We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and otherwise” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of University District

University District
Seattle
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice and otherwise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

When I moved to Seattle in the 60's the U District's "Ave" (the retail spine adjacent to the University of Washington campus) was a kind of a classy place with its University Book Store, Nordstrom's and other well established retailers like Porter-Jensen Jewelers. On top of that there were some very good restaurants.

Today the book store is still there but hardly any of the original businesses remain. To be sure you can still find good international cuisine there. But the retail core of the neighborhood has seen better days.

Today the U district gets headlines that always seem to be crime related.

So much for the seedy side.

On the other hand you will find some very nice residential areas like Ravenna. Beautiful old money homes surrounding greek row with history that goes back to the days of racoon coats, and Betty Boop, when football was played without helmets.

Upon further review of the UDistrict'ss pluses, there is the sprawling campus with its Red Square , fountain and views of Lake Washington.
And let's not leave out Seattle's favorite walking, jogging, cycling path...the Burke-Gilman Trail.

And there, at the north end of the university's athletic fields and parking lots , stands the little shopping mall that could. University Village.


Who needs an indoor shopping mall in Seattle?

Here you get to be out in the rain with umbrella stations. Hanging flower baskets all over the place. A good place to sharpen you're "hunting for a parking place" skills. Not long ago the owners surgically removed ( to make rooom for more stores of course) one of the largest and most impressive Barnes and Noblesknown to man (some regular shoppers had to see their therapists over this) but losing it's anchor was only a hiccup and the center continues to thrive.

So the University Dictrict has something for everyone. Adventure, intrigue, pricey shopping malls,pubs, hole in the wall eateries, folks asking for bus fare, happy go lucky students, a state-of-the art football stadium and a big book store.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yamhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    32
    20
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
illinois
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The New Husky Stadium is OK if You Like Sports Bars”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I don't like sports bars. But if you like TV screens, a loud sound system, games that end at midnight, endless TV timeouts, migraine-inducing video advertising, ice cold aluminum bleachers and mediocre football, this is the place for you. The only thing that kept me there until halftime was Beecher's excellent mac n cheese.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thhq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful campus”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Washington Univeristy is a great place to go if you are an old architecture lover. The buildings are really beautiful and well preserved. For an Harry Potter ambiance, I would suggest the Suzhalla library, it as an unique renaissance feel, even if the building had been construct in 1924.

We really enjoy walking through the different places, and we finish the day by shopphing at U-Village, who is like an open mail center with stores like Banana Republic and the likes, if you are on a tight budget, don't go there as it is not any thrift stores.

We went out at the Dante's for the karaoke and it was really sympathic ambiance. The area of U-Village isn't really comforting as they are not a lot of street light, but nothing felt wrong. Just my tourist paranoïa. Around the U-district, there are always a lot of people, so don't be afraid :)

If you stay only a couple of days in Seattle, I would not put this place on my priority list

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Miew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
652 reviews
212 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“average if you are from outta town, 5 stars if you went to school here of course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

if you went to school here as a Husky then of course all the memories and all the fun of the area and walking on the ave, if you are from outta town and on a limited time frame i'd skip it honestly haha

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Shores, Florida
Level Contributor
436 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“How many restaurants...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are staying in Seattle for a while and thought the Ave might be a diversion. There were not so many students at this time of year so we could easily walk and the traffic was light. It should be called restaurant row as there are many and varied. Lots of Asian, Indian, noodle shops and Greek. Don't look for 5 star cuisine here. The prices are cheaper than town and the hygiene may be questionable. Plenty of coffee and pasties. The University bookstore is well stocked and has a coffee shop, make-up counter (with Boots products) and a gift shop. Come here if you like thrift shopping as there is an abundance.
If you overlook the grunginess and homeless people it's quite interesting. We walked to this area and there are plenty of buses also.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank millc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed University District also viewed

 

Been to University District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing