We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice breakfast place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Belle Epicurean

Belle Epicurean
Ranked #10 of 273 Coffee & Tea in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our downtown cafe is located on the ground floor of the Fairmont Olympic Hotel with access from the hotel arcade level as well as from 4th avenue.Visit our newly opened Madison Park location at 3109 East Madison St. across from the Arboretum.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Belle Epicurean is a small coffee shop on 4th Ave. They have a few tables and offer coffee, pastries and sandwiches, just like Starbucks. The difference, though, is that food, including pastries, is prepared in the shop.

Coffee was nice and the Almond croissant excellent. IMO way better than any of the coffee chain stores. This will be my place for breakfast in future if I stay in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    49
    14
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food is just part of the experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I had lunch with a friend at this restaurant. I've never been to Europe, but based on the movies I've seen, this place made me feel like I was in a quaint cafe in France. The smells when you walk in are remarkable. The lady behind the counter was very patient as we asked about various menu items and she helped us pick the perfect baguette sandwich. We found a table by the window and let the quaint cafe atmosphere surround us as we waited for our lunch. When my hot chocolate arrived, I took a picture and sent it to my son. He got a real kick out of it looking just like in the movie The Green Hornet. Then our sandwiches were served. Mine was so delicious! It seems wrong to even classify it as a sandwich. I had the Black Forest Ham & Gruyere Cheese. The bread was fresh and the sandwich was warm. My only complaint about lunch was that I was too full to try a pastry for dessert. In all seriousness, it was a great experience all around!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TxRangerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“the worst croissant I may have ever eaten.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

that's not a hyperbole, I can't remember a worse piece of pastry not even at Safeway. It was crazy salty, greasy, and sour. I have made croissants at home and I can't even imagine how they got this flavor. the place is charming the staff was polite and the price was reasonable at $2.89 but wow that was one awful croissant

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank o p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howfer, Owner at Belle Epicurean, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
First and foremost I want to apologize for your lousy experience at Belle Epicurean at the Fairmont Olympic. Last month we had an issue where a batch of over proofed croissant dough was erroneously baked and sold in our downtown store. This error was quickly noticed and remedied but not before several were sold to guests. Belle Epicurean is noted often as having one of Seattle's best croissants and we are truly sorry that we failed on this day to deliver our best effort. I hope will will give us another chance when in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast in Paris!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stumbled on this quaint establishment when looking for a quick breakfast walking from our hotel. It was like being in France again....the smell of croissants baking in the oven, coffee aroma in the air...beautiful marble top tables....
The framed diploma on the wall from Le Cordon Bleu school in France for "Patisserie" all made sense now! We had cafe au lait, ham & cheese croissants for breakfast and then ended up buying the macaroons we saw in the window for later. We have NOT had macaroons this heavenly since Laduree in Paris!
If you want a big American breakfast, this is not for you. If you need to go to France for an hour...then stop by this place and enjoy the trip!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank McFarrigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guatemala
Level Contributor
94 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing, always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

We've been to Belle Epicurean so many times, every yearly trip to Seattle to go every day... It's that good! The lemon brioche, the chai chocolate bun, the pain au chocolate, the baguette sandwiches, etc, etc, etc. If you love a true Parisian bakery, this is it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mencos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belle Epicurean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing