We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful!"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenlake Guest House
Ranked #1 of 28 Seattle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Wonderful!"”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very very lovely place to stay. Our room was absolutely beautiful. It had a great fireplace and the bathroom was huge! Julie and Blayne were wonderful hosts. She made sure everything was as we liked it, especially for breakfast. We all had different tastes and she made sure we each had what we wanted. She even bought Special K for me. : ) The area is very nice and has great walking paths and yummy restaurants very close by. They also have an adorable dog who hangs out in front of the main room fireplace every morning. We will totally be staying here again, whenever I can plan another trip to Seattle. I highly recommend, in fact this is probably my favorite place to stay ever.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Invisibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    15
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
106
290
37
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

A delightful place. Cozy, warm, caring and comfortable. This Bed & Breakfast defines what should make up a B&B. It has amenities that you might not expect… heated floors in the bathroom; a fireplace that warms the room by remote control; special candies left in the room; cookies all day long in the main living room; attention to detail; Hummingbird feeders outside the dining room; a view of Green Lake; flavored coffees 24/7 and the most recent DVDs. The owners Julie and Blayne, are attentive to your needs. The breakfasts that Julie prepares are FANTASTIC! Pumpkin Pancakes, Grand Marnier French Toast, Sausages with Sage…wow! We visited at Christmas and they even gave each guest a beautiful gift at our breakfast table! The only downside was the traffic on the street (perhaps they could close the street?); but even so, they provide ear plugs…just in case. But, you might want to forego the gorgeous view in the front rooms in exchange for a back room to avoid the traffic. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mightytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

A charming,friendly, and perfectly located B&B for a Seattle visit. Wonderful views of beautiful Green Lake enhanced by a pair of hummingbirds. Nice rooms, ample breakfast in a welcoming atmosphere. Other B&Bs are green with envy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TaxiMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cerrito
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at the Greenlake Guest House for a couple of days the week of Thanksgiving. It is our favorite "home away from home" in Seattle because of the classic Bungalow architecture of the house and beautifully appointed rooms. We always look forward to visiting with Julie and Blayne and having memorable gourmet breakfasts, walking Greenlake and coming back to our cozy room with heated floors, fireplace, a frig just outside in the hallway and coffee and snacks whenever we feel like it. Every detail is meticulously attended to and we can't wait to come back for another stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen_SElCerrito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Spent 4 nights in this beautiful Inn. Host Julie is an absolute gourmet chef, fabulous breakfasts each morning, as well as fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. Walking distance to Green Lake and numerous restaurants, we especially like Duke's Chowder House. Rooms have high end sheets, toiletries, fireplaces, jet tub, and large dvd collection.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the rooms with a view of Green Lake, just wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brightonmom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Greenlake Guest House is a stunning home in a lovely Seattle location. The Innkeepers, Julie and Blayne, are unsurpassed as to their attention to detail. The heated tile bathroom floors in the morning were a cozy touch. The fresh baked cookies and always available tea and coffee were delicious. Breakfasts were out of this world and cooked to order. Their dog, Emma, was so very sweet! From this location, bus service to the UW area or downtown is quick and easy. Greenlake Guest House is now one of our top three favorite bed and breakfasts. And we have been B&B-ing for 23 years! What a relaxing place to stay and wonderfully located across from Green Lake. We hope to return soon!

The Gutierrez'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Greenlake Guest House earlier this month. We have been to quite a few B&B's and by far this is the best one. We will definitely come back here as well as highly recommend this to anyone looking for a great deal. It is easy to see from the high % of excellent reviews that this is a high quality place and Blayne/Julie do what it takes to keep it at the top

Here are a few examples of what I mean.

Value:
We looked at hotels in downtown Seattle and they were about the same price, but in addition you had to pay $30/night parking and that didn't come with breakfast. So the cost was actually cheaper for us than staying in a hotel downtown.

The rooms are updated and well insulated, so no noise from the other guests, the house is right across the street from Green Lake (which has a great paved hiking/running/biking path ~3 mi loop around the lake).

The bathroom has a heated floor and a jetted tub which was great and relaxing after a long day of walking about.

Other little touches such as earplugs, truffles in the room, a wide variety of movies made it a great experience.

The location is great:
Green Lake is an upper-class area of Seattle, many people come to enjoy the amenities around the lake (i.e. tennis courts, boating, etc), a neighborhood of restored Victorian houses with many restaurants

We were less than 10 minutes from downtown Seattle, taxi ride was ~$20 to Seattle, it cost the same to park for the day - but some places will give you a deal. When we took the Victoria Clipper - our parking only cost $10 for the day

Customer Service:
The first night we arrived, we were in the door and told Julie we needed a cab to Seattle for my wife's uncle's chorale performance in the downtown, Julie got a cab for us before we got back downstairs

Julie helped us book our tickets online for the ferry to Victoria, BC and packed us a boxed breakfast for the next morning (rather than having to buy food on the boat)

Being our first time to Seattle, Julie and Blayne were very patient as we had a ton of questions about the various restaurants and attractions throughout the Seattle area.

Food:
The breakfasts were amazing, very filling, a couple of times we skipped lunch, we were so full. each night there were fresh baked cookies downstairs with a Keurig coffee maker and a wide selection of coffees to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejdivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Ballard
Hotel Ballard
Hotel Ballard
#5 of 100 in Seattle
263 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,623 reviews
Northgate
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Seattle/Northgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University District
Watertown Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
University District
University Inn - A Staypineapple Hotel
Magnolia / Queen Anne
The Maxwell Hotel - A Staypineapple Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenlake Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenlake Guest House

Property: Greenlake Guest House
Address: 7630 E Green Lake Dr N, Seattle, WA 98103-4911
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in our 1920 Craftsman style Bed and Breakfast. Located across the street from Green Lake Park, in one of Seattle's most beloved neighborhoods. Enjoy a morning jog around the lake before breakfast, or simply enjoy the beautiful lake view. Walk to many nearby shops and restaurants. Downtown Seattle and the famous Pike Place Market are just a 10 minutes away. You may choose from 5 well appointed rooms, many with lake views, gas fireplace, or jetted tubs. Complimentary wine hour Monday-Friday and daily fresh baked cookies. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Greenlake Guest House Hotel Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing