We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ride”

Argosy Cruises - Lake Union
Book In Advance
More Info
$36.47*
and up
Lake Union Cruise from Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Narrated sightseeing cruises from this location: LOCKS CRUISE (2-2.5-hr): Travel through the beating workboat heart of Seattle. Take in the spectacular views and experience the transition from salt to fresh water. This fully narrated tour provides you with knowledge, fun facts, and the chance to become the attraction to those on shore as your vessel raises up or lowers, due to the ever-changing tides of Puget Sound. Between Elliott Bay and Lake Union you’ll be surrounded by floating homes and houseboats, large fishing vessels, seaplanes, majestic city parks, and more. LAKE UNION CRUISE (1.5-hr): Explore Seattle’s urban aquatic playground! One-and-a-half hour narrated cruise through Lake Union, Portage Bay, the Montlake Cut, and past the University of Washington. You’ll learn about Lake Union’s transformation from a gritty industrial resource to a beloved public space where locals live, work and play. See our website for full list of all our public sightseeing tours and schedules.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Post Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice ride”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We have been to Seattle many times and never done a boat ride before, very nice to see the city from a different point of view. I had never seen a lock before so that was cool. Our narrator was new so she was not as good as she could of been, but she was really trying. I think this is over priced but then again any thing like this is always over priced.

The boat was clean and the staff was very nice!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank laears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    28
    4
    2
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Tx
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice tour of the locks and Puget Sound”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Enjoyed the two and a half hours on the tour. The boat is clean and the staff is friendly.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank michael77092
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
468 reviews
219 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 783 helpful votes
“Great Cruise. Lots of interesting things to see.”
Reviewed September 13, 2011

No visit to Seattle is complete until you see this beautiful city from the water. Most tourists take the harbor cruise but the boat curise on Lake Union and Lake Washington has great views of the skyline, has better views of the Space Needle, and goes by many things unique to Seattle.

Lake Union is located just north of downtown Seattle and 4-5 blocks west of the Space Needle. As you leave the docks on Lake Union, you pass the floating house neighborhoods and the University of Washington. We were lucky enough to go on our tour during a UW home football game and got to see the floating tailgate party and hear the sounds of the game going on.

As we exited Lake Union onto Lake Washington, the tour took us by the houses of Seattle's rich and famous including Bill Gates' house. If it is possible, save the trip for a good weather day, as we got great views of Mt. Rainier once we were out on Lake Washington. However, you will need to be lucky, as the guide said Mt. Rainier is only visible about ninety days a year from Seattle

The tour is a little pricey at $30 p/p but does last over two hours, is on a nice modern boat, and the tour guides are informative and friendly.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The Argosy Lakes cruise was very different from the Harbor cruise. The Lakes cruise was 2 hours, takes off from Lake Union, and was a much smaller-scale cruise. Our narrator was very good, having gown up on the lakes, and it made it really enjoyable to hear her personal anecdotes, as well as the information about the sights. At a certain point, the cruise just became trolling around what could have been any lake in the US, but the parts that were Seattle-specific, like Bill Gates' house, or the U of W, were very interesting.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Argosy Cruise at Elliott Bay is part of CityPass and well worth it.”
Reviewed June 24, 2011

We really enjoyed this cruise. The guide was very informative and we learned a lot about Seattle and saw a lot of things. The CityPass is a great way to go.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GRtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Argosy Cruises - Lake Union also viewed

 

Been to Argosy Cruises - Lake Union? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing