We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, nice amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Near Washington D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, nice amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2007

Stayed here for 5 days in October. Inn is within walking distance of downtown, if you like to walk, and close to several bus routes for the uphill trip home. One bus stops a short 1/2 block from the inn. Many eating places within 15 minute walk. Free parking is also available, a benefit many hotels don't have.
Breakfasts were good. Coffee (or tea) and biscotti available most of the day, as well as fresh fruit and candy dish. Lots of tourist info, free phone calls, computers and wifi available.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mstravelperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    45
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
43
183
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

I stayed here for four nights over the Labor day weekend. This is a great place to stay in Capitol Hill - comfortable and friendly and the area is well-served by buses to other parts of Seattle if you don't feel like walking. If you're used to chain hotels then you will really enjoy this b&b. Also in the area are plenty of places to eat and drink, not that you'd need much to eat after breakfast here..

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitten_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

My partner and I stayed here nearly a year ago as we visited friends and relatives in the greater Seattle area. Though on the face of it the room we had was fairly nice and clean, there were some features we didn't appreciate regarding interior design choices. We found navigating our room difficult and cumbersome due to sacrificing utilitarian-guest needs for large and cumbersome decor. Only one side of the bed had a reading lamp. The bed was also a bit soft/mushy for our tastes. The bathroom was so compact it didn't contain a sink... which was in the same general space as the bedroom. There was a little 'reading nook' to one side of the room with a window and big comfy chair - rendered useless by the lack of a reading lamp. Perhaps it was the native-New Yorker in us, but the staff seemed overly-friendly/eager nearly to a fault... we kept waiting for them to induct us into their cult or slip 'happy pills' into our breakfast cereal. Think "Ren & Stimpy" - Happy Happy Joy Joy song. On the plus side, though, breakfasts were delicious and staff was accommodating. Our stay was decent but we wished there was a bit less attention payed to chintz and doilies (which were everywhere!) and more attention to useful amenities in our room and a less-cluttered layout.

  • Liked — Polite and helpful staff - good breakfasts
  • Disliked — Cumbersome furniture layout - no reading lamp on one side of bed
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank antman_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11thAveInn, Owner at 11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 9, 2007
The 11th Avenue Inn has been a knickknack/doilie/clutter -free zone for quite some time, but there must have been some floating around when this guest stayed with us in 2006. David Williams (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in the Opal Room for 2 nights starting May 23rd. We had just stayed at another B & B the two nights before so it was nice to have something to compare this to. What we liked most was the neighborhood and location. We walked to and from the waterfront one day and still had enough energy to go out that evening. There are so many restaurants to choose from just in a 5-10 minute walk and a lovely park at the end of the block. Also, there was an inexpensive laundry facility a block away which was very convenient for us since we were staying in Seattle for a total of 9 days.

As for the inn itself, my husband really enjoyed the antique style and dark woods. There was a nice room off to the side of the dining room with plenty of resources and 2 computers with internet access. We stayed on the 2nd floor and felt that anytime we entered or exited
the room that we had to be very cautious. It's a very intimate setting and it is easy to hear other guests coming and going. There was also a 10 pm curfew for unnecessary noise or activity which made us a little self-conscious, but it didn't create a problem. The breakfast was nice because you could go down at your leisure in the span of two hours. We also liked the snacks that were placed in the living and dining rooms throughout the day.

Overall, we truly enjoyed this property and would recommend it to anyone needing a quiet getaway.

  • Liked — Location and antique decor
  • Disliked — We wished that they had a microwave to go along wth the guest refrigerator.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11thAveInn, Owner at 11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, November 2, 2007
Guests are free to come and go after 10PM, there is not a curfew, and we ask that guests be considerate of other guests after 10PM because some guests retire early.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2007

What a wonderful place to stay in Seattle! The 11th Avenue Inn is perfect for people who just want to walk somewhere for dinner after a busy day working or sightseeing. There are at least 50 restaurants within manageable walking distance of the Inn. The Inn is in the vibrant Capitol Hill neighborhood, and close to the Pike/Pine district as well. Downtown is a quick and easy drive away (or a long and hilly walk), as is access to I-5. Really, you could not ask for a better location. The Inn itself is a quiet and comfortable place. The breakfasts were tasty (but not fancy), and the rooms were nicely equipped. We stayed in the Garnet room, which was big enough for a queen bed, a desk, a wardrobe, and a dresser, and had a comfortable easy chair near the street-facing window as well. I would recommend the third floor rooms, just because the house is older and the floors are quite squeaky (although overall our room was very quiet). The Inn's wireless was adequate, and the two computers near the breakfast room were certainly convenient.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Seattle!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank brighterworlds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed here in the Amethyst room for two nights while I was attending a conference. As many other people have mentioned, the 11th Ave. Inn is a great place to stay. We arrived on Amtrack and David , the owner, made sure we had exact directions to give the cab driver from the train station as well as an estimate of the cost for the trip. As usual, Amtrack was running late but, as David suggested in his confirming e-mail, we called the Inn and someone was there to meet us at 1:00 p.m. when we arrived.

The Amethyst room was on the third floor and we really didn't hear noise from any other rooms and heard very little street noise - maybe a siren one night, but nothing else. Maybe that was because the bed was so comfortable that we slept like logs. The room was comfortable too with individual heat control in the bedroom and the bathroom - a great idea because my husband likes a cool bedroom and I like a warm bathroom.

The Inn is a delightful old (early 1900s) house that is decorated in keeping with that period. But the Inn is up-to-date, too, with two Internet access computers for guests to use as well as a copier/printer. Breakfasts were delicious and we had a chance to chat with the innkeepers as well as with the other guests.

Seattle is a great place to walk (down hill at least) and it was easy to walk to the convention center, Pike Street Market, and Pioneer Square with the Elliott Bay Book Company. Once you're downhill, there are busses back up the hill that stop only a few easy walking blocks away from the Inn. Broadway, near the inn, has lots of little shops and is an easy mostly level walk. At the Inn there is a list of places to eat as well as copies of menus from many near-by places. There was a refrigerator for guests to use so we bought local cheese at the market. If you're on a long trip and need to wash clothes, there's a laundry not far away from the Inn.

Going to Seattle? This is a great place to stay!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ChesapeakeKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for one week in the Topaz room while visiting family in the Seattle area. We had a wonderful week!

We think the best part of any b&b stay is the hospitality, and our hosts Beverly and Jeff were top notch. They were simply a pleasure to talk to---intelligent, friendly and helpful without being obtrusive. Breakfasts were delicious and elegantly prepared without being overly formal. We didn't want to leave!

And a couple of points that others have mentioned that struck us. Breakfasts were a highlight. We were generally one of the first to sit down, which gave us a nice chance to visit with our hosts as well as other guests. We chatted with some lovely people during our stay.

The Topaz room was very comfortable, bigger than we expected and nicely decorated. We liked being on the top floor with the skylights and fewer rooms.

Being an older house, noise did carry. It seemed all of the guests were aware of this and thus were very considerate and quiet, so we had no problem sleeping.

The neighborhood is a great plus and it's fun to just stroll around. It is the city, however, and a couple of times we were woken by ambulance or police sirens. The price to pay for being central.....

All in all, a great stay!

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank skl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayflower Park Hotel
#22 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Pike Place Market
Pensione Nichols B&B
Pensione Nichols B&B
#10 of 28 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Greenlake Guest House
#1 of 28 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast

Property: 11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast
Address: 121 11th Ave E, Seattle, WA 98102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Broadway / Capitol Hill
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the Seattle city center, to Pike Place Market, and to the downtown Seattle attractions from a charming Seattle bed and breakfast on a tree-lined side street. The Inn is two blocks from the Capitol Hill Link train station. Dozens of Capitol Hill neighborhood restaurants are nearby, and we're one block to a popular park and major bus stops. Queen beds, private bathrooms, free parking lot, free WiFi, free full breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your 11th Avenue Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
11th Avenue Hotel Seattle
11th Avenue Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing