We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy, happy hour”
Review of Virginia Inn

Virginia Inn
Ranked #335 of 4,094 Restaurants in Seattle
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Happy, happy hour”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stopped in at the Virginia Inn for some appies and a pint before our train trip home. We lucked out in that it was happy hour. We had mussels and received a BIG order of great quality mussels. We sat out on the sidewalk on a nice sunny hot day, had a glass of wine and a pint and were treated well by the professional and friendly staff. We also found that it was ok to have our 9 year old sit with us out on the sidewalk. We will be in Seattle again soon and plan on getting to the Virginia as our first stop for happy hour again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jandm9002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    63
    9
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Starke, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Walking around Seattle we came upon The Virginia Inn and we are so happy we stopped. We got a small salad and the fish and chips were outstanding. Be sure to try their ice tea, it is so good. We loved the service and the atmosphere. We set outside on a beautiful day. Worth the walk and good decision to stop.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MBJ1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch at the Virginia Inn”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We hadn't been to the VI in many years until dropping in for lunch today. What a pleasant surprise!

First off, the place has expanded, which is great, while still managing to hold on to a good bit of the "neighborhood joint" feel from the old days. A very nice job was done. We loved the feel of the space.

Second, the food was excellent! My moules frites offered a generous portion of some of the best mussels I've had in a long time. Fresh tasting, plump, not overcooked, and not crapped up with curry, excessive garlic, heavy cream, etc.

My wife's Nicoise salad was likewise outstanding. There was a nice sized portion of perfectly seared ahi. Quality fish, not full of unpleasant connective tissue like too many other places offer.

My only reason for not giving five stars is that I thought the glass pours of wine could have been a bit more generous. Closer too six ounces than to four.

Over all, a delightful experience. We'll be back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlandRoberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a drink”
Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

Love this place for a drink. Visited here many years ago with my husband and it was one of our favorite drink spots. Just visited here again with a friend and it was still one of our favorite places we stoppefont all weekend. We just loved something about the atmosphere and drinks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and happy hour pricing.”
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We went during the half off small plates happy hour, and ordered the calamari, the pork belly, and the artisan cheese plate. The calamari was some of the best I've ever had and the pork belly and artisan were exceptional as well

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chloefazeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Virginia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing