We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem”

Pomodoro Ristorante Italiano
Ranked #478 of 4,111 Restaurants in Seattle
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Pomodoro: a cozy Southern European style restaurant in Seattle offering a selection of pastas, Spanish tapas, Italian and Spanish wines in a cheerful hideaway dimly lit for romance. Gluten free dihes & pasta available
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A true gem”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We love this place. The second you walk in the door, the wonderful smell of garlic greets you. This is a Spanish/Italian place in that they have pastas and classic Italian dishes but also Spanish dishes like chichas (chopped pork in spices) and shrimp in olive oil and hot peppers. Service is friendly and the owner/chef is awesome, stopping by to talk. Don't be in a hurry and just enjoy everything. A truly romantic place.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sequimgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    12
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
juneau,ak
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“consistently great”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Dined there with a group of six. everyone of us had a different entree and everyone said it was the best pasta they'd had. Open late, but rarely crowded. Owner/chef and his wife are excellent hosts. Good wime list also, with mix of Spanish, Italian, and US wines.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank causal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellevue WA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 461 helpful votes
“HOW Have We Missed This One ~~ ?????”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stormy and wet Sunday night, hungry for 'something' but not quite sure what. Knew we didn't want to eat at yet another Eastside venue, of which all too many seem identical. Headed over the 520 bridge and paid the toll, and the car just seemed to head to Eastlake . . . raining so hard we could scarcely see, and then, Pomodoro virtually leapt into view.
Seriously!
We thought it must be a new place, which looked extraordinarily inviting, so we U-turned and parked right at the front door. (Abundant free parking is available both on the street and in the garage next door.)

Several tables were occupied with upscale mature couples; groups of four and/or two. The tables are comfortably spaced and complete with fresh white linens. Nice change from all the stark bare tables elsewhere these days! The fragrance as we entered was most enticing . .. warm scents of garlic and seasonings. Atmospheric and balanced lighting throughout make the ambiance of this intimate venue both flattering and truly comfortable.
This has been a severe oversight on our part, as we learned that Pomodoro has been open for 18 years!

At first I was concerned due to my own severe dietary restrictions, but soon realized with the fresh seafood options and chicken breast items that something could be adequately sorted. Indeed, since I couldn't resist the sliced chicken with garlic white sauce and sherry, the chef quite wonderfully adapted it onto a bed of fresh spinach instead of fettuccini. Together with the
shrimp tapas appetizer and a bottle of Spanish Rioja wine, dinner was truly outstanding~~!!

Service is totally relaxed, and attentive without being intrusive. We were having such an
uplifting meal that cherries jubilee for dessert was a must~~!!
And WHO does THAT anymore, eh???
Absolute perfection and poetry in motion as our host finessed all ingredients, and she actually lighted the pan with the heat from the burner, a skill I've never in many decades of dining both here and abroad!
Stunning.
We capped off this extraordinary evening with a masterfully mixed coffee drink; no skimping on the liqueur, either! Generous.

If you want to be surprised by the perfect atmosphere, sophisticated menu, superbly prepared and presented food and wine, and made to feel both welcome and special . .. DO NOT miss Pomodoro~~!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ch00seyon3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Our neighborhood favorite”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been coming regularly to Pomodoro for years. The dishes are always great. Their house Ceasar salad is the best around. The capellini gamberi is a staple we return to time after time. Over the years I've sampled every dish on the menu-it's all good.
We've also hosted several parties over the years: milestone birthdays and welcoming out-of-towners. Everyone has always remarked about how good the food is. And it is so easy- free covered parking; open late. It is the perfect venue for a dinner before or after a show.
The staff make a point of making you feel as though you are being welcomed into their home. There is no hype, just a wonderful neighborhood ristorante.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere, excellent food!”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

A mix of Spanish and Italian dishes, i.e delicious tapas along side wonderful pastas. Recommend the mushrooms, calamari and octopus to start. End with banana or peach flambé.
Wines are great, primarily Spanish and Italian.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gniram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pomodoro Ristorante Italiano also viewed

 

Been to Pomodoro Ristorante Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing