weren't much help. Much of the front desk staff consisted of young people who mean well enough but don't have the social skills or confidence to answer good tourist questions. Also, I had to negotiate for free parking since I was told that was offered over the phone. They were nice and cooperative about the parking issue. On the whole, this is a great value -- we get up and get going and this place offers what one needs to do that for a good, big city price. On a side note, we found the Golden Singha Thai restaurant on Cedar (short walk towards central downtown and the Needle) to be excellent food for $8 (dinner).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hoops11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2007

Got this room for $50 on Priceline. Needed a hotel for a pre-cruise and post-cruise stay.

The location was a little iffy. We walked by some people that made us feel unsafe. I would not walk around as a single or couple after dark here. Lots of homeless and seedy characters in the downtown area.

The hotel itself was fine. We detected a musty odor in the rooms on our first visit. A little street noise, not too bad. No smell in the room on the second stay. The rooms were clean, if not a little dated looking. Bathroom was also clean.

We tried the hot tub and gym on the lobby floor and they also were clean. The gym had 2 machines, I think, very small.

The free breakfast was great: fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, muffins, bagels, bread for toasting, waffle irons, coffee, tea, milk, etc. We took afvantage of breakfast every day.

There is a Whole Foods Mkt closeby that has lots of meal selections. We ate lunch at the Korean place across the street, it was good. We also had dinner at Two Bells Tavern and it was GREAT! Voted best burgers in Seattle. We also had pizza delivered from Paggliaci's and it was surprisingly good to us finicky NYers.

We were close to the Space Needle and it took us about 20 minutes to walk to Pikes Market.

The front desk staff was very accomodating and helped us with transportation and took care of our luggage when we could not check in early.

Note that this is a completely non-smoking hotel and you sign a waiver stating that you will be charged $250 if you smoke in your room. There even is a sign outside that you cannot smoke within 100 ft of the building.

All in all, a good value for the price. Gotta love that free breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Illy1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

I usually stay at 4 & 5 star hotels, but decided to try this Best Western given its positive reviews, location, and good price. I was very impressed with the friendly & helpful front desk staff, the functionality and cleanliness of the room, the great location, and the free breakfast in the mornings. The room was sparsely decorated, very simple, but always clean, with a safe that fits a laptop, a small fridge and a microwave that is great for leftovers. There is a good sushi place across the street. It's not luxurious by any stretch but well worth the money. I would definitely stay here again if I was on a budget.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank EACole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2007

Just one night but I was very happy with my stay at this hotel. The clerks, evening and morning were very courteous and helpful. The bed was comfortable. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was good. It was an easy walk to the Trade and Convention Center downtown.
I left the window open at night both for air and to hear traffic noise (there was not a lot of traffic noise). Traffic noise is a lot like listening to the ocean washing up on a beach.
Noise was not an issue at this hotel. There wasn't any bar music or noisy people disturbance at all.

I will definitely stay at this hotel when I go back to Seattle.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LZEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
La Quinta Inn & Suites Seattle Downtown
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#46 of 104 in Seattle
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia / Queen Anne
Mediterranean Inn
Mediterranean Inn
#30 of 104 in Seattle
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loyal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loyal Inn

Address: 2301 8th Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1907 (Formerly Best Western Loyal Inn)
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Business Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $97 - $336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Loyal Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you arrive at The Loyal Inn, our exceptional customer service team and comfortable accommodations will greet you. Once inside your spacious non-smoking room, you'll find all the comforts of home, including a 32-inch flat screen television, microwave and refrigerator. Eco-Friendly rooms are also available. Additional amenities at this Seattle hotel include a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast buffet each morning, relaxing spa, on-site exercise facility and a 24-hour business center. We offer guest parking for a nominal fee of only $10.00 per night plus applicable taxes. The best of the city awaits you just outside this hotel in Seattle. From exploring famed Pike Place Market to marveling at the Space Needle® while visiting Seattle Center to catching a Seattle Seahawks or Seattle Mariners game. Everything you want to do and see in Seattle is just minutes away. While in town, try to catch one of the many annual festivals, including the Bumbershoot® and Northwest Folklife Festivals and don't forget Seattle's annual Seafair celebration. The Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, Seattle Cancer Alliance, Swedish Hospital, Virginia Mason, Lake Union, University of Washington and Seattle University are also nearby. Be sure to explore the variety of unique shops, restaurants and entertainment venues in downtown Seattle. Business guests will also enjoy the Loyal Inn's close proximity to local businesses, hospitals/medical companies and corporations, including PATH, Microsoft, Amazon and Boeing and the Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation. A friendly staff is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Seattle. Make an online reservation today and save at the Loyal Inn hotel! Enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Loyal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Loyal Hotel Seattle
Best Western Seattle
Seattle Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing