We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“seattle washington trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seattle Waterfront

Seattle Waterfront
Book In Advance
More Info
$65.98*
and up
Seattle City Tour
Ranked #38 of 434 things to do in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Walking along the Seattle Waterfront is a perfect way to soak up some Northwest atmosphere.  Take in views of the Puget Sound and Olympic Mountains while exploring Olympic Sculpture Park, the Seattle Aquarium, shops, and restaurants like Ivar’s, a local landmark, where you can watch the ferries load and depart while you eat. 
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“seattle washington trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

we, all moved to seatt;e washington back in the eighties and the state was very green and lovely we loved the seafood there they had the best alaskan crab you ever had it was intesting being there but it,s defintely different from the east coast and what i didn,t like about it was it rains alot there so it kind of a depressed me but the place was nice alot scenery there alot water front beaches and soo fourth but the seafood was very good.....We all went to to the space neddle it,s a long thin tower you go up on as an elavator intesting i may say that was a good experience for all of us my sister still lives in seattle wash we all came back to new jersey....

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisa5529750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    397
    172
    54
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not much to see in the off season.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Not much going in in Jan. cute stores though.

Red Robin was a nice little gem for those of us not much into seafood and chowder.

Helpful?
Thank Thumper369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Something For Everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have lived in the greater Seattle area twice over the years — once about seven years and the second most recent time about a year. The one place that drew me the most frequently was the Seattle Waterfront. There are so many things to do at the Seattle Waterfront for people of all ages. I’ve met family and friends at the wonderful quality waterfront restaurants and visited the numerous unique shops. Keep an eye out for restaurants in the ally-ways that are too good to miss. It reminds me a little of the San Francisco Embarcadero.
Of course, a visit to Seattle Waterfront is not really complete unless you visit Pike Place Market and nearby Pioneer Square. I recommend the world-class Seattle aquarium. Keep in mind if you are a professional photographer like me — you are not allowed to sell any photographs that you take at the aquarium.

Consider visiting the Washington State Ferry terminal and taking the ferry to the nearby islands for a day trip. Occasionally, I would see an orca and seals along the way. There are comfortable restrooms, snacks, beverages and of course terrific views from the ferry. The photography opportunities are outstanding. Keep in mind that it’s there may be a bit of a wait to get on the ferry depending on the time of day but I think it’s worth it. When I had an office in West Seattle and took the ferry to my home in Vashon Island, the short ferry ride was always very relaxing and a great opportunity to change gears from work mode to home mode.

Although it wasn’t available when I last lived in Seattle, I understand there is a new nearly 175 foot-tall Seattle Great Wheel that I can’t wait to visit the next chance I get to Washington. I can imagine the views must be spectacular. The Seattle Great Wheel is one of the largest Ferris wheel of its kind in the U.S., according to developers. The 280,300-pound wheel holds 42 climate-controlled gondolas, allowing for 252 passengers at full capacity. Extending 40 feet over Puget Sound, the 12-minute ride boasts incredible views of Puget Sound, the Olympic Mountains and Seattle. I’m certain that the beautiful water views and skyline and the Space Needle just to the north are spectacular.

The visit to the Seattle Waterfront is really more of the daytime trip. I would not recommend visiting alone after dark for your safety. This also goes for Pioneer Square area. And there are the occasional panhandlers who become a bit more aggressive in the evening. You can also take the monorail at the Seattle Center to within three blocks of the waterfront. You can also park at one end of the Seattle Waterfront (or take a bus), and slowly walk along the entire waterfront. Parking can be rather expensive so if you don’t mind parking at the Seattle Center and taking the monorail the Seattle Waterfront, you’ll save a lot of money.

On the prized sunny days, the sidewalks can be very crowded with visitors. Of course you can take the Pedicabs. This is especially convenient for photographers who want to carry all their gear and stop frequently to photograph specific areas without becoming too tired. This is something I’ve frequently done in San Francisco Embarcadero.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Wordsmith2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Experince of a life time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Had out of state visitors and could not have spent a better day with views out of this world. We did Pike PLace Market and that is a must to see and enjoy.Go prepared to spend a full day and enjoy. Parkng was the only drawback

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank barbarasemple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“local critic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Convenient. Much to see, New giant ferris wheel. Near Pike Place Market and Pioneer Square. Take nice 35 min. ferry ride to Bainbridge Is.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seattle Waterfront also viewed

 

Been to Seattle Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing