We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steelhead Diner

Steelhead Diner
Reserve with OpenTable
Steelhead Diner is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #47 of 4,059 Restaurants in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: First
Transit: All downtown bus routes end near or around our address: 95 Pine Street.
East Islip, New York
Level Contributor
178 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stopped here as part of a food tour, hosted by Savor Seattle. We tried the Alaskan Razor clam chowder, made with truffle oil and apple smoked bacon, and it was delicious. Ambiance was nicer than a diner and location was excellent... right by the Pike Place Market.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donna2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    422
    173
    58
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Terrific food, good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

After tasting the clam chowder here during the Savor Seattle tour, we decide we had to return a few days later for dinner. The meal was delicious. The Alaskan razor clam chowder was superb. We split the entree of salmon with almonds and cherries on a bed of grits, and a side of green beans with lemon and marcona almonds which were also both delectable. Our waiter was very friendly. And since we had our ticket from the tour, we were given the tour discount--which is always a nice bonus.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank maryo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fresh, fantastic food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

I splurged on the Jumbo Lump Dungeness Crab cake and the Artisan Head Lettuce and Strawberry Salad, with toasted‏ hazelnut vinaigrette, crumbled goat cheese and toasted hazelnuts. It was about $26 total, before tax, and worth every penny. The crab cake was indeed jumbo, so nice to not get the tiny little crab cakes I'm used to down south. The salad was the perfect, fresh compliment to the crab cake too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeMc0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah, USA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food but a touch pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stopped in towards the end of their dinner service and had a great meal. The salmon was absolutely to die for... very fresh with a great sauce and some very creamy grits. But, I would expect it to be this delicious for $36. I think we "Diner" in the title, we had hoped for something a touch more affordable. But, the food was incredible and we felt like it was overall worth it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank SkiB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, ok service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

We went to Steelhead based on a friend's recommendation. The location is great - right off the Public Market. We got there around 6:45 p.m. And we're told it would be at least an hour wait (on a Thurs. Night). We decided to wait for a bit - while we were waiting, another couple with a family came in. They were dressed a bit more casually and had a few young kids. They were told by the host that they would have to wait and it was best if they found somewhere else to go. It seemed to us that it was more about how they looked than about the actual wait time. It didn't sit well - we were planning on leaving (due to that and the wait), but the minute we said we were leaving, a table on the patio miraculously opened up. The patio is small with a handful of tables and overlooks Post Alley. It was a nice night and good atmosphere - if the patio was just a foot higher in elevation, there would also be amazing views.

We had drinks as well as appetizers and entrees. Our drinks were spectacular and the appetizers were great. The breakdown came in the wait for entrees - we waited for almost 45 minutes for our meal. I ordered a clam chowder and peach/prosciutto/arugula salad and my husband ordered a cioppino - not exactly food that should take a long time. The table next to us also waited a long time for their entrees - they sat down soon after us and still were waiting when we left. The server was very kind and you could tell she was flustered. I think it was more the kitchen getting backed up, but by this time of the night, the restaurant was no longer full.

Overall, the food was good - I wouldn't say it was great and feel that it was highly over-rated by our friend. The service was not good and the host seemed a bit pretentious. You can probably get better food and service elsewhere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mskrugr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Steelhead Diner also viewed

 

Been to Steelhead Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing