We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service got much better”
Review of Belle Epicurean

Belle Epicurean
Ranked #12 of 131 Coffee & Tea in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Our downtown cafe is located on the ground floor of the Fairmont Olympic Hotel with access from the hotel arcade level as well as from 4th avenue.Visit our newly opened Madison Park location at 3109 East Madison St. across from the Arboretum.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Service got much better”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I have been to Belle Epicurean a few times in the past month after staying away for a few years due to a few bad experiences. The staff is all new and seem better trained and more focused on customer services. We got our orders in a reasonable amount of time and staff were nice (both were problems in the past). Their food has always been excellent so I am glad that the service issues were corrected. This is some of the best French cafe food in Seattle.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Seattle_Wine_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
994 reviews
490 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
“Nice cafe food and pleasant helpful staff. Great coffees.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This small cafe is within the Fairmont Olympic Hotel but apparently not run by it. The coffee is excellent. The orange juice fine and the food satisfactory with the usual limited choice for a small coffee shop. Certainly cheaper than the hotel breakfast and it suited us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirkcaldylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
356 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast place”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Belle Epicurean is a small coffee shop on 4th Ave. They have a few tables and offer coffee, pastries and sandwiches, just like Starbucks. The difference, though, is that food, including pastries, is prepared in the shop.

Coffee was nice and the Almond croissant excellent. IMO way better than any of the coffee chain stores. This will be my place for breakfast in future if I stay in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food is just part of the experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had lunch with a friend at this restaurant. I've never been to Europe, but based on the movies I've seen, this place made me feel like I was in a quaint cafe in France. The smells when you walk in are remarkable. The lady behind the counter was very patient as we asked about various menu items and she helped us pick the perfect baguette sandwich. We found a table by the window and let the quaint cafe atmosphere surround us as we waited for our lunch. When my hot chocolate arrived, I took a picture and sent it to my son. He got a real kick out of it looking just like in the movie The Green Hornet. Then our sandwiches were served. Mine was so delicious! It seems wrong to even classify it as a sandwich. I had the Black Forest Ham & Gruyere Cheese. The bread was fresh and the sandwich was warm. My only complaint about lunch was that I was too full to try a pastry for dessert. In all seriousness, it was a great experience all around!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TxRangerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“the worst croissant I may have ever eaten.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

that's not a hyperbole, I can't remember a worse piece of pastry not even at Safeway. It was crazy salty, greasy, and sour. I have made croissants at home and I can't even imagine how they got this flavor. the place is charming the staff was polite and the price was reasonable at $2.89 but wow that was one awful croissant

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank o p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howfer, Owner at Belle Epicurean, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
First and foremost I want to apologize for your lousy experience at Belle Epicurean at the Fairmont Olympic. Last month we had an issue where a batch of over proofed croissant dough was erroneously baked and sold in our downtown store. This error was quickly noticed and remedied but not before several were sold to guests. Belle Epicurean is noted often as having one of Seattle's best croissants and we are truly sorry that we failed on this day to deliver our best effort. I hope will will give us another chance when in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belle Epicurean also viewed

 

Been to Belle Epicurean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing