We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in the heart of Belltown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at El Gaucho

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at El Gaucho
Ranked #39 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Belltown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at El Gaucho for 2 nights and were pleasantly surprised. The location is great because you can walk to numerous restaurants, night spots, and Pike Place Market. I would recommend parking on the street at night and moving your vehicle in the morning. It saves you the valet parking fee of $25? per night. Room was clean and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hi TravelBug340,

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing The Inn at El Gaucho! We are so glad to hear that you took advantage of, and enjoyed, all of the services and amenities we offer. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Seattle you will give us the opportunity to host you again so you may experience the excellent service and high quality stay we provide.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    101
    24
    15
    15
See reviews for
35
218
38
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sausalito, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was the first step of a special trip for my birthday. i had told them that when I booked a MONTH IN ADVANCE, and requested a "QUIET ROOM". My request was overlooked, as room 6 was pretty close to the 1000 decibels noise of their ice machine, and when I asked for another room, they had "sold out" those further down the hall.The machine is SO LOUD that I finally asked them if they could turn it off at 2 in the morning, and of course the answer was no.
So, I got to sleep 2 hours and had to get up at 6:30 a.m.to get the ferry. There is "piped in" music whether you want it or not, as soon as you hit the front desk and in all the rooms (I'm assuming to cover up the mechanical noise). I lived in Barcelona for years and the whole place reminded me of "Chinatown" --the red light district--in the 80's, a sort of "upscale bordello" atmosphere. Anyway, I was so tired, I fell down the stairs the next morning and sprained my ankle. The manager was there and brought me another coffee (not even the espresso I'd requested), but did not even bother to walk me to my taxi.
I was looking at hotels upon my return from Vancouver, and saw that my $146 room was then going for $102. When I questioned this with the manager, he said it was a question of supply and demand. i agree with another guest that the ethics of management are very questionable. The manager offered to send me a "voucher" for the price of my room to one of their "overpriced" restaurants, Gauche and Acqua, but curiously, the U.S. Postal Service must not be working between Seattle and San Francisco, as it has still not arrived. According to the manager, it was sent on April 8th. Today is May 7th and still no voucher.
I could go on and on, but one note that could help those who might still be considering this hotel :
It is MILES from anywhere, and not in a very good area. I was told by reception that it was "close" to the subway station when I came in from the airport, and it took me 45 mins. to arrive.
On my return to Seattle, I stayed downtown, thank goodness, and had a totally different impression of this vibrant city. If I'd only stayed at the Gaucho, in a very depressed area, I would have gone away with a very negative feeling about Seattle. I'd stay anywhere in downtown, or, if you want to be near the ferry, as I did, choose the Edgewater (they were booked when I called) or the Marriott.

Room Tip: I don't know if there are any "good rooms", but as far away as possible from the ICE M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 33037Kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gaucho S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Kathleen,

Thank you for taking time to write and give us your feedback about your recent visit with us, even though it sounds like we more than missed the mark with your expectations. It is only with feedback from our guests, like you, that we can improve.

We did take your request for a quiet room to heart, which is why we placed you in Room #6, as we've never had noise complaints from that room. While we had other rooms to offer to you, unfortunately, none of what was available that evening were better substitutes to help with the particular situation of the ice machine. If we had turned off the ice machine, we'd be dealing with about 200 pounds of melted ice, so unfortunately, this was not a real option for us. We are working on the machine to remedy the noise situation. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

We are also extremely sorry about your fall the next morning. While we offered assistance to the taxi, we will be more insistent with guests in the future for us to escort down the stairs. It's our policy to offer assistance to all guests with their luggage, and we will review the policies with our team.

We have in good faith sent you two vouchers to try to remedy this situation, and it frustrates us that you have not received them, as they have not been returned. If you would please verify your mailing address with us again, we will send them certified post.

Again, we are sorry that you did not experience the level of service and comfort we strive to provide to every guest. We hope that you'll consider giving us another chance the next time your travels bring you to Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is a nice, cozy little hotel just above the El Gaucho restaurant in Belltown. The rooms are well maintained and very clean. It's very cute with a nice sitting area and fireplace lobby. The staff is very friendly and helpful. This was a weekend getaway for my husband and me and it fit the bill perfectly!! I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDhealthcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gaucho S, General Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear JDpanplayer,

Thank you for your 5-star review of your recent stay with us! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed a true INN at El Gaucho experience. We strive to deliver unparalleled service and accommodations to our guests, and always appreciate hearing feedback on the experience.

We hope to see you again next time you're staying in Seattle.

Cheers!

David Shapland
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've been bumped from a flight, but never a hotel. But that is what happened when my husband and I arrived at the El Gaucho Inn on a rainy Thursday afternoon. Initially, we were told that the hotel had overbooked, then the story changed to that the person in our room who was to check out had refused to leave. The more the hotel clerk tried to explain why we did not have a room, the less I believed her. The more I thought about this, the more ludicrous it sounded. If a person has not reserved a room and refuses to leave, they are trespassing and you call the authorities to remove them. You don't arbitrarily decide not to honor a standing reservation to accomodate the person who is not following hotel policy. This is not the way to run any hotel and I highly question the ethics and business practices of hotel management.
We were given another comparable room in a comparable hotel (it was neither), but it did not make up for the fact that we had to carry all our luggage back downstairs, drive a mile away, find parking again and unload, again, in the rain. Also, we were no longer within walking distance to the venue we planned to go to that night (more driving and more parking downtown).
The more I think about it, the more I think management decided to do someone a favor and did so at our expense. If I ever reserve at this hotel again, I will call ahead that day to ensure management has not allowed my room to be 'hijacked' by another customer.

Room Tip: Confirm your reservation the day of arrival.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 658TopCat658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gaucho S, Guest Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear 658TopCat658,

We truly apologize that this situation occurred, as this is no fun for anyone, and it does not display the level of service that we like to offer. Under Washington state law we are not allowed to remove a guest's belongings from a room. We tried numerous times to contact the guest, who was supposed to be checking out earlier that day, to no avail. Therefore, we had to go to plan B, which is to find a comparable room at a nearby hotel. This is a standard procedure for any hotel. We did everything in our power to make accommodations for a bad situation, and we're sorry that we weren't able to create a better outcome for you. We do everything in our power to avoid situations like this, and we understand your frustration, and we are sorry. We hope to have the opportunity in the near future to show you a remarkable stay next time you're in Seattle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fircrest, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed only one night and it was mid-week. Our stay was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor is sort of 30's art deco, relax but sophisticated. The room was large and well appointed (looked as appeared in photos). The things that really mattered to us; immaculately clean, fresh baked cookies in our room, easy to make hot beverages in the room, hot strong shower, free internet, Bose music system, fairly quiet (considering that we were on the street side),and the location is great! We walked down the hill for a run along the water in the morning, and were very close to numerous restaurants and coffee shops. Advise use of the valet parking, it's not cheap but it is easier than trying to find it elsewhere and you know your car is safe. You can take you car as often as you like, but we find that you don't need to because you can walk. We would definitely stay here again and recommend the El Gaucho Inn to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Gaucho S, Public Relations Manager at Inn at El Gaucho, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Sherry,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We always love hearing from our guests, and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Inn at El Gaucho. It sounds like you took advantage of our great location and amenities. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a hotel that sits over the restaurant of the same name. One of the finest eating establishments in Seattle. The location is great if you need to be near downtown Seattle. Everything is within easy walking distance. The rooms are renovated in an older building and they did a nice job. The rooms are also a little over sized making them feel more like a suite. This establishment is not for anyone who cannot handle a full flight of stairs. No elevator. Not the most elegant place in Seattle but a great value for the price they request. They also have valet parking which is good at a reasonable rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon city
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Inn at El Gaucho is set in the interesting Belltown section of downtown Seattle, close to Pike Place Market, downtown shopping and numerous restaurants. We chose a room on the Elliott Bay side - First Avenue can get noisy, and enjoyed two very quiet nights. The staff was personable and professional. The room was clean, had plenty of space and a good view of the bay and Olympic Mountains. It is a good alternative to the larger chain hotels.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms are a bit pricier, but well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryOregonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#57 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#53 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
Kimpton Palladian Hotel
#21 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Belltown
Seattle Marriott Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at El Gaucho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at El Gaucho

Property: Inn at El Gaucho
Address: 2505 1st Ave, Seattle, WA 98121-1302
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle > Belltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#20 Business Hotel in Seattle
#33 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn at El Gaucho 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seattle's Luxury Urban Inn.Step back in time, to an era of uncompromising service and total indulgence. With its "retro-swank" fifties décor, the Inn at El Gaucho will give you the kind of responsive attention and personal pampering that only a 17-suite, exclusive Inn can provide.Located in Seattle's ultra-hip Belltown district, the Inn is minutes away from landmarks such as the Pike Place Market and the Space Needle. Whether you're a visitor to the city or a local spending a night on the town, the Inn at El Gaucho will serve up a memorable stay you'll cherish forever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at El Gaucho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At El Gaucho Hotel Seattle
Hotel At El Gaucho
At El Gaucho Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing