We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, wine and atmosphere”

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 4,098 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Corner of 4th Avenue & University Street
Description: Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients..
Freeport, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, wine and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The staff was patient and attentive. The food was delicious (Gorgonzola stuffed dates) and the price was reasonable. Beautiful decor, a fun dinner out!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank metadatachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    706
    487
    135
    43
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Come for the wine, don't stay for the food”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Gorgeous, hip atmosphere with a huge wine-barrel shaped wine rack and tons of candles. Very cosmopolitan and romantic. Fabulous wine list and helpful, friendly service. But not impressed with the food. Fairly bland and pedestrian. Other restaurants in the area are better food options, but definitely come here for a glass or a flight.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DINKsTravelGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chetwynd, BC Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sooooo Delicious”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I went to the "Purple Cafe and Wine Bar" on our trip to Seattle. It is directly across the street from our hotel, The Fairmont Olympic. We went on a Monday night and liked it so much we went back on Tuesday night. I had the pork tenderloin with red cabbage and it was soooo delicious, my husband had the grilled chicken sandwich and it was equally delicious. The German Reisling wine was the best Reisling that I have ever had. Nice atmosphere and good service. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebKel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“All Aboard the Wine Flight!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Fun and informative wine list. Tons of wines by the glass. Food was a solid effort as well. Overall - great choice. Other locations in greater-Seattle area too.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank onlifeguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The Purple Cafe - a unique gem in Downtown Seattle”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

The Purple Cafe in downtown Seattle is unique and a fabulous dining and drinking and people place. We liked to request a table by the windows to watch all of Seattle come and go. Outstanding food and great service. The extensive list of wine, in a book of 25 pages is a little daunting but worth your time to review. I requested the waiter's assistance in choosing a nice merlot "that cost less than my airfare from Dallas", and he gave me a great suggestion. If you are a wine affectionardo, you will fall in love with this place.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kellchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Purple Cafe and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Purple Cafe and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing